We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of this hotel if you book via PRICELINE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco to your Saves list
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   424 Clay Street, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beware of this hotel if you book via PRICELINE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I got the 'small' room. I booked at the last minute... my bad. So, all I can review is the room I got. I understand that it is night and day from the larger, more suite like rooms.

The small rooms... SUCK. They are dark with low ceilings, a stall shower, 12 channels on the tv, the AC doesn't allow it to get cooler than 68 degrees, the communal 'closets' in the hallways that stock extra supplies had only ironing boards and empty water bottles (no pillows, toiletries, etc).

I asked (begged) at the front desk for an upgrade. Not a free one, of course. I was even willing to pay MORE than the requested $25 but apparently the hotel was BOOKED SOLID... NOT. I called down to the front desk (per their advice) four times during my stay to see if there were any larger rooms available. No. However, the hotel was NOT booked. From the rooftop deck you could see lots of empty (interior) rooms that were vacant.. all night.

One nice thing was the rooftop deck. The door indicates it closes at 11pm but we were up there well passed 2am and it was open. Nice views up there and it helps you feel less like you're in a closet.

This is not a luxury hotel. This is like an 'extended stay' hotel for business people. Lots of airline employees stay here. I learned my lesson on Priceline. Do NOT bid over $80 for a 3.5 star hotel in the financial district. You WILL get this hotel and you WILL get a 'small' room that is apparently UN-upgradable. I paid over $100. *dislike*

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whisk-Chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dolgeville, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Perfect location. Is centrally located. Staff very friendly and a helpful. Rooms were great and quiet. Coffee and extras in lobby. Free laundry which included detergent. Fitness room. Close to transportation around San Francisco. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My company has a membership with Club Quarters and I was put up here in San Francisco. I was pleased with the amenities and customer service. The rooms are small but not really that much of a concern as I travel alone. The Wi-Fi signal is great and free. Tthe location is perfect for my needs, located in the financial district. They have free bottled water and free snacks in the lobby.

The pub attached is casual and moderately priced. They also have other restaurants that you can have orders delivered to your room.

It's close to the Ferry Building at Pier One where there is a great farmers market and some incredible burgers at "G''s.

Room Tip: There is a park just off Clay street near the hotel that has a flock of Green Parrots that roost the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersonzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a small place with small rooms, however is very comfortable and well maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful, and very knowledgable about the city and the things to do as well as the best way to get around. I enjoyed my stay and most defiantly will be back, on pleasure as well as business. The location is very convenient to all the attractions in the city, all though it is in the heart of the financial district I did not feel like I was in a ghost town after 5 P.M. Two thumbs up !

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Flyboydtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Fabulous location, excellent hospitality, professional staff. Special thanks to Lo for helping with our travel adjustments. I would recommend this hotel for both first-time, and frequent visitors to San Francisco, the prime location works well if you don't have car access.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awesomepilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a great hotel. As an airline pilot, I stay in so many hotels over the year they all begin to look the same. This one was the exception. The staff at the front desk, especially Lo, were so helpful and friendly. The hotel is located right near Columbus street - great restaurants. It has a membership at a big health club for $5. There are free coffee and snacks in the lobby. The business center has free computers to use. The hotel restaurant is a pub. Although I'm not sure of the price (my company pays for the room), my room and all the amenities were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dake V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We got a discounted rate for the Club Quarters San Francisco via Hotwire and stayed here for two nights. The room was small but tidy and comfortable, and we enjoyed our spoils from the Embarcadero Farmers Market while sitting in the downstairs common area. Nice touches included fill-your-own bottled water on each floor. A few negatives prevent me from giving a higher rating. First, checkin took longer than anticipated, as the front desk could not locate our Hotwire reservation. Second, the elevators in this older building were slow-moving and frequently congested. Finally, while the hotel is a short walk to the Embarcadero, its location in the Financial District makes parking a bear. We ended up paying, in both money and time spent feeding the meter, significantly more than expected to have a car in this heavily ticketed area with few alternatives; the garage across the street charges $32 a night with no in-and-out privileges. For a last-minute booking, this is a good choice, but factor in the cost and hassle of parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,863 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#54 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#6 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,511 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#20 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,618 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#63 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco

Address: 424 Clay Street, San Francisco, CA 94111
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#50 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, San Francisco provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 346 rooms located in the center of the prime business district and a short distance from Embarcadero Center, the city's most prestigious office complex, with shopping, movies, and restaurants. The hotel is minutes to fine dining, shopping, and entertainment. A short walk to Market Street and most downtown points of interest, such as Chinatown, Union Square and North Beach. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 5 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 100 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID• Laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Quarters San Francisco
Club Quarters Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing