We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel with character!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown to your Saves list
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Puerto Cortes, Honduras
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hostel with character!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Located in downtown San Francisco, this hostel is definitely a gem for backpackers. For the price that you pay, you'll get a cozy and comfortable hostel situated in the heart of San Francisco. There's plenty of restaurants and bars around the corner and it's near Union Square and Powell St. They provide free breakfast in the morning, beautiful and fully furnished kitchen. Comfortable and cozy hang out area in the lounge, theater room for watching movies, reading rooms, laundry, etc. The rooms are clean but it can be noise sometimes(if your room is facing the street). All in all, I was satisfied with this hostel and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street, rooms in the upper floor (3,4) tends to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
From the bottom of my heart, I hope you're a professional blogger! Thank you tremendously for the detailed account of your stay at our hostel. I look forward to you visiting us again in the near future. As a whole, we'd love to give you something more to write about.

From San Francisco with love, HI-SF Downtown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    241
    91
    18
    18
See reviews for
21
128
119
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed at the HI Downtown in Early Aug 2014. The location of the hostel is great, just around the corner from Union square and Powell st, which are the central locations. On the other hand, the hostel is surrounded by homeless people which can be a bit intimidating, and a walk away from the town centre takes you to an area filled with homeless and alcoholics!
We had a private room for 3 people, with a shared bathroom. The toilet and shower are separate, and not a multiple block of showers like we imagined, thank god!
The room was clean and tidy but small, and the toilet and shower were also clean.
The staff were fine and friendly, although a list of rules did get reeled off when we signed in and we had to sign a piece of paper to agree to them. This included no food or drink in the rooms. This seemed a bit daft seeing as we had a private room. I could understand it in the dorms, but not so much in the private room. It meant we couldn't pick up a sandwich on the way home as we couldn't eat it in our own private space. Also, there is a vending machine in the hostel, but if we used it, we had to hang around at the machine drinking our drinks. There was also a noise rule, which is seems some people didn't care about as people kept us awake in the early hours on the morning.
Overall, you cannot fault the value for money and the location, and we were happy with these...it would've cost us 2 or 3 times as much to stay in a hotel nearby, and mostly we did not spend a lot of time in the room as there was so much to see and do in San Francisco. It would've been nice in the hostel had a bar though to relax after a busy day sightseeing.
There are great diners nearby just outside the entrance!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hostel was situation in a great location, close to what I feel the best part of San Fran.

Pros
- Doors don't slam!
- Friendly staff
- Free breakfast!!
- Great wifi
- Large bathrooms

Cons
- In the four person dorm there wasn't a lot of floor space to put my suitcase
- No charging outlets for top bunks
- The lift took forever

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My partner and i just stayed 3 nights in this hostel and were very impressed- central location, clean, friendly and helpful staff, and the breakfasts could not be faulted. Would recommend this hostel to any travellers wanting a good place in central San Fran!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We got a private room with a private bathroom. Cute, clean, modern looking room. Everything we needed was there. The shower didn't drain however which was slightly gross. It was also noisy as hell due to the traffic and construction in Union Square.

Bottom line, if you are a traveller, this place was great. Wifi, laundry, free breakfast, unreal location, great resting areas with wifi, awesome activities every night, just very cool. Great for students, travellers, and people who don't mind having a story or two to tell.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We're just coming to the end of a four night stay here.

Positives:
Great location close to all transport links
Good facilities in the room we had an ensuite, plenty of hot water and individual charging points/ reading lights, a sink in our room
Good breakfast - bagels, cream cheese, tea, coffee, fruit, porridge available 7-10am
Clean and well maintained communal areas, a good kitchen with utensils available.
Very knowledgable and friendly staff on the desk who recommended places to visit and how to get around the city
Great value

Overall a great stay exactly what we hoped for- I'd struggle to make even any criticisms although fruit did run out quite early on in the breakfast slot.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Perfect located, first you thought it is expensive, but when you get in, it's totally worth it. Clean, well organized, plenty of services. At the marathon day, they allowed me to came back to pick up my stuff and take a shower.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Address: 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.