We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel right next to Fisherman's Wharf (could be good or bad thing)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Save Saved
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Argonaut Savings
Ranked #7 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent hotel right next to Fisherman's Wharf (could be good or bad thing)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at Argonaut Hotel for 3 weeks nights on business. The hotel is a decent 4/5 star, with large comfortable rooms and pleasant lounge area with an open fireplace. I didn't eat breakfast or dinner in the hotel so cannot comment on the food, but the hotel is right by Fisherman's Wharf which to me looks like a horrific Disneyland parody of itself but I guess others might like its tackiness. We ate dinner in a couple of the local restaurants which were both decent. Overall it is an expensive hotel if you just need a bed for the night, but the location is great if you're a tourist seeking the local attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hello, friend from London! I hope we get the chance to see you here again so you can check out our Blue Mermaid restaurant and point you in the direction of some fun bits of local character, history, and charm. We are also near several other neighborhoods so the Wharf can be a jumping off point for your next visit. Glad you enjoyed some other nearby restaurants and found us to be so convenient. Take care and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,108
    857
    200
    77
    41
See reviews for
788
1317
85
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My expectation was high for this hotel as it was recommended by a friend who told me it is the best around the area of San Francisco Fisherman's wharf. Well, I was not disappointed, instead the stay was fabulous. The rooms were clean and tidy. Everything is pretty well maintained. Perhaps only the lift needs some upgrading. We did not get to try the evening cocktail as our tour ended late most of the days e.g. 7pm. A pity, we hoped it could have been of a longer duration. The location is great, walking distance to most of the restaurants e.g. Scoma's. But I would feel that for the price per night we were paying for, there was not any punch to our stay. Nothing really bad but nothing really good too which is out of the ordinary for me to boast about. Perhaps the hotel should work harder to impress their guests and visitors. A good hotel of that price should not be just hi-bye.

Room Tip: You might want to pay more for a Bay View room but most of the time you find that you cannot see muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I spent 2 day here in a beautiful suite and it was amazing! I loved the property and it was at a great location. The is so much to do just in the hotel itself, the service is very good and trustable. Very friendly room service and there are plenty of spot really close to go to. And it's really easy to find it and I am deffinatly come here again and this time with my family!

Room Tip: Get the suite, if you want to have a good stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We did get a deal & that is reflected in my review... however, this hotel is FANTASTIC. This is the only place I would stay at in The Wharf area. Have fun! Make sure to pack a sweatshirt in the summer! It can get down right cold when the fog comes in! Check out Lou's Blues down the street for excellent Blues!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fun and friendly hotel right in the heart of the Fisherman's Wharf district. The building is a converted fish cannery building with a grand lobby with fireplace which encompasses mist if the main floor. Rooms are timber beams, brick walls and primary colors with accents of mirrors and modern eclectic collection of art and furniture. Friendly includes a complimentary wine reception every day at 5 for the guests. A wonderful hotel with all the right touches. Free wifi.......newspaper - all the essential extras - when in San Fran - not to be missed.

Room Tip: King suite - if entertaining is an exceptionally large space if you are entertaining or having a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had chosen this hotel for its location and it was an excelllent choice. Easy to walk to all tourist areas on the waterfront, but on the quiet end of the action. Rooms were clean and we had a king with view of alcatraz. Wine happy hour was perfect in the afternoon before dinner! Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Can only say great things about this hotel!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevenoaks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This Hotel is in a great location. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I had mentioned that we were celebrating our 25th Wedding anniversary this year and there was a really lovely bottle of red wine waiting for us in our room with a congratulatory note. They serve free hot chocolate with all the toppings from 3-4 in the afternoon and this is followed at 5 with an hours wine reception. All included. This gives the management an opportunity to talk to the guests and ensure that you are happy. We went on to stay at the Solamar Hotel in San Diego, and received a similar welcome. I joined the Kimpton 'club' (which is free) and received 10 dollars worth of minibar goods. Would now happily stay in any Kimpton hotel now!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room high up. The only problem was the A/C unit on the roof. But we had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hello, CazzieAsh!
Congrats again on the big 25th anniversary. I'm glad you got a great welcome from the crew here and felt the managers at wine hour were engaged and really wanted to make sure you were having a great time. Thanks for joining our loyalty club. Make sure that your profile is always up to date with your preferred room location, newspaper, etc., and we'll always do our best to plan for your VIP arrival! Cheers and thanks for loving Kimpton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco
Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#31 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Venere, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.