We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25% with AAA
Ranked #5 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent location. Very clean and beautiful nautical decor. Donavan was most helpful as was everyone else! Wish we would of stayed here but we had to move to a downtown location due to my husband attending a conference.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks a lot, Nancy! We'll let the housekeeping team know how much you appreciated the cleanliness. I'm glad you enjoyed the maritime-inspired design and location, too. As Donovan probably mentioned, we love to point people in the direction of all the local and historic nooks & crannies of the wharf. Or, to get downtown, we can assist with a town car transfer from 7-9am Mon-Fri on a first-come, first-served basis. So please do come back, be it for a conference or for pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,344
    1,006
    226
    82
    39
See reviews for
926
1,542
91
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I just came back from my San Francisco vacation with my girlfriend.

I picked this hotel after the many good reviews that I read and the location near the water and fisherman's wharf. This hotel is an old Cannery and is about 5 stories tall. The rooms either face the middle - which there is absolutely no view and all you see are other people's rooms or you face out, which has nicer views. I would suggest the rooms with the better views for for your stay to be worth it.

They have a complimentary wine tasting as well as hot cocoa. there is a coffee maker in each room with Starbucks coffee available for free. There is a fireplace in the lobby which is pretty nice.

I thought the service was just above average, the rooms were okay- a bit plain for the price. The beds and linens were really nice but the walls were thin and I could hear people talking / arguing next door. You can walk down to the main area of fisherman's wharf in about 5 to 10 minutes and you can take the bus / tram everywhere else in San Fran. It's about 15 - 20 min to get to the Ferry Building.

There is an In N Out burger adjacent to the hotel for cheap eats... there is also a very popular bar/club around the corner for good night life.

Room Tip: make sure to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks, Hue! I'm glad you got to enjoy all the conveniences of our area. It's true that you can find everything from In & Out to Gary Danko around here :). We all love to talk about FOOD!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Small family of three stayed there for a week, and is probably the best hotel experience we've had. The Fisherman's Wharf district is a good location for first time tourist. It was close to a lot of attraction, car rental and nice walks. The staff is available and makes you feel very welcome. they have a bunch of perks for both adults and kids. The 2-4pm hot cocoa and the 5-6pm wine are very nice. Wifi was about 10 MB in downloads and 4 in uploads (free with your Kimpton InTouch membership). I had a nice view of the bay and Ghirardelli, but only a quarter of their rooms maybe like that. The rooms are clean, well decorated and relatively quiet (ventialtion system is a bit noisy, but constant, so your brain will eventually ignore it. Because of the Argonaut, the Kimpton hotels are definitely top of my list of hotels to look for next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Argonaut Hotel is a great place to relax, work and "wine" down. The staff is great and nothing is too much effort.
It is situated close to the seafront and only a short walk to the wonderful Pier 39, loads of restaurants and the famous Boudin Sourdough Bakery. The trolley stop is next to the hotel and only a 2 minute walk away.

There is a free hot chocolate served every afternoon between 4 and 5pm and then thereafter there is a free wine tasting for the adults.

The Blue Mermaid Restaurant situated next to the hotel is great for breakfasts, lunches and dinners if you do not want to venture too far. Overall, The Argonaut Hotel is great place home from home.

Room Tip: Ask for the bridge or Island view room. They are sometimes available at no extra cost. Bridge view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Awww, home away from home! That is just what we love to hear! THANK YOU! Come back to check out the local beer we'll be adding to the wine hour next week. Hot chocolate will soon end with winter, but new summer goodies are just around the corner.... time flies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had a lovely stay here in one of the bay view rooms - hotel and staff were all great and I'd highly recommend it if you want to stay in this part of San Francisco.

Pros:
- spacious rooms
- open, wide hallways
- friendly, helpful staff
- free wine hour!
- unique decor, nautical theme extends to rooms
- cable car stop very close by

Cons:
- beds were hard
- road construction on the street near the front of the hotel (but no noise from it)

Room Tip: Splurge for a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Argonaut last month for my 31st birthday celebration. The Argonaut was kind enough to upgrade our room and supply us with a bottle of champagne in honor of the occasion. The nautical theme is perfect for the location and our room was large, clean and comfortable. We even had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge! The hotel staff was wonderful as well, helping with directions, recommendations and renting a car (the car rental was a breeze dropped off and picked back up at the hotel). As this was our first to trip San Fran, the location was great, close to many attractions and public transit as well. Being close to Fisherman’s wharf the area was definitely busy and “touristy” but we were tourists so we fit right in!

If you have the time you should definitely rent bikes from Blazing Saddles downstairs and bike the bridge. It is an amazing experience!

Room Tip: Request a bay view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived late in the evening to expect a wonderful room that we had paid months in advance for - 3 nights at premier costs - only to be told we had to hand over a further $300 on our debit card to cover any incidentals. I wasnt happy as we had paid a small fortune to stay there already.

The room was nice - thats about it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello, Monkeyhands,
Please know that we do not charge any hidden fees (no resort fees, and room tax was included in your prepaid room reservation). The $300 hold you mention represents an authorization of $100/night for incidentals on a 3-night stay. The hold guarantees payment for anything billed to the room (dining, spa services, minibar, phone calls, movies, valet parking, business center printing, etc...you can see how if someone bills a couple's massage to the room, that "eats up" the hold right off the bat!).
Our incidentals guarantee is disclosed on all booking systems and is in keeping with industry standards. Please know we do not mean to surprise anyone! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.