We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, modern, new” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Save Saved
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save More
Ranked #7 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern, new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Argonaut for 3 night in November 2012. It was great! The hotel staff is friendly and responsive. The entire hotel looks brand new. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The location is great - in Fisherman's Wharf, but on the outskirts, so you're not in the thick of all the noise and craziness. This place was affordable and classy - we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_von_Winckler, General Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
travelbugNY7,
I'm very happy to hear you had such a great visit! We just completed a property renovation in February, so I'm glad you enjoyed the updated amenities. That being said, its always about the people and the fact the staff was friendly and helpful...well we got it right! Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to hosting you again!

Cheers!

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,181
    911
    210
    77
    38
See reviews for
847
1416
89
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Loved the Argonaut, rooms lovely, bed comfy, location fabulous! Didn't manage to take advantage of the free wine hour but great idea! All the staff were happy and friendly, nothing to complain about at all.

Would stay here again easily

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent three nights here recently during a visit to San Francisco. We arrived over an hour before official check in which wasn't a problem as we were accommodated immediately. Taylor on reception was fantastic, asked why were in San Fran and pointed out loads of things to do and where to go.

The hotel, due to the use of the building before it was a hotel, is a little quirky. The bare brick walls and room doors which open outwards add to the ambience. Wifi is free is you join the hotels frequent stay programme. This isn't hard to do and I signed up for this within minutes to benefit from this. The hotel has a hosted wine hour from 5pm to 6pm each night where you can sample one or two or more glasses of wine! This is the only hotel chain I know that does this.

The Blue Mermaid restaurant is good for both breakfast and dinner and worth a visit. Their clam chowder, although not sampled by me, has won awards and I'm assured is worth a try by my partner.

The location couldn't be any better as you are right next door to the cable car stop and right on the waterfront in Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Overall, we had a comfortable and convenient stay. Hopefully the descriptions below will provide a good summary.

Rooms:

We found the rooms comfortable, spacious, and quiet. We had a nice view and found the overall facility clean and well-maintained. The cleaning service was also great in keeping the room tidy throughout our stay. The beds were comfortable and allowed for restful sleep after long days of exploring this wonderful city.

Location:

This was a plus for the hotel. It is walking distance to many restuarant options and shops. It is within great walking distance to many neighbourhoods, including North Beach, Chinatown, Ferry Building, and Nob Hill. If you turn left as you exit the hotel, you can even walk to Crissy Field. It is also close to the F-line and the cable car turnaround. We rented bikes to ride across the Golden Gate Bridge and found many options just next door to do so.

Service:

We found the service to be indifferent and rushed. Questions were answered when asked but without any further conversation or offers of assistance. We had registered for the Kimpton InTouch program but were not offered any of the benefits unless we specifically asked for each one on separate occasions. For example, we asked about Wifi and the and mini bar credits were handed pieces of paper without further instruction. When we asked how to use these, the receptionist just told us to read the papers. The doormen also often seemed distracted.

Having stayed at the Omni San Francisco during my last visit to San Francisco, the service at the Argonaut was disappointing in comparison. While the serivce at the Argonaut didn't ruin our stay, it really could've been better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days before heading up to wine country. The location is great - very close to a cable car stop, lots of restaurant choices in the area, and within easy walking distance to Pier 39.
It's hard to beat the eclectic-ness of a Kimpton hotel...I forgot how much I love them! And, the Kimpton loyalty program includes some unique personal touches that differentiate it from your typical hotel points program.
(The evening wine hour is a great touch!)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, rooms are a little small and we had a premium room too. The beds are extremely comfortable and the place clean. You will pay a heck of lot more than other hotels in the area, but if that's not an issue, you'll love it.

Room Tip: If you pay even more, you can get bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Liked the location of this hotel on the end of Fisherman's Wharf. Easy to rent bikes, grab public transportation and get to Alcatraz. John the doorman was especially helpful in directing us to good breakfast restaurants and general city information. Room was very clean and comfortable, comfy bed and free wine at happy hour during the week. Watch out for the street people on Fisherman's Wharf that jump out and yell from behind fake hand held branches or hydrants, scared the daylights out of me! The Fisherman's Wharf area was a little run down and cheesy but it was a little seedy. But the central location was a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.