We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning because we liked it so much!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get a $50 dining credit!
Ranked #7 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Returning because we liked it so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Argonaut a few years back for a couple of nights on our way to Hawaii..We had brought my mother in law..who was elderly..The hotel was kind enough to honor our request for adjoining rooms. My mother in law loved it. So we are returning to the Argonaut in a couple of weeks for my husbands birthday and..of course there are many hotels to choose from in SFO,,but why change..It is really nice and the service was just great..

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,500
    1,089
    242
    89
    41
See reviews for
1,020
1,653
101
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights from 27 December 2012 in a one bedroom suite. The suite was huge with dining table and 6 chairs, lounge area with ginormous tv and extremely spacious master bedroom, with tv, spa bath in bathroom, our room as on the 2nd floor overlooking Jefferson street, with glimpses of the Golden Gate Bridge. I loved this hotel, location was excellent, free happy hour every night by the huge open fire. It didn't feel like a hotel but a big country guesthouse, even the guests were all a happy bunch! Staff we're most attentive, checking in was easy and checking out at 5.30, the lady at reception was very helpful in printing our boarding passes and checking on our transfers which was most appreciated at that hour! This hotel has a great feel about it and I will most definitely be staying here again when I return to San Francisco 12 out of 10

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Well we love you right back! Thanks so much for the 12 out of 10! Dang! And I will definitely share your kudos with our surprisingly outgoing overnight gal. Isn't she great?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really good. Clean and very friendly staff. Don't get concerned about pet friendly hotel because the rooms are cleaner than most hotels I stayed and I only stay in good and very clean hotels. If you want to stay at fisherman's wharf and close to a cable car stop this is a perfect hotel. Only two complaints: VALET is expensive and not very efficient(one day we waited for more than 20 mins for our car). BREAKFAST is not complimentary and very expensive BUT there is a wonderful bakery 0.1 miles from the hotel(leaving the hotel make a right and right again-around the block). Breads are incredible!!!!
I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NS
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had booked a room at this hotel for two nights to break up the long flight home from Hawaii. We dragged ourselves into the hotel about 9:30 at night to be told that we did not have a room as they were overbooked! We were not happy campers, to say the least. We were given a room for the night at a sister Kimpton hotel, the Sir Francis Drake, near Union Square. I will not go into this overdressed and gaudy hotel in this review...just very hard on the eyes!!
The next morning we headed back to the Argonaut (taxis paid by the hotel) and checked in. The reception this time was excellent, the room bright and cheerful and the staff more than apologetic. Indeed the room we received was great as well as the complementary bottle of wine and chocolate to accompany it. We were now happy campers and headed out to explore San Francisco. That said, we did lose a valuable half day of exploration. Kudos to the manager for trying to make up for a very bad start.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Although the Argonaut is an excellent location if you want to stay in the Fisherman Wharf area, and the hotel is extremely clean, the price is outrageous for what you get. The service is no more outstanding than any of the other hotels in the area. We had to unload our own luggage because their didn't seem to be any organization going on with the valets. For the price we paid, the room was small and noisy on the 4th floor. We paid $300+ per night for a 2 queen bed room without a view, plus $80+ per night for parking. We have stayed at this hotel, probably three or four times in the last few years and it was never this expensive. So this will be the last time we ever stay here. It is just not worth it to pay that much for a place to sleep, and that is exactly all it was.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more A/C unit noise. Rooms on the west and north sides have the best views but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello, ricequeen12. Please don't give up on us yet! Our prices do go up and down with occupancy and major city events, but we always strive to provide stellar value for the given day. Our parking price remains $46+tax for each regular-sized vehicle overnight (and $61+tax for select trucks and SUVs), and all rooms include complimentary wintertime hot cocoa and wine receptions, in-room coffee and wifi, boarding pass printing, concierge service, first-come, first-served bike rental freebies, and the chance to join our complimentary member club to receive $10 off your mini-bar bill. I hope that some of these efforts will lure you back, even if only on a discounted night. Thank you for your consideration, ricequeen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Argonaut hotel was fantastic. Right in the middle of everything. Great views of the bay, 5 minute walk to Ghiradelli Square, Pier 39 and lots of good places to eat and shop. You will not be disappointed, trolley car around the corner maybe 2 minutes. The hotel is very very nice and the workers are awesome. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The Argonaut is located right by the water and a few of the more fun piers. The lobby is warm and welcoming, furnished in modern nautical themes. They add a nice touch with their pet goldfish welcoming you at the front desk. They are also conveniently located by a Starbucks, Boudin, and an in-and-out burger.

Check in was fine but I was not told how to access the Internet. I was there with a medium sized group for a conference also at the hotel. The conference room was very nice, had functioning technology, a large screen for power points and is located conveniently to the lobby and bathrooms. We had breakfast and lunch served in the room. My only complaint is that the server came in during a presentation to break down the breakfast set up, which was loud and we had to stop our presentation to wait for her to finish. The wallpaper in the conference room was also slightly Trippy but not awful.

Rooms were very nice and comfortable. Bed was cozy, bathroom well equipped and plenty of counter space for toiletries. The TV made some loud noises when changing channels but the quality of the picture was superb. The layout of the hotel is a bit strange so that the elevators are located on one side of the building and I could not find any non-emergency stairs. My room was located polar opposite to the elevators so deciding to go downstairs was more of a commitment than I would have liked.

However, the lobby offers much room and amenities for relaxing. They serve an amazing hot chocolate and later wine at an evening reception. The wine is complementary but they do have a bowl out to take donations for a charity which I found very sweet. They had some warm and non alcoholic options available as well. For the hot chocolate, get there early if you want whipped cream- it's the real deal and it goes fast!

Overall great stay. I would happily stay here again.

Advice for future travelers, ask for a room closer to the elevators if you have some mobility problems or want easier room access.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.