We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Presidio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at the Presidio to your Saves list
Inn at the Presidio
42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Historic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First trip to San Francisco over Christmas week. This hotel is exceeding my expectations. We are in a quiet forested historic part of the city known as the Presidio. The two room suite is huge. Wonderful quiet refuge. It's winter so we wake up surrounded by fog but it gets up in the 60s in the afternoon. Included continental breakfast fills you up and gets you ready to go out sightseeing. Wine and cheese reception in the evening takes the place of dinner. There are books in the room that you can curl up with in the evening. All this luxury doesn't come cheap, but it's worth it. To top it off we can see the Golden Gate Bridge from our window.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
112
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After booking a downtown hotel I stumbled across this gem thanks to Tripadvisor. Huge comfortable room, great staff, wonderful setting, historic building. We sat for hours at the outdoor firepit on a chilly night. We will return. Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms: Super! Service: super! Breakfast: Super! Surroundings: Super!
This is a great place to stay, Close to the city, but in a very relaxed and nice area. Prices are steap, but so worth it. Enjoyed every minute of our stay. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landrum, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

HAving never been to San Fran, we took my friends' high recommendation to stay at the Inn at the Presidio. Best tip EVER! We got there when the Blue Angels were flying overhead, there was a food truck rodeo going on across from our room and Traci des Jardins had just opened up Arguello and The Commissary restaurants( and she was at breakfast the next morning,had to resist the urge to gush over our meal the night before) The service, the food, the rooms, the property, all perfection. Wish I could live there

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, dc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

The Inn did not disappoint. Our room/suite was spacious and comfortable, with an excellent bed and a balcony with rocking chairs. Happy hour and continental breakfast were good. Don't expect great views from the inn, but fabulous views are nearby. You are apart from the city, but very close to it, and they offer car service at a reasonable price. We were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Found this place on TripAdvisor and thrilled we did!! My first thought is that we should have had a driver from the Inn come pick us up from the airport. I read that taxis were confused so hired another car service who had never been here either. If someone else picks you up, make sure they enter 42 Moraga AVENUE, not Street, into the GPS. After we arrived we needed a driver and they have a lovely group of cars and drivers...use them. We loved the location, the scenery, the peacefulness, the history, the bikes you can borrow and the suggestions from the concierge. We only stayed one night because our next hotel, The Fairmont - a downtown hotel, was full on our first night. In hindsight, we wish we would have stayed here all 3 nights and used their car service to take us back and forth into the city, which is a quick drive. After we arrived, we walked around to the various restaurants, but decided on the pizza delivery the concierge recommended. The Presidio Pizza Company was excellent and had the most interesting bruschetta I had ever eaten. I don't know if the room had AC or heating because when we felt warm we opened up the window in the bedroom and cracked the door to the 2nd floor balcony for a perfect cross breeze. This place was awesome.

Room Tip: I read to get the 3rd floor for the view, but they were full. However, the 2nd floor, balcony room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Inn at the Presidio. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Always around if we needed something and were always kind, sincere, and willing to do anything that you needed help with or done. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. I loved how the character of the time when the building was built was there but with modern amenities. The continental breakfast was wonderful too! Very delicious! :) I also loved the location. My family and I were able to enjoy the park at the Presidio, walking to the surrounding buildings, the YMCA, and even walked to the Palace of Fine Arts. Lovely places to walk and explore! You will not be disappointed if you stay here! Thank you staff at the Inn at the Presidio! We appreciated all of your help and hospitality! Can't wait to return someday! :)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Presidio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.