We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Save Saved
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save More
Ranked #8 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

First visit to San Francisco and couldn't have picked up a better hotel. Travelled as a family with 2 teens. Stayed at the 3 rd floor in a king suite room. Sooo spacious with a convertible couch in the second room. 2 tv s and a large bathroom with shower and a jacuzzi A large dining table where we had breakfast a couple of times. The staff is amazing , friendly and helpful. Valet parking available but not for free and a little slow. The only con is the hotel restaurant. For some reason we really disliked it. Breakfast is average . But that doesn't matter cause the hotel is really good and so well siuated , few minutes from Pier 39. We had a real pleasant stay and would come back again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks, Moon B! I definitely share your love of those spacious suites. I hope you got to enjoy the crazy-deep tub or at least the joy of being able to sleep if the kids are up late watching TV :). I'm bummed the breakfast here wasn't for you, but glad it seems you found other options that suited the family better. Feel free to drop me a line if you'd like to see anything different on the menu. Thanks and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,214
    927
    216
    80
    42
See reviews for
842
1409
89
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice touches! Great cocktail hour, cheese tray waiting in room, and complimentary wine in room! Pricey, but worth it for the personal touches! Staff is very friendly, wii available to entertain kids, plus they got a 'treasure' on check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks, KarlaItaly! I'll let the team know that their attention to detail really made you feel welcome and looked after. In addition to the Wii, we have a scavenger hunt available. For adults who wish to relax fireside, the wine reception is augmented with a local beer and of course there's always the "real bar" that you mention. A great spot with fun bartenders, too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, which is what you are paying for. Service was very good. Steve helped us when we arrived. He was very helpful and super pleasant. The free wine hour is nothing to get excited about. Our room was clean and sufficient for our needs as we were not there but to sleep. However i was expecting something a little more special. The fitness room was clean and never crowded. We felt very comfortable here, but feel we could have gotten the same thing a few blocks away at a more reasonable price. One thing I will mention is our experience with room service. We had a sweet tooth one night. I called for desert and was told the kitchen has a limited room service menu and deserts were not available. Moments later, after reviewing the menu, my boyfriend called and was able to place the desert order with no questions asked.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello, FancyFreeRV,
Thanks for abandoning your RV and boarding our luxury liner on land :). I'm glad you loved our location, but of course I wish you'd been wowed by the size and comfort of your room. I'm glad the crew shined as usual, though, and you loved Stephen our friendly ambassador there at the door. I hope we'll have a chance to knock your socks off next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A really great hotel with its own character. The conversion of the old cannery building has retained its character but built in that luxury feel of a top hotel. The location is great close to the restaurants and bustle of Fisherman's Wharf but keeping a calm and relaxed feel amidst all of the action. Having the Hyde Street terminus of the cable car around the corner is another bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi, Sandra W, and thanks for your 5-star shout-out! I think the reason we Argonauts fall in love with this place is that soul, history, character, and charm of the building. The hotel is an intrinsically local experience in the middle of a touristic center, right?! I'm glad you connected with the place; we'll look forward to your next voyage here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was my first visit to San Francisco and I picked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and they were absolutely correct! This hotel is a gem! The ideal location for seeing the city.The staff were amazing and the wine hour is not to be missed. Parking can be a bit dear but a small price to pay for wonderful hotel experience. One night one of the doorman personally walked us to a pub so we could get a cold beer! Excellent all round! We will be back very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks, Gesemech! But now you have me wanting a cold beer... it is so wonderful to read about that friendly doorman, and how the whole experience matched your high expectations. Parking is crazy expensive everywhere in the city, so you might as well be right by the water, right? Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

an amazing hotel from the minute you walk in the lobby ! Staff real friendly pet friendly also managers wine tasting every evening at 5pm all free ! Valet parking a bit high but we found a few local car parks at least 15 dollars a day cheaper !
Also has probably the best value resturant on the Wharf just opposite Cuppurros.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view they charge a little extra but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi, Journey108,
"Wow" is just what we go for, so I loved reading your review -- thank you! Capurros and Cioppino's are indeed right across the street, and Scoma's is just a tad past there at Pier 47. But, my hands-down favorite for my vice (crab) will always be our very own Blue Mermaid restaurant. And that's not just my bias talking! Come try the crab and corn chowder and you'll see what I mean. Better yet, pair it with that free wine from the evening party 5-6pm :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington dc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Well priced. Fantastic location if you want to do the "tourist thing". Very friendly and attentive staff. Good job Kimpton Hotels. The bell hop/concierge staff were really helpful, friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi, there, SJMullet100,
I'm happy to hear the team was their friendly, charming selves at the front of house, and the location and value were there for you as well. If you'll indulge my shameless plug, I really suggest you consider joining up with our loyalty club if you have not already. At all your Kimptons, the program connects you with free wifi, your choice of pillow & newspaper, and ten bucks free from the minibar... not bad for a program that's complimentary to join, no strings attached!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.