We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B near the Ocean and Golden Gate Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
611 42nd Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94121 (The Richmond)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 70 San Francisco B&B and Inns
ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great B&B near the Ocean and Golden Gate Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The B&B is wonderfully located close to Golden Gate Park, the Ocean, Cliff House, and just blocks from public transportation. We did have a rental car and did not have any issues with parking. We used buses for a few days to get into and around the city - it was pretty easy! Joanne is a gracious host and provides a great variety for breakfast. We had a suite which had 2 adjoining rooms and a private bath for a very reasonable rate. The rooms had an Ocean View. It was a wonderful stay and a very homey place to come back to after a long day exploring the city! Thank you Joanne!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City, Florida, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in late October our hostess and accommodations were wonderful. We particularly loved our room with the view of the ocean.
Public transportation is very accessible, but if you have a car the parking can be a challenge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is perfect place for a romantic getaway. I took my wife there for her surprise b-day gift. The host was wonderful and the Ocean View Room is awesome with great views of the ocean. Looking forward staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Either room is good but if you want the View of the Ocean, take the Ocean View Room which also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The house is in a quiet residential neighborhood, an easy walk from the bus line. We parked our car on the street for free (more about that later) and took the bus everywhere, which was easy and convenient.
The decor is victorian, and is a beautiful collection of historical pieces, including some portraits of Joanne's ancestors. We took advantage of Joanne's selection of guide books and historical books about the area, and one evening we enjoyed one of her SF-related movies on the VCR that was available in our room.
Each morning, Joanne left out a wide array of breakfast foods, including homemade granola and some delicious pastries. In most B&Bs, the host cooks breakfast, but this was a fine way to do it, and allowed us total flexibility in what we ate and when we had breakfast.
Our only problem was that apparently we received a parking ticket while parked on the street, due to street cleaning. We did not see any ticket, but were informed by the SF authorities a few months later, and by that time they had added late fees. The rental car company also added its own fee, so the parking actually ended up costing us $150. It would have been very helpful if the B&B had provided information and warnings about the street cleaning, so we could have moved our car to the other side of the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

If you are in San Francisco, consider to stay in this Bed and Breakfast. Close to the Ocean in a nice neighbourhood. Joanne is a very nice host. The Rooms are very clean. We travelled with another couple. Together we occupied the both rooms of this Bed and Breakfast. But we get more. We get a complete appartment with a kitchen, a sitting room and a room, in which ( an excellent) breakfast was served. Parking is free ( many places available in front of the Bed and Brakfast). It is by car a short drive to the Golden Gate Bridge as well as to other sight seeing points in San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at Ocean B&B Sept 2011. I would describe Ocean Beach B&B as traditional Bed and Breakfast accommodation and there are two rooms available. During our visit we stayed in both rooms, the first room has a bed, TV and wardrobe and a bathroom across the hall, the other more expensive room has a larger living space with an en-suite, living room and bedroom (including sea view). Both rooms are great but if you can stay in the sea view room it is especially nice.

Located in the area of Richmond, on the west coast of San Francisco, a short walk away from the excellent Ocean Beach and Cliff House. We found the accommodation extremely comfortable, clean and it was in a nice and quiet residential location. Joanne was most welcoming and friendly, we found the breakfasts, which consisted of cereal, eggs, pastries, cheeses, fruit, yogurts as generous and tasty. The homemade cookies were also delicious! Ocean B&B is around 30-40 mins away from Union Square on the 38 bus along Geary Street, this journey was fine for us. The buses are regular well into the evening and affordable (get the Passport if you are staying for a few days).

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Nice and quiet location. easy road side parking. reasonal rate in SF. great ocean view from guest room( foggy in morning). continental breakfast with many choices(cereals, warm danish, fresh fruits, eggs....). We really really enjoyed our stay and highly recommented.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast

Address: 611 42nd Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94121
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Richmond
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Bed and Breakfast accommodations with ocean views, within blocks of the Pacific Ocean, Golden Gate Park and the Cliff House in San Francisco, California - Ocean Beach Bed & Breakfast, San Francisco. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Hotel San Francisco
Ocean Beach b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.