We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to come back one day...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Save Saved
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan your Baycation Now
Ranked #7 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Springfield, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would love to come back one day...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel was gorgeous and the staff was always friendly and helpful. I wish that I would have caught more of their names. The only one I can remember at the moment was Stephen and he was wonderful. Anything that we needed, they were willing to assist or take care of themselves. The hotel was a little more expensive that we normally would pay, but the location, view (straight out of my window was Alcatraz), and staff made the extra money so worth it. They also gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne due to it being our anniversary. Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks so much, Renee K! This is exactly what we love to read. I'm thrilled that Stephen and the rest of the crew here helped make the stay so memorable. I realize the view of Alcatraz and the bay doesn't hurt, either, but that's something for which our team can't claim the credit :)! We are looking forward to seeing all the boats out there for America's Cup very soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,206
    919
    210
    79
    42
See reviews for
833
1402
88
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a good touristy location, helpful staff and we found it to be impeccably clean. They also have a free wine tasting hour which was a great touch.
The only downsides were overpriced tour recommendations, one of which (the bike company) we found to be a really negative experience. Although not strictly the hotel's fault, we chose this company on their advice and it left a somewhat sour taste. The food also wasn't great and the rooms a little poky for the price.
Overall though we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi, WendyandTim! Thanks for visiting us from China! I'm glad that you felt we tried hard and you had a great stay overall. It is too bad, though, that you were not able to enjoy our four first-come, first-served daily bike rentals. They are free at 8am each morning, and since (you're right!) bike rental doesn't come cheaply in SF, it is a great option for a saving a bit. Hopefully we will be able to see you again in the future?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal way
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Very pricey but it is a great hotel. Great location! Had my dog with me so really enjoyed the fact it was right next to the park. Right on fishermans wharf. Have to walk a bit to get to pier 39 & 33 (where the ferry to alcratez is). The rooms were a ways from the elevator. Were very lovely rooms. Staff were very nice. I let them know the issues with my room and stay. And they fixed it right away. The bell hop/door folks were very funny. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi, Cadetshorty! You are a person after my heart (and 5'3" stature!).
I'm glad you loved our quirky bellman/doorman team and that the front desk was helpful, too! I hope we were able to get you a pet bed or bowl if you needed one. Lavon at the desk is our pet guru and she keeps the little treat box out front stocked at all times, too! I hope we will get to host y'all again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked through British Air. I think we would have gotten a much better rate direct with the hotel. Location can't be beat -- close to the water, Marina, Presidio, etc but away from the loud crowds of Fishermans Wharf. Room was long and really narrow. Tight for 2 people with luggage etc. view was of the interior roof and had to keep shutters closed due to proximity of rooms across the way. Happy hour was jammed...could not get a seat. So the nice touch of that was lost. Had chowder in the Blue Mermaid restaurant which was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello, Jan0404ok,

Thanks for visiting us! It's too bad that there were no seats left in the lobby... I'm a bit late now, but if you come again, please feel free to enjoy your drink in the restaurant, where they have extra seats most night at the hour and would be more than happy to tempt you with their calamari, oysters Rockefeller, or chowders... the list goes on! As far as sleeping room size goes, ours are some of the very biggest in the city on average, though I know it's all relative, of course.
We're glad you had a great time and felt the location was perfect! That's the best on a vacation, isn't it?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We got this hotel recommended by a local friend, and we were very happy that we followed his advice. We were a family group of 9 within an age range of 5 to 70 years staying here for 3 nights. Everything was just great! The staff is friendly and helpfull, the rooms are clean and the food is great. Combined with an excellent location, this is just a no-brainer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi, Papa Traveling! I see you are from my ancestral lands of Norway - lucky you! What a beautiful country. I loved visiting their for a family reunion when I was 11, and it is high time I get back there... in any case, this is about YOU and your kind review, so thank you for your commendation and please know that I will pass it along to the team, particularly those stellar housekeepers :)! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here on a girls trip to San Fran June 13-16. I've stayed here before 7 years ago and they still are the best place to stay! Location is near so many places you can walk to and close to transportation. There is a restaurant located in hotel and very good food. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi, SavannahGA55,
I am so glad you remembered us 7 years later and came back to see us again! Thanks for eating some of chef's tasty treats, as well. Did you get to sit outside? We are expecting that to be the THING TO DO for the America's Cup season coming up here at the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel blew away our expectations!!! Everyone was SO friendly and very helpful whenever we needed help with a hotel request (xtra towels, razors, directions, etc)...Our room was the Specialty room with a King bedroom and a separate living area..Bathroom was AMAZING! Cable cars fun way to get home from Union Square and getting out to the wharf is a great way to see the city. NOTHING BAD TO SAY ABOUT THIS HOTEL..>WILL STAY HERE AGAIN FOR SURE!! I wish I was there right now!! :-) THE BEDS AND PILLOWS ARE AMAZING!!!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have views of BOTH the Golden Gate AND Alcatraz!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi, ScottsdaleHP!

Thanks so much for your five-star review. I'm delighted to hear a good time was had by all! The corner Specialty Suites do have incredible views, don't they :)? The mattresses are Sealy pillowtops -- they are my favorite, too. You'll find them at most of our hotels. We do have a new hotel in Sedona if you want a quick getaway, as well, but perhaps you can come back here soon to escape the heat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.