We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud A/C” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters San Francisco to your Saves list
Club Quarters San Francisco
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   424 Clay Street, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
san diego
1 review
“Loud A/C”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

The hotel staff was great. We arrived early before 1100 AM and immediately had a room. The room was small more for business but we weren't in it very often. The room was very, very clean and looked remodeled, however ours had a shower only. Great location for sure if you plan on walking alot or going public transpo. Our room's A/C woke us up a few times but if you can stand traffic noise then open the window. They have a really neat water machine at the end of the hallway and a pretty decent pub next door. I reccommend this hotel for those who need to budget somewhat.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    310
    125
    40
    22
See reviews for
61
233
62
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2007

They went out of their way to recommend restaurants within
walking distance of the hotel . We had a family member staying
at a hotel in a city nearby and they made arrangements for them
to and from our hotel. The staff was beyond friendly almost
like family. The food in the restaurant at the hotel was very good.
We will be staying at this hotel in the future. The rooms seem to be smaller than average but was perfect for two people.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Club Quarters, however, be advised that the standard rooms are too small for two people for a stay of more than a few nights. For San Francisco, you can't beat the rates, though, and the rooms, while small, are new and clean. We stayed 5 nights so we took advantage of the laundry room in the basement, which is where the ice and vending machines were located as well.

My wife is disabled and in a wheelchair full time. We found the accessible bathroom to be excellent with a roll-in shower and an ADA toilet with grab bars. Also, the sink was elevated for wheelchair patrons. Strangely, the accessible rooms were located at the far end of the hallways, once you leave the elevator lobby so, if you're traveling with a walker or someone using a cane, beware. In addition, since the room was a too small for two people, we tried to upgrade to a larger room but the only accessible rooms are the standard ones.

The hotel is across the street from the Embarcadero, which harbors shopping such as Banana Republic, Victoria's Secret and other mainstream stores. An ATM is located in the first set of buildings facing the hotel. The hotel does not have an ATM. In addition, there is a Tony Roma's there and a Chevy's, if you're desperate. Otherwise, you can try Schroeder's restaurant, an old German restaurant dating back to 1893, which is a few blocks away on Front Street. Also on Front Street is the Irish bar Harrington's. If you want to venture out, try Scoma's down in Fisherman's Wharf. The prices are too high but it's fun to eat by the water and the food is good.

In closing, the Club Quarters is great for the lone business traveler. Upgrade to the bigger room if you're traveling with two or more people and, if you have disabilities, call in advance to quiz them on the room. Perhaps they have some that are closer to the elevators.

  • Liked — Close proximity to work
  • Disliked — The small rooms for disabled guests.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2007

The Club Quarters gives you a very inexpensive, but still clean and comfortable option in San Francisco's financial district. Picture a corporate dorm--the rooms are a bit smaller than your typical business hotel, but are very clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower is a small alcove off the small bathroom (no tub), but the water pressure was fine and it got the job done.

Other than some doors closing in the hallway, the room was pretty quiet.

The location is convenient to the downtown landmarks--it's about a 25-minute walk to Moscone Center (it's all flat). My conference didn't offer shuttle service directly to Club Quarters, but I was able to catch buses back to nearby hotels. And it's across the street from Le Meriden, so you can get a cab there if you need one.

Parking is around the corner at the Embarcadero Center for about $30 a day--not sure if there are cheaper options in the neighborhood or not.

I didn't check out the attached restaurant, Elephant and Castle, but some local friends had eaten there and said it was pretty good.

Overall, Club Quarters is a nice choice, and well worth the bargin price.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

We went to San Francisco on business and stayed at Club Quarters on Clay Street for 2 nights. We arrived and found our room ready as promised -- clean and well appointed. The rooms are smaller than your run-of-the-mill room, but it felt cozy to me.

The linens were spotless and the pillows were divine. The bath was smaller than most but well laid out with ample shelving/counter space. I really enjoyed the non-tub shower; it was all-tile with silver fixtures and a very adjustable shower head with wonderful water pressure (rare in bay area hotels sometimes). There was also a nice large mirror with great lighting for getting ready.

I know others who have stayed here mentioned that their room's window didn't open, but ours did and it was great to be able to let the bay breeze and watch the bustle on the street below. Maybe just ask the desk clerk if you prefer a room with an operable window?

The small sun deck on the 11th floor had a great view in both day and night, it was an enjoyable place to sit and relax.

  • Liked — Good location and very clean. GREAT PUB & GRILL NEXT DOOR!
  • Disliked — Wished all rooms had fridge & microwave
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

We stayed here for 5 nights in January for around $90 a night. The location is terrific. It is close to several restaurants, 2 wine bars, a movie theatre complex and within short (relatively flat) walking distance to many of the major sites. We avoided the attached restaurant, but walked to other options within 0-3 blocks. Our room was modestly furnished but it emphasized the clean feeling of the space. The free internet access was very convenient as were the various newspapers available in the main floor lounge. We received polite service including the arrangement of transportation to the airport. The hotel is across the street from the Le Meridien, so if you need a taxi or a fancy restaurant, you can catch it there. The walls are thin but we didn't hear much except for the door--2 door rooms are arranged right next to each other in an entry "alcove". We will return on our nexxt visit.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Noise through thin walls
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2007

I usually stay at Club Quarters Embarcadero when visiting San Francisco. I lived in SF for 15 years and so know the city well and like the location, which is downtown. Very safe, clean and convenient. But, ready yourself for it being quiet (not festive) at night. (Another thing I like about it.) However, it is near BART transport and an easy walk to North Beach and Union Square. The rooms are very comfortable, not fancy but have everything you need and well appointed. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They have free computer access and coffee in the sitting room, with CNN on the TV. The only black mark is the restaurant/bar. Just don't go there - bad food, too expensive, poor service. Use their in-room fridge and buy breakfast in advance, using the in-room coffee maker. Also, get their advance rate by booking early, which I usually get at around $110 per night, incredible for SF.

  • Liked — Location, cost, good staff, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Quarters San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters San Francisco

Address: 424 Clay Street, San Francisco, CA 94111
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#37 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Quarters San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service club-like hotel with 346 rooms located in the center of the prime business district and a short distance from Embarcadero center, the city’s most prestigious office complex, with shopping, movies, and restaurants. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping, and entertainment. A short walk to Market Street and most downtown points of interest, such as Chinatown, Union Square and North Beach. Convenient to the cable car system and a brief ride to Fisherman's Wharf, featuring the Elephant and Castle Pub and Restaurant with both a full American menu as well as English pub food at the bar. Club Quarters is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. Club Quarters provide:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 5 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Quarters San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Quarters San Francisco
Club Quarters Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Quarters San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.