We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - great location!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Save Saved
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save More
Ranked #7 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Lake Orion, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - great location!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Argonaut to celebrate my 50th birthday. Very nice accommodations. Customer service oriented...I would return again. The staff is very knowledgeable and accommodating. It was a very pleasant stay. Our room was very clean and the location was excellent. Lots of shops and eateries nearby, within walking distance. We loved that we could jump on the Cable Car, grab an Irish coffee at Buena Vista (1 block away), which we did daily, or walk down to the piers and along the water. Great views, great location, clean hotel, wonderful staff!!! Thanks for helping to make my birthday memorable. Your door man remembered me everynight, and reminded me that it was STILL my birthday!!! Loved him!!!

Room Tip: Don't spend extra to get the 'view'. The windows are small, and a good view was seen by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Well, cheers to you, JLosensky! I can just picture our doorman giving you that royal treatment -- and as well he should, as 50th birthdays don't come around every day now, do they? We're elated that you chose our spot here at the wharf for your celebration. Please don't wait till 55 before you come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,489 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,216
    942
    213
    80
    38
See reviews for
880
1440
90
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I (and our dog) stayed only one night and that was my biggest regret. We had a front facing room with views of the Golden Gate and also Alcatraz. Amazing views and it wasn't foggy! But, more important than the views was the exceptional service we received form the staff. The Bell Caption John was amazing he was so helpful (our dog can get very excited) so he gave him some treats to calm him. Nice personal touch. And he always had a smile and you know he loved his job! Also Blaze at the fount desk was so helpful. He told us he loved the room we had and we know why. All the staff we encountered was above and beyond any other!

The beds were wonderful and the room was great for us. We spent most of our time walking around the pier. And we took a boat ride that took us under the Golden Gate Bridge! That was awesome! Can't wait for our next visit!

We cant wait to return and have another relaxing stay!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Like the Super Shuttle driver said when I asked him where the hotel was, with a question in his voice, "Well, its right in front of the city", the Argonaut couldn't be in a better spot to visit the Bay area. Its located in a 100-year old building that used to be the warehouse for a cannery (the actual cannery, defunct for years, is a block away and converted into a restuarant). The building is owned by the Historical Society to which the Kimpton Group (which manages the hotel) pays $1million a month for the preservation of the area.

The hotel has 253 rooms and has been rennovated with the original massice wooden columns and beams and has an overall nautical look with sails in the lobby and other articfacts in the Blue Mermaid lounge which doubles as a restaurant. The rooms are really spacious, again with a nautical look, like a huge, round mirror that resembles a huge port hole on the wall in front of the bed.

The staff is very attentive and courtesous, and the bellmen at the front are always full of help when hailing a taxi. There are plenty of restuarants on both sides of the street, and an In and Out Burger is just a block away if you want some hearty (but greasy) burgers. Chinatown (see my write up on and R&C Restaurant) is just a 10 minute taxi ride (or $10) as is also Pier 29 where there are several good restaurants (see my writeup on La Mar).

For sight seeing, you can take a taxi across the Golden Gate Bridge which is close by and then go to Lombard Street to see the Crooked Street. The Sourdough Bread Factory is just across the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the street and the Suite which has two drink coupons (each coupon g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Do not stay in this hotel. Even if your stay has been fully paid up in advance, the hotel will still require $100 per night authorisation from your credit card, in case you have the audacity to want a $2 drink from the minibar or a $13 breakfast. In addition the General Manager and staff have no leeway whatsoever on policy or if they have are not prepared to use it. Our first lot of per-authorisation over 14 days ago has still not been re-credited.
Avoid this hotel and the Kimptongroup hotels at all costs

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel full stop .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello, Mat60713,
I have to say that I wish we could trust folks, but as they say, what you do for one you must do for all and of course, as the other saying goes, a bad apple ruins the whole bunch. That is why, unfortunately, we must always stick to getting a credit card hold at check-in, though we do make sure that booking confirmations remind guests to provide the card and identification when they arrive. Other hotel groups throughout the city do require the same kind of credit guarantee from all guests equally, though we are always happy to place the hold on another cardholder's account given proper paperwork.
Thank you for staying with us, and please know we did not mean to offend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in the Argonaut during a low season break. The rooms are large and comfortable. Quirky maritime decor can be found everywhere. Service is efficient and there is good access to Fishermans Wharf and the cable cars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi, rdslight!
I'm delighted you found our hotel charming and got to do a few cartwheels in your room. Stay warm in Edinburgh, and we'll hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent a week at this wonderful hotel. The service was top notch all around. The rooms are very large and spacious. The only minor complaint is that the walls are a bit thin and you can hear the person in the next room change their mind. We were near the elevator and the mechanics are very noisy. We were moved as soon as they could accomodate us. The nightly wine reception was a nice treat and they were not stingy with the pour. Fisherman's Wharf is a bit far from a lot of the other neighborhoods. There are many touristy shops and restaurants near by. We did use public transportation which was fairly easy. When I do go back to SF I would pick another Kimpton property that is more accessable for getting around.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near elevators or ice machine. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi, Beevo!
The staff will be pleased to hear that you are a fan of their spot-on service, and I myself will take credit for your wine pour, as guests seem to either love my generosity or worry that I've made them spill-prone :)!
Cheers to you, and thanks for checking us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first stay here and.from the moment we arrive the service was terrific. The hotel is nautical in theme and attractive. Registration was quick and smooth. The room was as stated although a laid out a bit differently from most hotels. Loved the exposed brick and our room over looked Alcatraz Island. The other water view option was of the park near the Golden Gate. It is a short walk to Pier 39 and other tourist attractions. We will return.

Room Tip: The Alcatraz view was good, (looking straight out) but right below was the street and some roof top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.