We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hostel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent hostel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite a nice hostel with a good location. I stayed here for 4 nights in June 2014. The rooms were quite spacious and had their own bathrooms which was handy. The staff were friendly and helpful when we asked them about various things. It was a close walk to quite a few bars, about 40 mins walk back from Fisherman's Wharf, can't really argue with what we got value wise.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    200
    73
    16
    16
See reviews for
19
106
99
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

With two other adults and six 17-year-olds in tow as a chaperone for a Girl Scout trip, I was really pleasantly surprised at the location and quality of this hostel. Too often in the US hostels are in a sketchy area, but this one is in a safe area, near high-end hotels. Bathrooms are clean, showers are fine, but wear flipflops. Kitchen is awesome. My 4-person room was near the stairs but I never heard noise. I had public roommates and they were all considerate and interesting.

The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, and hugs to the one who found my scarf when I apparently put it in the laundry with my towel at checkout.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here 5 days, slept in 4 bed dorm w own bathroom which was nice. The street noise was quite loud but got used to it very quickly, actually it bothered only at first night. Breakfast good, also had once a common pasta dinner there, good too. Location was great, only couple minutes to Union square and Bart station etc. All house was spotless. Could stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Location, location, location, it's one of the best pro's for the hostel.

Furthermore, the hostel is one of the better options in SF if you want to sleep relatively cheap. Where other cheap hotels don't offer you thing else as a place to sleep. This hostel offers a good room, with 'private baths' if you book a full 4 person dorm. It has enough room to chill and drink coffee, a theatre to watch a movie.
The personel was also really friendly and helped with the small holiday problems we had, like looking for a good place eat.
The beds were squeaky and there is a lot of noise in the rooms from the corridors and from the streets. The upside there was more than enough space in the rooms to place your stuff.

Room Tip: If you're with 3 or 4 friends you're better of with having the full 4 person dorm because yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The staff are really friendly and helpful, running activities everyday. They provide free breakfast (yay!) and mostly free activities. The rooms are good size and in a great location. The hostel allows you to book a lot of stuff at a discount.
Clean place, looked after and well run. No complaints at all. I had a great time and met great people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
From here to the moon, thank you kindly for your lovely review. We're incredibly happy we were able to offer you a truly San Francisco experience full of fun and free activities! We look forward to having you be apart of our (temporary) family again in the future! Love, HI-SF Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hostel is one of the best I've stayed at. I stayed in room 505 - a four bed dorm with ensuite and everything went smoothly. Can't beat the location, the breaky, the rooms were cleaned daily. Fresh sheets and you even get a complimentary towel. Nice community here too, and the wifi works great in most areas.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISFDT, Guest Relations Manager at Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
WOW! Thank you kindly for such a positive review of our location. Please know that your usage of the word "breaky" genuinely brought a smile to my face. I hope the next time you're in San Francisco you'll join us for another pleasant stay and complimentary breaky.

With hugs and our hearts, HI-San Francisco Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

As hostels go, I'd put this one about mid-table. Clean, well run and pretty good staff. Although I did take exception to the cleaner persistently banging on the toilet door to clean it until I came out. Very odd! Also find the was basin in the room very strange, it disturbs everyone in the room as there isn't one in the bathroom??? Strange idea. Looked like plenty of activities are organised and was pleased that the age-range of guests was very wide. Always find that a sign of a good hostel.

Like everything in life, you get what you pay for and I although there is traffic noise, I'm a light sleeper and it didn't bother me. It's in very easy walking distance of everywhere, including Fisherman's Wharf (if you have the stamina for the hills!) & the cable car is just a five minute walk away,

Overall pretty good. Not on a par with the YHA Sydney Central (even though this one's same price), but would stay again when in San Fran.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Address: 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Specialty lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.