We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing for families. Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Save Saved
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save More
Ranked #7 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Opua, New Zealand
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing for families. Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with our small children for two nights in early December. We were so warmly welcomed with the treasure box! And a beautiful Christmas tree and roaring fire that made me feel in the festive mood immediately. The staff are bend-over-backwards helpful, the double queen room was perfect, the Blue Mermaid restaurant was great for breakfast (gorgeous French toast) lunch and dinner! (Staff there super friendly too). Location is perfect for exploring the dockside area, right next to the cable car stop, and I highly recommend hiring bikes to cycle to Golden Gate Bridge.
We only had 36 hours but absolutely loved San Francisco and can't wait to return. And when we do it'll be to the Argonaut.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello, Family Mac!
I just adore the image of staff bending over backwards all over the place -- perhaps we will offer yoga at our next monthly luncheon for our staff :)!
I'm glad they wowed you, and that the Blue Mermaid meals were top-notch as well. French toast and a roaring fire do paint a cozy picture indeed!
Cheers,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,207
    922
    211
    79
    42
See reviews for
834
1404
89
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived at the Argonaut extremely tired after a long journey from Perth. Check in was prompt and staff were very efficient and helpful. Room and hotel were better than expected - I am very fussy. We were a family of four sharing a Bay View 2 x Queen Bed for three nights and were extremely comfortable and the nautical theme very tasteful and not over the top. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Great location near cable cars and end of Fishermans Wharf and not too noisy. Wonderful view of Alcatraz out of our window. Loved the Xmas decorations in the lobby and being able to sit by the fire to warm up after a day of sight seeing. Made it once to the end of the happy hour for free wine which was a nice touch and good opportunity to meet some other guests and share travel tips. We got 2 free bikes and 2 discounted bikes through the hotel and rode over Golden Gate Bridge to Sausilito which was a lovely afternoon. Were sad to leave and would have liked to stay longer! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Go for Bay View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Well, ahoy and many thanks, NP62 :). So glad you loved soaking up the tasteful nautical design and holiday cheer with us. We like to give our guests an escape and restful adventure here at the Argonaut! The bubbly continues all month long at our wine reception and those bike rentals are available year round (first come, first served!). See you next time - thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spend 4 nights on the 4th floor with a view of the Golden Gate bridge and the turn around of the cable car station. We had 2 queen size beds, flat screen TV and a walk throu to my inlaws.
The staff in the hotel was fantastic. We need info and they went out of their way to assit. The hotel is very close to the Fishermans warf and we enjoyed walking to most of the tourist attrations.
Highly recomended!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 4th floor facing West. You will have a view of the Golden Gate bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in a 4th floor double queen in December. Spacious and clean with a (distant) view of the Golden Gate bridge. The big positive about the hotel, apart from its Fisherman's Wharf location, was its apparent ability to accommodate couples, families, business people and even dogs in harmony. The Christmas spirit was alive and well in the lobby with free toys for the kids on arrival and pre-dinner drinks for the grown ups. The restaurant next door served its purpose, even better the sushi restaurant two doors down. The big let down at this hotel was overcharging. $12 per day for wifi is not acceptable in free wifi land any more, and an overseas phone call from the room approached three digits. To cap it all there were spurious minibar charges on checkout. The Kimpton Hotel group needs to review its charging policies on extras if it doesn't want to lose firstly goodwill and secondly customers. Finally no choice was given by the concierge when asking about airport transfer options. But overall a good place to stay in SF, just watch your wallet on the extras.

Room Tip: 4th floor if you want to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello, Lake-logger friend from Sydney!
I'm delighted you found the hotel to be a welcome and festive getaway spot for folks of all ages and interests. We'll share the kudos with our Chef over at the chowderhouse, which is indeed a prime spot here in crab season -- or anytime! Please know that we take pride in being authentic and honest with our guests and we did not mean to surprise you with any charges. It is true that overseas dialing from hotels can be steep, so we like to recommend calling cards from the nearby shops. We also offer free wifi to all members of our loyalty club, Kimpton InTouch, which is itself free to join and gives you fun perks like $10 off the minibar whenever you stay at ANY of our hotels! Midnight munchers everywhere may rejoice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Staff are very helpful and friendly. Really nice and clean accommadation ( never known aroom to be cleaned so quick and still look immaculate)and great location. Nothing seemed an effort with any of the staff.

Child friendly, but at the same time no children were running riot, so dont let this put you off if you dont have children.

Also pet friendly, but again no barking dogs were heard and rooms did not smell either

We were travelling with a 3 year old.At check in our little boy chose a free gift from the treasure chest. The door staff were great and really friendly with him too.

The hotel lays on for free hot chocolate in the afternoon with lots of different toppings and early evening wine tasting and warm cider. Definately missing these :(

My mum had a special birthday whilst we were there and due to late email replies organising the cake, Terry from conceierge popped out to local Safeway to pick up a birthday cake for her. An email was sent a few days before we arrived, asking if there was anything we needed help with and to email the hotel. I did get replies back via this email really quick. Just seems to be emails via the website that i had problems with

We had problems printing our boarding passes out in the business suite and as soon as we spoke to Front desk they had it all sorted and we checked in on our flight.

I was unfortunately taken ill whilst staying at the hotel and my husband called front desk at 4AM asking for a local doctors number. Within minutes a duty manager was up to our room asking how he could assist us. Following day a card and chocolate were left in our room. These sorts of gestures really make a difference. We had to extend our stay due to medical concern and Taylor at Front desk was really helpful with sorting a room for us.

The only tiny tiny grumble i have, is that it takes a while for emails to be returned. If you email through the website, so may be best to call direct with any questions. But that really is a tiny grumble.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello, Los Angeles 21!

I'm thrilled you felt you hit blackjack with this trip and that you are enjoying the fond memories of our staff and the festivities at our wine reception. The hot toddies are continuing all winter long, so hopefully you can come back and see us again soon! I trust you are feeling better and enjoyed a smooth journey home.

Thank you for your rave review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just steps to everything in the Fisherman's Wharf area -- restaurants, Powell-Hyde cable car, Buena Vista for Irish coffee. Our room was very clean, although a little tight. After a day of sightseeing, it was wonderful to relax at the evening wine reception. We have visited San Francisco before, but this was the first time we biked across the Golden Gate Bridge. We were apprehensive about the climb to the bridge, but it wasn't that strenuous. And you coast down to Sausalito. The rest of the ride, along the water on both sides of the Bay, was quite flat. And the ferry ride back to San Francisco provides you a great view of the city. Our day biking was the highlight of this visit. One negative, the valet parking was expensive. Next time we'll self park or find a space on the street in one of the residential neighborhoods within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found this hotel wonderful, the rooms were lovely as was the restaurant. We had a really nice stay and the position is first class, go there if you can you won't be dissapointed. If you like fish food go to Fishermans Wharf and have a blow out on crab, they are delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I'm so glad that you found us to be Best in Show here at the Argonaut. I agree that we are absolutely blessed with this location in the historic Cannery building at the edge of the wharf. Thanks for visiting us and pigging out on the amazing local crab at our Blue Mermaid restaurant. The crab and corn chowder merits every reward and I tell the chef it is worth every calorie! Happy holidays to you and yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.