We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short a stay at this wonderful property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Presidio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at the Presidio to your Saves list
Inn at the Presidio
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kansas city
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Too short a stay at this wonderful property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed a single night at this oasis on the edge of SF.

Property had a historic feel, and nicely recreated the aura of the Presidio. Queen bed rooms were sufficiently large, tastefully furnished and reasonably quiet.

Evening reception was outstanding. We appreciated the fact that the staff didn't remove the cheese/wine immediately at the conclusion of the reception. Warm cookies were a nice touch also.

Concierge couldn't have been easier to work with or more helpful.

Can't wait to return. This will be our go to property whenever we travel to SF.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    34
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
129
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Have you ever had such a good experience that you almost hated to let the rest of the traveling world in on it? When the word gets out, this inn will be booked out for months! I was recommended to try the Inn at the Presidio by a client-friend as it was close to their offices. The web site looked good, and the rates are reasonable for San Francisco, but traveling a good bit you know how some site photos can be deceptive.... I arrived after a huge flight delay and well into the evening. Brett checked me in, and helped to find a local restaurant on the Presidio. the Suite was perfectly appointed - very straight forward interior design. Having a pile of coffee table books on the Presidio and SF was a great touch. Unlike some restored or reused historic structures where all the interior finishes are stripped away, this building has many of the original trim elements and wonderful operating windows!

The deal closer has to be how wonderfully quiet the Presidio is! Windows open, the smell of Eucalyptus trees, the breeze made for a great sleep. Of course bed linens, towels and bath products are top of the line, making for a stay that truly pampers.

The staff was very attentive, helping me to find a FedEx package, and organizing transportation. This is a nice plus in a busy city.

I've stayed in a number of hotels and Inns in the area over the years and this Inn is now at the top of my list - to the point, I'll change my travel dates to stay here!

Room Tip: Suite rooms are larger than usual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

So pleased in every way! From the minute we arrived at this beautiful location inside the Presidio, we were wowed. Brett was great (charming and kind) at check-in and we were in our gorgeous suite-style room in less then 10 minutes. Drawn to the fire pit on the patio, we were offered cozy blankets as we headed out to enjoy their fantastic deck rockers around the fire. Before we headed off to bed we wandered around and enjoyed the fantastically preserved architecture. The chandeliers were amazing! So much history! The rooms were beautiful appointed and we had everything we could have wanted for a hotel stay (great room with incredible view, living room/sitting area, mini bar, coffee maker, tv in each room, comfortable mattress, hair dryer, robes, slippers, continental breakfast with hot oatmeal, etc.). Oh and great customer service (5-star)!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Inn at the Presidio twice so far and intend to make it our go to place when we want to spend the night in San Francisco. Although we live a little less than an hour's drive from San Francisco we find this location not only convenient (even though it is not in the downtown area) but also close to great shopping/eating areas like Union Street and Chestnut Street The Presidio itself is a fantastic place for walking, hiking, and biking. There is the Walt Disney Museum within walking distance from the Inn. Many of the buildings on the Presidio date back to WW II (and older) and there is a history museum of the Presidio located right next to the Walt Disney Museum. Driving around the Presidio offers breathtaking views of the Golden Gate and the City of San Francisco. Enough on the location.

The Inn has rooms with and without fireplaces. The Inn and each room is decorated to reflect the time that the inn was built. Rooms are clean, the shower is huge, and all amenities that you might need are provided. Magazines and books about the area, bathrobes, refrigerator, umbrella, etc. There's a fire pit out back where you can sit and enjoy nature. The front desk service is outstanding. In the early evening they have wine and an assortment of cheeses and on Fridays a string quartet plays . . . the continental breakfast provides a great start for the day. There are a number of eating places on the Presidio to eat -- for dinner you might try Dixie near the Lombard Street entrance or the Social Club located in the same area just across the street. You do pay a $6.00 per day parking fee at the Inn which is really minimal considering what hotels charge in the downtown area to park.

Having lived and worked on the Presidio before it became a National Park, I can attest to it being a real jewel in the City and the Inn at the Presidio is our pick for the best place to stay! We might try one of the rooms with the fireplace on our next visit.

Room Tip: There is a bus system, however, a car is more useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Portal, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Inn at the Presidio is an excellent place to stay in S.F.. The location is beautiful...wonderful smell of the woods surrounding the area, great views, miles of hiking trails...and a sense of safety and quiet not usually found in lodging areas of San Francisco. The parking area is also a real 'plus'...parking often adds a lot of expense to lodging in S.F., but here you can park your own car in a safe, off-street lot convenient to the suites. The inn is in an historic building and the whole of the Presidio is well worth exploring. Several interesting books on the area and about San Francisco are provided for guests to read in the suites. The rooms are large, clean and nicely decorated. The beds are large and very comfortable. The breakfast provides plenty of good choices.The amenities are first class, and the staff is absolutely as helpful as can be! The price is very reasonable. All this makes this a great place to stay while in S.F.. We will definitely stay here again when visiting "the city".

Room Tip: Everyone we talked met at the inn said their suite was large (two large rooms and a bathroom), and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mississippi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked a king room after seeing hotel listed in Conde Nast. It was wonderful! The location is in the beautiful old Army base. There are gorgeous old buildings all around and all the lawns/gardens are well maintained. There is lots of open space and it is not crowded like the rest of San Francisco. It is an oasis for those wanting to be close enough to do the tourist stuff but like peace and quiet as well. I wish we could have gotten in for all four nights we were in the city. The included breakfast is delicious! We especially liked the orange muffins. Rooms are very big and spacious. We were in room 331 and it was huge with adjoining sitting room. Fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights and have just left. Our suite was ideal for a family of 4 and was extremely comfortable. Bathrooms are very clean, stylish but in keeping with the traditional heritage of the Presidio. The concierge team can't do enough to help with any questions. Rhenan and Tim in particular we're fantastic with our children. Whilst it is a little way from the main attractions the tranquility of the Presidio and stunning views of the Golden Gate Bridge on a clear day are fantastic. The bus service into the centre of the city also works well. The restaurants on the Presidio also provide very good food and the Presidio Social Club had a good atmosphere on Friday night. Great hotel, great spot, great city and most importantly great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Presidio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Presidio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.