We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything in Fisherman's Wharf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get a $50 dining credit!
Ranked #6 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Close to everything in Fisherman's Wharf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Kimpton Argonaut hotel is located on Jefferson across the street from the Powel and Hyde cable car turntable. You can look out the window and watch the grips turn the cars around and watch the numbers of tourist build up during the day. By lunchtime they are standing there for an hour to get on. Our room was supposed to have a Golden Gate view but of course there is the morning fog so you don't always get to see Golden Gate. Other rooms have a Bay Bridge view and others still have a view of the courtyard. The argonaut is a squid like animal that moves very fast using a type of jet propulsion. Our bathroom had 36 on the wall.
The building is historic in that it was part of the cannery complex built in 1908. You can still see the exposed beams sticking out everywhere, even in your room. There is a little museum just past reception that explains all this.
The restaurant and bar serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. You don't have to go out for your clam chowder, it is excellent at Argonaut's bar and restaurant. They close at 9 pm but you can get room service until midnight.
They were digging up the road outside the hotel when we were there which made access a little difficult but I think they will be done soon. Valet parking is forty five dollars.

Room Tip: The rooms have different views, make sure you book the right one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,592
    1,127
    251
    94
    41
See reviews for
1,052
1,734
100
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Made the decision to stay here after reading all the positive reviews.
Apart from the roadworks out the front which didn't inconvenience us at all the place was fantastic
Big quiet rooms, I requested a quiet room and we had a courtyard facing room, great helpful staff, especially Loreto at Breakfast.
Lots of little at architectural quirks, from wallpaper to small pieces of glass at each room door. Huge wooden beams and exposed brickwork, very thoughtful design features set this place apart from others I've stayed in.
Close to all the major features as you would expect.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is the bomb! Situated in the wonderful city of San Francisco, in the neighborhood of Fisherman's Wharf. The Blue Mermaid (the restaurant) is great. I love the nautical theme. The beds are super comfortable. I love the shampoo in the shower because it is in large salon bottles. The free wine hour is great. The lobby is very nice. The staff is great! A great hotel in a great location!!!!!!! :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As a native local, I highly recommend the kimpton hotels and this one in particular. They have done a beautiful job restoring and repurposing a significant landmark building in sf and the city can be proud of this hotel. If you are visiting sf for the first time note that it is not in a busy area and transportation from here can be difficult however the inner rooms are absolutely soundproof so you are guaranteed a quiet night. For sf the rooms are incredibly spacious. I love this part of sf but if you are visiting for the first time you might consider splitting your time between this hotel and the sir Francis drake or the fairmont so you can hear the hum of the cable car. The only downside is that i found it odd that the desk staff knew almost nothing of the history of the building and could hardly answer basic questions about its history. Neverthtless I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Was in San Francisco for business and we held our meeting of about 40 people in this hotel.
I had a suite, which was a lovely large room with living area, dining area and large room and bathroom. Very homely rooms - not clean cut, modern, "off-the-shelf" like a lot of hotels, but individual and welcoming - albeit the nautical theming may not be to everyone's tastes!
The meeting was well facilitated and the meeting room large and airy. We had a function in the museum next door one night for which the food was very good and the location made for a good conversation starter!
I didn't have much time to explore but the location seemed very good - next to the Fisherman's Wharf and lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
Overall a great hotel in a great location, and an efficiently run meeting to boot - would come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you want to stay in the Fisherman's Wharf area of San Francisco (and there are plenty of reasons why you wouldn't), there is no better choice than the Argonaut. An imaginative conversion of an old building, the Argonaut has character and that's more than can be said for most of the other hotels at the Wharf. I think that it works because it is on the edge of the Wharf conveniently located for the cable cars and the park. The effort that has gone into the nautical theme has worked and the, otherwise pretty standard, rooms have been transformed. Our Bay view room was certainly very comfortable.

There were very few downsides. The valet parking was expensive and I wonder why this, otherwise impressive, hotel group insists on trying to rip off its guests by leaving out ridiculously overpriced bottles of water.

That aside, well done the Argonaut.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in San Francisco on Monday, April 1 from the East Coast. The hotel is located in a Del Monte cannery building that has been lovingly restored and converted into the Argonaut hotel and a few other entities, including a tasting room for a California wine cooperative and a maritime museum. It is located directly across from Hyde St pier and walking distance to everything in Fisherman's Wharf. The location cannot be beat. John, The doorman, in a uniform reminiscent of an admiral, greeted us warmly upon our arrival. Check-in was a breeze. All staff acknowledged us swiftly with the exception of Brooke the Concierge who was on the phone when we were waiting for assistance for a full 5 minutes before we gave up and decided to go out on our own. To her credit, she was much more attentive during our other experience with her and arranged our airport shuttle for us. Our king bed room was clean and in good condition with a nice sized bathroom, a refrig fully stocked and flatscreen TV. I advise joining the In Touch Kimpton rewards program to get the $10 raid the minibar credit and free wifi. Our room, #429, did not have a view- only of a courtyard with other hotel rooms across from us. This is a non-pet hotel room, but we noticed the facility is very pet friendly and even had treats for the dogs. Although there was major road construction directly in front of the hotel, we had no noise issues and slept well all 3 nights. Jason at the desk was very helpful in arranging a 1 day car rental for our drive to Monterey. It was perfect for us. Don't miss the Dungenesse crab chowder in the Blue Mermaid restaurant on the premises.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.