We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient...Yet Out of the Hustle/Bustle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 25% with AAA
Ranked #7 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient...Yet Out of the Hustle/Bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first stay here and.from the moment we arrive the service was terrific. The hotel is nautical in theme and attractive. Registration was quick and smooth. The room was as stated although a laid out a bit differently from most hotels. Loved the exposed brick and our room over looked Alcatraz Island. The other water view option was of the park near the Golden Gate. It is a short walk to Pier 39 and other tourist attractions. We will return.

Room Tip: The Alcatraz view was good, (looking straight out) but right below was the street and some roof top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,313
    995
    225
    81
    39
See reviews for
918
1,523
91
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very nice accommodations. Customer service oriented...I would return again. The staff is very knowledgeable and accommodating. It was a very pleasant stay. Our room was very clean and the location was excellent. Lots of shops and eateries nearby, within walking distance.

Room Tip: Plan ahead and book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks, Nikki -
Happy your stay was seamless with a spin-and-span room and a location suited to all your city explorations. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently stayed 4 nights here, good location, staff very pleasant, nice touches with the evening wine reception and drinks in the lobby! We had a suite on the 4th floor which was huge................... but a bit noisy as it was located right above starbucks & expect the early morning wake up call before 5am when the staff arrive to set up, other than that we enjoyed our visit to San Francisco!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

What a clean and wonderful hotel this was, the staff were brilliant friendly and nothing was to much bother, it was very comfortable with what you would expect, very close to all amenities. My daughter took sick whilst there and the staff really went out of there way to help, it was my wifes birthday and they were so kind and sent a free bottle of champagne to our room, cannot rate this hotel high enough

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks a lot, Alfred. Cheers to your wife, and we hope your daughter is feeling better! I'll tell the staff how much their kindness meant to you and your family. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It's in an excellent location on Fisherman's Wharf, right near to the trolley car terminal, Aquatic Park, Ghirardelli Square and walking distance to Pier 39 and 33(for Alcatraz). The hotel lobby is very welcoming, log fire and they'd just put up the Christmas decorations. Our room was lovely, spotless, well maintained and with a good range of facilities including a coffee machine. The free wine tasting between 5-6pm each day was an added bonus and a nice treat after a day's sightseeing. All the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel as plenty of restaurants to choose from within easy walking distance. We hired bikes a few doors down and cycled over the Golden Gate Bridge which was amazing. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi, Pumpkinny - or shall we call you Christmasy :)!? So glad that you enjoy our holiday decorations. To add to the holiday cheer, we are offering hot toddies at our wine hour all winter long. Hope to see you again soon! Happy holidays from all of us here at the Argonaut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here in October 2011. This is a gorgeous hotel! It is at the far end of Fishermans Wharf which means it's a fair walk up to Pier 39, but you get to see everything on the way, and if you are wanting a cable car ride into town it's close-by. It is beautiful to look at, we loved the museum in the hotel too, and the lobby is exceptional. The staff was more than helpful, we were welcomed by a fabulous doorman, who made our day with his humour and friendliness. The rooms were roomy, beautifully decorated and well appointed. The only negative I can think of is that the window overlooked the outside bar area, which got a bit noisy. We had breakfast downstairs and it was absolutely delicious! We would stay here again and freely recommend to friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, Owner at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi, Y'all - THANK YOU Texas Family Travelers for the rave review. I agree that the west end of the Wharf is the best spot, and the view of the Golden Gate Bridge over the Aquatic Park never gets old. Thanks for all your loyalty, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Argonaut continues to be the place my husband and I like to stay when visiting San Francisco. We first visited this hotel several years ago when it was brand new, and have been coming back again and again to our great satisfaction. Reasonable rates, which are hard to find in this popular city; a convenient restaurant in the hotel that doubles as a fun bar at night; complimentary wine reception nightly; friendly and talented staff; really spiffy nautically themed rooms that are perfect for the location; a national park museum within the building; and a setting immersed in the history of the area - what's not to like? Add that you are a block away from the cable car, and on the less insane end of Fisherman's Wharf, and you have a great spot. Do stay here - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: The rooms without views are less expensive, but save your pennies and splurge for an outside room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.