We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Lives up to everything Conde Nast said...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Presidio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at the Presidio to your Saves list
Inn at the Presidio
42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Newton, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome! Lives up to everything Conde Nast said...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked a king room after seeing hotel listed in Conde Nast. It was wonderful! The location is in the beautiful old Army base. There are gorgeous old buildings all around and all the lawns/gardens are well maintained. There is lots of open space and it is not crowded like the rest of San Francisco. It is an oasis for those wanting to be close enough to do the tourist stuff but like peace and quiet as well. I wish we could have gotten in for all four nights we were in the city. The included breakfast is delicious! We especially liked the orange muffins. Rooms are very big and spacious. We were in room 331 and it was huge with adjoining sitting room. Fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
112
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn for 3 nights and have just left. Our suite was ideal for a family of 4 and was extremely comfortable. Bathrooms are very clean, stylish but in keeping with the traditional heritage of the Presidio. The concierge team can't do enough to help with any questions. Rhenan and Tim in particular we're fantastic with our children. Whilst it is a little way from the main attractions the tranquility of the Presidio and stunning views of the Golden Gate Bridge on a clear day are fantastic. The bus service into the centre of the city also works well. The restaurants on the Presidio also provide very good food and the Presidio Social Club had a good atmosphere on Friday night. Great hotel, great spot, great city and most importantly great staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A friend had recommended the Inn at the Presidio when I told him of our upcoming trip to San Francisco and northern California for our honeymoon. We checked out the website and thought the place looked really cool and liked all of the history of the place.

When we arrived, we absolutely loved everything about the place. The drive into the Presidio was gorgeous and the Inn itself was so cool. The lobby/common area was decorated with antique trumpets, photos, and other cool artifacts. There were several cozy sitting areas in the common area. The staff was very friendly and helpful offering several suggestions for restaurants and areas to explore around the Presidio.

Our room itself was wonderful. It was spacious and comfortable with a large sitting room, fireplace, and seperate bedroom. The room had tons of light and gorgeous views of the Bay and property. There were even a bunch of really cool books that we enjoyed checking out.

We enjoyed getting up in the morning and running on the Presidio's trails (literally right outside the door), and running through the park and toward the Golden Gate Bridge. We had wonderful scenery during the entire run! The breakfast was great and enjoyed drinking (good!) coffee and reading the paper. There was also a wine and cheese reception in the evening which was a great way to relax before heading out to dinner. There was a big firepit behind the Inn with adirondack chairs that we enjoyed sitting in while sipping our wine. For dinner, we walked about 10 minutes to the Presidio Social Club, which was excellent. It was nice to be able to park when we arrived, and not have to use the car until the following day.

Overall, we had a great stay at the Inn at the Presidio. It was great to be so close to everything in the city, but feel like we are in a completely non-urban environment (we are not city people!). The place was certainly a relaxing oasis for us at the beginning of our honeymoon week. Our only regret was that we couldnt stay longer since we were heading up the coast the following day. This will certainly be back next time we are out this way. This place truly is a San Francisco gem!

Room Tip: views of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We ran by the facility a few years ago while under construction and knew we wanted to come back. The building is old, but the renovation kept the historic feel while making it incredibly comfortable.

We stayed in Room 211, in the main building but accessible by stairs next door to the main entry way. Our room was huge. You enter into a sitting room with 2 couches, desk, bar, fireplace, tv, etc. The bedroom off that is also roomy, even with a king sized bed (and another large TV). Bathroom was not large but comfortable.

The staff was very friendly. Breakfast and the wine/appetizer hour were amazing. Do not miss either.

Loved the location. Very quiet for the city, but we could still walk to dinner (Presidio Social Club was yummy). And you are about a 25 min walk from the Marina District, closer to Cow Hollow and Pacific Heights. There is a Presidio trailhead (Ecology Trail) from the parking lot directly behind the hotel. I was able to go for a morning hike up to Inspiration Point and El Polin Spring, while my husband ran over to the Golden Gate Bridge and back (8ish miles).

Only complaints, we didn't realize parking wasn't included. You really have no other options if you have a car, so they might want to be a little more forthcoming about this. They handed us our parking passes with no mention of charges. Only when we checked out was it mentioned (and I still don't know how much it was! I didn't ask since I knew I'd find out once we got our bill.) Also, the hot water runs a little hotter and colder during a shower. Neither were deal breakers in my book.

We had a lovely time, and would love to go back sometime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

What a brilliant idea to convert the former Bachelors' Quarters at the Presidio into a Boutique Hotel! We recently stayed at the Inn at the Presidio as a stopover on our way to Sonoma & Napa counties. This wasn't just a hotel stay - it was an experience. Everything about the hotel from the staff...to the rooms...to the common areas is top notch. From the minute we stepped through the main door, we knew this place was something special. Every minute of our stay kept getting better and better.

The staff at the front desk are friendly, professional, and do everything they can to ensure that everything is to your satisfaction. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. The furnishings are not "typical" hotel furnishings. They are very home-like and comfortable. The rooms are also quiet. The bed was one of the most comfortable "hotel" beds that we have slept in - great pillows!! The bathrooms are very large for a "city" hotel.

Daily, from 5-7pm, they have a wine & cheese reception for guests. You can sit in an adirondack chair around the fire pit, on the deck or inside. It was a nice spread and a great way to unwind after a day of sight-seeing. We had so much fun keeping warm around the fire and chatting it up with other guests.

The continental breakfast was on steroids! A vast selection of cereals, steel cut oatmeal, pastries, muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, meats & cheeses, coffee, assorted Mighty Leaf teas, juices.....Breakfast is my favorite meal & I was more than satisfied.

The hotel offers on site parking at a nominal fee for guests. They also offer a car service (fee) to take you to a local restaurants, etc. We took advantage of that so that we didn't have to navigate the city....and parking!

There is a restaurant on the Presidio grounds (the Presidio Social Club) which is an easy walk from the hotel. From April thru October, Off the Grid picnics sponsors a picnic "event" every Sunday on one of the lawns nearby the hotel - we happened to stumble upon it and it was great!! Local food trucks, local bakeries, local produce abound....if you forgot a picnic blanket, you can rent one!

Bicycles are available on a first-come, first-serve basis and are complimentary.

The Presidio Y is the fitness center for the hotel. Spa services are available at SenSpa, also in the Presidio.

If you are looking for a hotel in the middle of the city, this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for an escape from the city, on historical grounds, close to Crissy field, the Golden Gate Bridge and near great walking and hiking trails....then don't hesitate to book your room.

The only negative about our stay at the Inn at the Presidio is that we didn't stay longer!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the houses that has been restored and rented by The Inn at the Presidio. It was very charming and the area is full of trails to explore right under the Golden Gate Bridge. The weather was wonderful, it was a great trip.

Room Tip: The house on Funston was so cute and charming. Very convenient and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were delighted to stay in the well appointed Funston House - as bicyclists it was served as a perfect spot from which to gain access to the Golden Gate Bridge and beyond. The surrounding trails are excellent for running, hiking as well as offering superb views of San Francisco. Dinner at the Presidio Social Club was delicious! Welcomed and taken care of by a wonderful staff, our time at the Presidio was idyllic - we most definitely will return.

Room Tip: The Funston house is quiet and private - a great stay for us as a couple, would be super to reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Presidio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.