We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown to your Saves list
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this place at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

The positives:
1) Other cool travelers that we met on the arranged tours & nights in the lounge
2) Hotel-like facilities
3) (free) Bagels & orange juice for breakfast

The negatives
1) Terrible staff. Rude, don't give a crap, have no idea that the travelers pay their wages rubbish staff. When travelling, you want to feel welcome, it was far from this here.
2) Cleanliness - or lack of! Stains on my mattress - yuck
3) WiFi - 90% of the time didn't work. I'm sorry, but working WiFi is a must for a traveller these days.
4) Hostel lacked in activities

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    249
    93
    18
    17
See reviews for
22
131
124
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

They change wifi and it is not possible to get IP address there now. Front Desk lady send me to Starbucks. If you really need internet in your room, find different place for accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

The best HI hostel I stayed in ( & I stayed in 5 across US - a close second is the one in Santa Monica). Clean, great location, fabulously helpful & knowledgeable guys.

Only fly in the ointment - they close the cafeteria at 10pm. I couldnt fathom the reason - I would often return after a day trip or long day exploring the city only around 9pm & would have to rush to have dinner. I wish they would atleast delay it a bit to say 11pm. Also, the internet doesnt work inside rooms for some reason!

But anyway, I would stay nowhere else if I return to SF.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Our first stop on our round the world trip, and we were not disappointed.
Great location, really accessible to a lot of attractions, either by walking or tram.
The rooms had recently been decorated when we arrived, and they were really nice and clean.
Breakfast was really nice, and the staff were very helpful and friendly, and recommended us some good places to go. If you're a single traveller there is always events going on every day to meet new people.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

In the heart of San Fran you cant really go wrong. We stayed in a double ensuite and it was comfortable and warm, the street noise was quite loud but then you are in the city and they do provide earplugs. They offer a good breakfast selection - bagels, toast and fruit. Internet was really annoying as it constantly stopped working or was very slow. When I explained this to the female staff they didnt really know what to do, but one of the guys (Matt?) was really rude to me and made me feel stupid about it....he was very arrogant and I just tried to avoid him when I could.

It was a quite hostel and I felt that nobody made an effort to speak to oneanother...but then I was in a private so maybe thats why.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Dorms room are really ok. Internet works. Sheets are clean. The kitchen is clean and the breakfast is good (apples, bagels, creamcheese, bread, juice, coffee, jam...toasters, mw, and dishes).
Staff was kind! The price is fine for the service you get.

I particularly enjoyed being so close from Union Square and the heart of the city. Everything is by a walking distence.
i'm heading to SF soon, no more room available unfortunatly...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Fabulous hostel! Great location, SUPER CLEAN, really comfy beds, lovely staff and great facilities. What more can you ask for??

A lot of people have commented on the street noise (you're staying in a downtown hostel... what do you expect???), but I had no problem at all. I found the beds to be extremely comfortable and I slept very well. Rooms don't have heating so it was a little chilly but nothing an extra top couldn't fix.

Free breakfast was awesome! Free WIFI, great chill out area, spacious rooms (although they're not nearly as modern as the photos make them out to be...) and unbelieveably clean. Great value for money. Did I mention how clean this place is?? Would def stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Address: 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.