We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location for sightseeing in San Fran.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2322 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #146 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Orlando
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value and location for sightseeing in San Fran.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here two nights. It was pretty nice. The price was good. It was conviently located for some of the bus routes. It felt like a safe area. Only down sides was that the light above the sink would only stay on the motion activated mode which meant sometimes you'd be there brushing your teeth and the light would go off on you. We let the front desk know, hopefully they fixed it. The other thing was that the front desk person wasn't very helpful when we asked about how to get places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    73
    60
    21
    44
See reviews for
61
80
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and was perfect for our needs for the very reasonable rate we paid - a comfy clean bed and a good hot shower. We arrived early and we're given a room straight away on the top floor it had 2 queen size beds which were very comfy and had clean fresh linen the bathroom was small but had lots of clean towels. There were also 2 sinks and in the actual room and a small fridge. The continental breakfast consisted of bread, muffins, apples and oranges, butter and jam and coffee, tea or hot chocolate and 3 kinds of juice, it was sufficient to get you started for the day. Both reception staff we saw were very helpful with information on which buses to take to get you around and when we walked out in the same area we felt quite safe unlike we did when we visited other area's of San Francisco. Chestnut Street which was about a 5 minute walk had several nice restaurant's and I would suggest Mels Diner which was just up Lombard Street for food it was brilliant, old style juke box on the counter and a 50's ambience they had excellent pumpkin pie.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights.
We booked this hotel for its location and free parking the hotel offers in there price.

We arrived at the hotel early, we didnt expect to get checked into our room, however when we returned at 3.30 and we're giving our room key we made our way to the room to find housekeeping still cleaning the room. We were allowed to leave our luggage as we were staying on the third floor and didn't want to have the trek down to our car.

The staff at the hotel are a mix of being very helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly to just ok! Communication with staff needs to be improved.
We found our room to be unclean, with dirty carpets, drawers missing from the t.v unit, the room was dark and had a funny smell. I reported our concerns and staff said they would speak to the manager and try and move us. we were advised to return to reception the next day to check if there was an alternative room available.
We returned to reception the following day as advised to ask if there was an alternative room available. The staff on duty knew nothing about this. I explained the situation and our concerns again, I was advised they would contact me, although I never heard nothing from staff.
We decided to enjoy the sights of the city and not make a big deal of it due to being there for three days.

As other reviewers have commented the breakfast area is very small with limited choice, the coffee machine broke down our first morning so decided to give a miss the rest of our stay.
The breakfast area and lobby are reasonably clean, there is also access to a computer and printer.
There is a coffee shop next door to the hotel that sells a nice selection of coffees, teas and omelettes etc.

The location of the hotel is pretty centrally located and appeared reasonably safe. If you walk along to chestnut street( about 150 yards) and take bus 30 Stockton, this takes you down to the bay area. The cost of this is two dollars and you can return for free within 2 half hours.

I hope to return to the city one day as fell in love with it, however we won't stay in this hotel or ever stay in a best value inn.
San Francisco is a charming city, also the second most expensive in the USA and my opinion it's worth increasing your budget to return from your day of sight seeing to comfortable and clean surroundings.

Room Tip: Increase your budget and Stay at another hotel. This hotel is only somewhere to put your head down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was the worst hotel we stayed in during our almost 5 weeks in the USA. The room was tiny, the Capet was dirty and the room stunk of cigarette smoke. The front desk staff advised they would take a look a thist for us when we raised it on our first morning, but we ended up buying room freshner and sprayed it constantly. After reading the reviews on this site we did not get the breakfast in the hotel but went across the road to iHop. The breakfast area like reception and very part of this hotel was tiny. There was limited parking and we left our car and used the local buses and trolleys so we did not lose our car space. The guy behined the desk in the afternoons was helpful and advised us about the bus to ge to fishermans wharf. Had we not used Book It and not able to get a rend we would have gone elsewhere. I would not stay here again or recommend this hotel, to anyone. I think it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Off road parking-just! Complimentary breakfast-toast, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee machine didn't work. Room reasonably cleanish-at least I slept in it! Fridge-small + kick the door to close! Not a good position to be walking back to in the dark. Near the 15 stop on the Hop On Hop Off Bus - time it correctly though, the last loop starts from Fisherman's Wharf at 6.00pm. If returning in the dark, get a taxi. In daylight, walk along the water's edge-takes about 40mins to Fisherman's Wharf. Free WiFi but spasmodic. Staff helpful in printing off some vital documents for us.
OK for one night but wouldn't have liked longer.........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort erie, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nothing but good things to say about our stay here. The young gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant during our check in and then came outside to assist as I backed into a corner parking spot. The next morning there was someone new at the front desk and later I saw him helping someone with parking. Excellent service. The room we had with a king was very clean, that includes the sheets. Newly refurbished bathroom and great shower. Yes the main road out front was loud but we drowned that out with a cool “white noise” app. Yes I’d go there again, location was perfect for touring as well as restaurants and coffee shops over on Chestnut Street.

Room Tip: Okay so bring some ear plugs due to the noise from main road that this hotel is located on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here because it was reasonably priced and we figured we didn't need anything fancy just to sleep in SF. Big mistake. The bed linens and the bathroom were clean enough, but just barely. The bathroom was cramped and I kept hitting my head on the shelf above the sink while I was washing my face. The room was dark, the bed not comfortable, and there were dirty fingerprints all over the door. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything going on in neighboring rooms and outside. The other visitors were noisy at late hours, and on our last night we were woken up by people yelling and a car peeling out of the parking lot at 1am. I don't know how the breakfast was, since it began so late we were gone long before it even started.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate

Address: 2322 Lombard Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn - Golden Gate prides itself in personalized service and has 42 quaint & charming rooms with individually operated heating and air-conditioning units, our hotel is 100% Non-smoking rooms and corridors, smoking only allowed in the designated area, we offer a Lite Complimentary Breakfast each morning from 7-10am (muffin, coffee and juice), free limited parking, wireless wi-fi throughout each room and public area available to all guests. Come and enjoy our new Spa rooms today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Agoda, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Golden Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.