We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best donuts I've ever had. Ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop

Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop
1621 Polk St, San Francisco, CA (Nob Hill)
1-415-776-3141
Improve this listing
Ranked #348 of 5,102 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries, Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best donuts I've ever had. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My husband and I went to Bob's twice while visiting San Francisco, both times late at night. They had apple fritters straight out of the fryer that were amazingly fresh and delicious. Much fresher and cheaper than the fancy donut places popping up in Chicago. They also make giant donuts that are literally bigger than your head. Kind of like a bundt cake. We foolishly ordered one the second night and they even gave us extra chocolate frosting. The stomachache was worth it! Can't wait to go back on our next trip to San Fran!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    12
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The Only good part of my trip to San Fransisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Delicious Buttery Sweet and fresh homemade donuts. Although the place could use a scrubbing, I found the doughnuts to be absolutely excellent. I got the cinammon and sugar donuts and i loved them.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
519 helpful votes 519 helpful votes
“These Donuts Are a Hole in One!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

While in San Francisco we regularly checked the internet for recommended places to eat and to visit. For breakfast one morning we stopped at Bob's Donuts. It's not a very impressive looking little shop, but it has the BEST DONUTS EVER! The lady at the counter was very patient with our grandsons as they made their selections, which is not easy with all the delicious varieties to choose from. With a great cup of coffee, you can't beat a Bob's Donut anytime of the day. Don't miss it if you're in San Francisco.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent donuts!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Best donuts in San Francisco! All of the donuts that we tried were wonderful! They have a slight crunch to them, then they are soft and delicious. The cinnamon sugar cake donuts were my favorit. If you're in the area, you have to try Bob's!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Donut Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The US has been overtaken with bland cardboard donut chains. Places like Bob's are few and far between. I don't live in SF, but it is the one spot that I consistantly hit every time I am in town. Just an astounding plethora of donut goodness.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Donuts & Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.