We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet parking
Ranked #6 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here on a girls trip to San Fran June 13-16. I've stayed here before 7 years ago and they still are the best place to stay! Location is near so many places you can walk to and close to transportation. There is a restaurant located in hotel and very good food. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavannahGA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi, SavannahGA55,
I am so glad you remembered us 7 years later and came back to see us again! Thanks for eating some of chef's tasty treats, as well. Did you get to sit outside? We are expecting that to be the THING TO DO for the America's Cup season coming up here at the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel blew away our expectations!!! Everyone was SO friendly and very helpful whenever we needed help with a hotel request (xtra towels, razors, directions, etc)...Our room was the Specialty room with a King bedroom and a separate living area..Bathroom was AMAZING! Cable cars fun way to get home from Union Square and getting out to the wharf is a great way to see the city. NOTHING BAD TO SAY ABOUT THIS HOTEL..>WILL STAY HERE AGAIN FOR SURE!! I wish I was there right now!! :-) THE BEDS AND PILLOWS ARE AMAZING!!!!!!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have views of BOTH the Golden Gate AND Alcatraz!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottsdaleHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi, ScottsdaleHP!

Thanks so much for your five-star review. I'm delighted to hear a good time was had by all! The corner Specialty Suites do have incredible views, don't they :)? The mattresses are Sealy pillowtops -- they are my favorite, too. You'll find them at most of our hotels. We do have a new hotel in Sedona if you want a quick getaway, as well, but perhaps you can come back here soon to escape the heat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at the Argonaut, the nautical theme didn't disappoint. The room was large with a good view. After 12 hour flight didn't appreciate reception writing the wrong room number on key card. Went up with all my gear and then had to come back down again. Very touristy area which Fisherman's Wharf doesn't cater well too. Yes there are lots of restaurants but not enough toilets, really frustrating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestieWendyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi, WestieWendyB,
Thanks for letting me know about that strange slip-up with your key packet! I'm glad you found your way home to your room after that hiccup. I hope that you were also offered our lobby-level restroom? All of the restaurants are happy to take in customers, of course, but we'd like to think our seafood is the best -- and Chef sure does win awards for his chowder!
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely hotel and staff were very helpful and friendly would love to return. Every evening we would return to a lovely glass of wine which was complimentary of the hotel nice touch !! Breakfast was great you could upgrade if you wanted but we found the coffee and toast enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenHession
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello, Karen Hession,

Thanks for checking out the Argonaut! I'm glad you enjoyed relaxing and socializing at our evening wine party. Did you get to try the Blue Mermaid for lunch or dinner at all? The thing to do this time of year is eat outside, and probably try chowder in a bread bowl because, well, this is San Francisco after all!

It's great to hear you loved to staff and they were so helpful. Hope we get to see you back here again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose this hotel as we wanted to be near Fisherman's Wharf and most if the better hotels in San Francisco are in the business district. We were bit disappointed - lovely location, nice rooms with very comfortable beds, some very nice touches - recommendations of local places to eat and ring from the hotel team, wine tasting at 5pm nightly, good fitness room. The bathrooms were a little disappointing - small and our shower was average (could have been our room) and don't bring a car until you need one at €46 parking per night! We would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HopsonYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello, HopsonYorkshire,
I'ts great to see you loved our waterfront hotel and you were able to soak up the wine hour, fitness center, local recommendations and so on. Speaking of soaking, though, it is true that our ultra-deep tubs are in the suite rooms. Parking is $46/night for each overnight for a regular sized vehicle -- depending on your exchange rate, it is a good chunk of change, but I can promise it is the average for hotels in these prime areas. Self-parking at local garages can save about $10-15, but it's always a good idea to make sure they include "ins & outs" in the price. Hope that helps!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I just returned home after a great weekend in San Francisco! This hotel is amazing from check in to check out. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is great. The bellman was nice and wrote down some local resturants to eat at and made sure we were settled. They concierge was a great help as well, she highlighted our route to the ball park for our game. Everyone went above and beyond. The location is clise to everything, but quiet. Definately would stay again

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi, Elizabeth B!
"Like a Local" is what we're all about in Kimpton nowadays, so I'm thrilled to hear that the bellman and concierge were able to really connect you with the fun and interesting parks of the city. San Francisco is the best, isn't it? And, yes, we believe we are lucky to be on the edge of all the action in this quiet nook by the aquatic park and Ghirardelli Square. Pier 39 is fantastic, but it's also great to leave those crowds behind when you "come home" at night.
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a 4 night stay here at the start of our Pacific coast tour. Hotel location is great, right by fisher mans wharf. It was also close to the cable car turn round which has a great view of the. Golden Gate Bridge. Room was very clean and well maintained. Comfortable beds. View from window was just of the middle of the hotel, I.e other rooms and a/c plant. On a plus note this meant that the room was quiet. , Dont know if you can get a better view if you pay a supplement,, but you only have to step outside to see the sights. The complimentary drink in the evening was very acceptable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has lots of character. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily G, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi, Keith W! Thanks for coming to see us all the way from across the pond! I'm happy to see you felt the hotel had a lot of great character and those sturdy brick walls kept things quiet for you :). I will share your kudos with the housekeeping ladies and the nice folks who pour the evening wine, as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,868 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 234 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#19 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,432 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#34 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Fairmont Heritage Place, Ghirardelli Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing