We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Frans best hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown to your Saves list
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown
312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“San Frans best hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

awesome hostel in great location with facilities that compare with a hotel. we stayed in a private room, which was great value when compared to San Frans hotel prices. is the model which all other hostels should base their service on.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    232
    83
    17
    17
See reviews for
21
126
114
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hostel is in a great location, a couple of blocks away from main square. The staff were helpful with directions and things to do although sometimes in felt like we were an inconvenience! The room itself was basic, bunk beds, chair, table and sink. Although we were close to the bathroom we were also above the stairs which is where the earplugs provided at the front desk came in very handy! Breakfast was good, the bagels they brought in were very tasty, Especially the blueberry. For the price this hostel is worth it, just remember to bring the earplugs :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I booked a dorm bed in a female dorm. I needed to be in the city for an early appointment. The location is great, very central. There is a loading zone in front so I could check in quick and they directed me to a close parking garage. The room was nice and had a en-suite bath. The beds were fine and sheets clean. You make up your bed yourself and bring the linens down when you check out...this is normal in dorm rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is a great option for staying in the city. I will probably stay again.

Room Tip: Book early through the Hostelling International website and get a membership card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked a private room with a bathroom. It was very nice, comfortable, everything clean. Nicer than some hotels I've stayed at, but then it cost $110 too, no super cheap but for SF downtown, pretty good. Free coffee was really good, and you get access to the big kitchen so you can cook/prepare meals if you like. Overall the place was very nice, friendly polite people. I'd stay there again for sure. We didn't do the shared room and bath but that is a lot cheaper... might try that next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Location of the HI San Fran was perfect. Easy to get around and lots of things to do and see. The staff were very friendly and felt very safe staying there. Rooms were reasonable - bunk bed and sink. Was only there for a couple days with my friend so no problems. Wish I had stayed longer as 2 days was just not enough!! SF is a beautiful place to visit. I happened to catch Ed Sheeran live at Golden Gate Park (for free!) so make sure you see if there are any events happening there while you're visiting :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good location, very near everything from the cable car, to a great mall and some nice restaurants and fast food...but the staff was so unaccommodating. I understand that it is very hard to be always nice and perky, but I guess if you can't provide adequate customer service, you shouldn't be working with customers, luckily the rest of our stay the rude one was not there and was replaced by someone much friendlier, but that initial experience really made me decide to write this one off! And since it is part hostel, you get a lot of noise from the other people staying, and the beds are like the ones you would expect in prison!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about HI San Francisco Downtown. The room was clean, tidy and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. Very decently priced. Everything you could want was within only a few minutes walk: public transport, restaurants, shopping.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown

Address: 312 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the city, just one block from Union Square and steps from Chinatown and the cable cars! HI-San Francisco Downtown is close to the best cafes, clubs, theaters, and shopping. You'll love our new look, low prices, and four-bed dorms (coed dorms range from 4-8 beds). Free continental breakfast, free WiFi, DSL Internet, guest kitchen, free linens and towels, daily housekeeping, free/low-cost daily activities and tours, 24-hour reception, and no curfews, chores, or lockouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International- San Francisco/ Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.