We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Argonaut” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argonaut Hotel

Save Saved
You added Argonaut Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Argonaut Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109 (North Beach)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AAA Members Save More
Ranked #8 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Argonaut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Boutique hôtel that pays attention to the details. Unique room decor. Quiet. Usually a line at the concierge's desk who was very patient with each request. If you prefer to handle your own bags, you have to be a bit assertive. Great location if you want to stay on the wharf.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,481 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,216
    927
    216
    80
    42
See reviews for
843
1410
89
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

  
Having never been to San Francisco before we were reliant on our travel agent to recommend a suitable hotel.

Recommending the Argonaut Hotel and after checking Trip Advisor reviews we agreed to give is Hotel a try.

Frankly, we could not have chosen better.

Lee arrived very late (after midnight) at night after a 14 hour trip and was greater by a friendly and helpful receptionist who recognized that all we really wanted to do was get some sleep so she quickly handled our check in. Our room frankly was fantastic. Clean, airy, and modern.
The following day, after getting some feast, we were in a better frame of mind to take in the environs.

The hotel is situated very close (some would describe actually at) Fisherman's Wharf. Situated in an old style brick building it has been decorated in a tasteful nautical theme including the rooms.

Being at Fisherman's Wharf it is very centrally located and most attractions are within walking distance. If you wanted to go into the main CBD and Shopping Center of San Francisco The cable car leaves just to the side of the hotel.

This hotel has its own restaurant and I am informed that this restaurant is regarded by locals and visitors as one of the best Chowder Restaurants in the city.
Every night they has a wine tasting 1/2 hour in the lounge around the blazing fire. (at least that did when we were there.)

Staff were friendly and helpful.

We will return and I look forward to doing so.

Room Tip: To get free Internet you need to join there rewards club (free and online)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here last spring while traveling to SF for my sister's graduation. Honestly I hate the Fisherman's Wharf area of SF - it's possibly the worst area of the city, totally devoid of culture within a city that is bursting at the seams with interesting people, places & things to do - but I must say that I thought the Argonaut was delightful! Granted I am never disappointed with Kimpton hotels but it was decorated adorably, the staff was very helpful/polite, and happy hour was great. If I were coming back and needed to be walking distance to North Beach/The Marina, I would absolutely revisit this hotel. Oh and it was also Bay to Breakers weekend & lots of fellow runners were also staying here - great camaraderie!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We swear to the Kimpton hotels best brand ever!

Argonaut Hotel is a short shuttle from SFO or Bart/F Train so simple access.

A lot of the hotels in the are are dates and worn down, the Argonaut it AA++ nice, fresh and cozy. Great door staff and check in staff, simple and fast and always willing to provide upgrades at no cost. Nice warm fireplace on cold SF days and nights and free happy hour beer and wine.

Rooms are great, lots of room and great views of the Bridge/bay

Tons of places to eat with in walking distance, , Trolley access turn around out side your window.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We travelled to San Francisco for spring break with two teens. The Argonaut could not have been in a better location. The rooms are nicely updated, large and clean. We did not have the same experience with the staff as the other reviewers. They did not go out of their way to help. They were helpful if asked but only in the most minimal way. This is very different in our experiences with Kimpton hotels. Usually service is over the top. We would stay here again due to location and condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon. As our cab pulled up to the front door, a doorman was waiting to welcome us (Steve, who was great) and take us into the hotel and introduced us to the front desk staff. Check in took less than five minutes. We had joined the Kimpton program prior to our arrived to get free internet in our room and also received a ten dollar gift card for the mini bar! Our room was 469. Not much of a view - of the mexican restaurant next door - but we were rarely in the room!. Had a large sofa in the living area which was great when we returned, exhausted, to the room. The bathroom was nice too - had shampoo and conditioner in the shower, a hair dryer, lotion, cotton balls and swabs and plenty of towels. The room had a safe, iron and ironing board, robes and slipper socks (to use while you were there) and an umbrella to use while there (which came in handy). There was a fully stocked mini bar and plenty of room in the fridge for our leftovers! There was also a CD player and a CD to listen to. The hotel lobby was very unique, with deck chairs and cushions to complete the nautical theme. There is a light by your door to indicate whether you want your room made up or not. There are no knocks on the door - they just see the light and move on if you want privacy! The hotel is pet friendly and placards on the doors indicated which rooms had pets. We love dogs and had no issues with this. The bed was quite comfy - but had a really large mirror at the foot of it, which has a little unsettling when you got up in the middle of the night. There is a motion light in the entry way that comes on when you up to use the restroom and also the light in the bathroom is a dimmer switch. The only downside - starbucks coffee (which my husband hates) with the coffee maker (also located in the bathroom). A big plus for me is that the closet contains lots of hangers - i had a hanger for everything - even my husband got to use some - which rarely happens! The bathroom also has a large makeup mirror and bath mat. Another thing we really enjoyed was the ability to actually open our window. The weather was quite cool and we enjoyed feeling the breeze at night. There are also ample outlets to plug things in. The hotel offers a hot chocolate hour for kids (we never made it) and a wine hour from 5 - 6 pm every night. This is a great way to sample some California wines. I really, really enjoyed the "hot toddies" which were apple cider, bourbon and whipped cream. I know it doesn't sound all that great, but you have to try it. They offered cider for the kids during the wine hour too, which was nice. Get there a little early if you want a seat - the lobby is rather small and the seats fill up quickly. I recommend the chairs by the fire - a great place to sip your toddy and met fellow travelers. We also used the business center located at the end of the main lobby hallway. There are a couple of computers and a printer that we used to print our boarding passes. There is a fitness center on the second floor (the hotel has four floors) that we looked in but never used. There seemed to be many pieces of equipment and some hula hoops. The location cant be beat - we are older (50's and 60's) and walked everywhere - the cable car turnaround is right next door to the hotel. We walked down to the Alcatraz landing and Ferry Building. The Ferry Building is about a mile, but seems shorter as there is so much to see along the way. Pier 39 is also just a few blocks away - with lots of restaurants and shops and the sea lions. Customer service is a priority here - Steve, the doorman, was especially helpful - offering suggestions on restaurants, helping us get a cab, etc. When we checked out it was April Fool's Day and Blase, who waited on us, said "Did you feel the earthquake last night?" I said "NO!" - quite disappointed that I didn't, and he said "That's because there wasn't one - April Fool's!!!!" This hotel is pretty expensive, but well worth it in my opinion. The other hotels we saw on the Wharf didn't even compare with the Argonaut. I think you will love this place. I would definitely stay here if we return to San Francisco. Also, eat at the Blue Mermaid - the crab and corn chowder was the best i had anywhere on the Wharf - and the calamari was excellent! Breakfast was very good too.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view - but didn't ask for one. We left our room early in the morning and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Horrible service... extremely rude. Absolutely not accomadating to any request we had. We tried to be nice and they did not comply. Not helpful in the slightest bit. I do not recommend this hotel. There are plenty of beautiful places to stay right next door!

Room Tip: helpful tip... DON'T GO
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg P, Manager at Argonaut Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear IreneS_9,

Before I say anything else, please accept my apologies! To think that you left the Argonaut with this impression is a huge disappointment to all of us.

We strive to provide the best service possible but realize there is always room for improvement. Any additional details you could tell me would me most helpful. Please accept my invitation to discuss your experience over a separate email or phone call. As manager I am eager to find out what exactly happened & where improvements are needed.

You can contact me directly at greg.pinetti@argonauthotel.com

-Greg Pinetti AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Argonaut Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argonaut Hotel

Address: 495 Jefferson Street, Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argonaut Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco's most popular destination, the boutique Argonaut Hotel features breathtaking views of the Golden Gate Bridge and Alcatraz Island. This luxury hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, is historically set in a former timber and brick warehouse across from the waterfront. With its exceptional service, its charming style and the adjacent family-friendly Blue Mermaid Chowder House, the Argonaut Hotel is an ideal spot to enjoy San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Argonaut Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Argonaut Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argonaut Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.