We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale and historical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Presidio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at the Presidio to your Saves list
Inn at the Presidio
42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Upscale and historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We really enjoyed the fresh and modern look to this old hotel. It has a history as a hotel for unmarried military officers back in the day...you can feel the lively spirit of the place. The decor feels modern-masculine and fresh! The plaid carpet up the stairs to our room on the 3rd floor was one I might use in my son's room. We had a large suite with a pull -out sofa and a gas fireplace. There were lots of windows and we could see the Golden Gate Bridge in the distance! The room was bright!

There was only one flat screen TV in the sitting area and not in the separate bedroom...boo hoo.
I think they may add it in the future....there is that perfect place above the huge dresser right across from the bed. A very comfortable bed by the way.

The bathroom was really pretty with striking shiny dark blue tiles surrounding the tub/shower combo. A black solid- surface counter top/sink area large enough for cosmetics and such. One of my favorite hotel bathrooms lately! Again, a very bright room!

Be prepared to walk up the stairs with your luggage...no elevator. Third floor rooms avoid the creaky floors though.

There was good coffee and fruit/cucumber water in the breakfast room when we checked in. The breakfast was nice the next morning with a fresh fruit salad, yogurt, pastries, etc. The wine and cheese was served 5-7 pm.

Easy parking....right behind the hotel.

You are quite isolated here, but we strolled over to a food-truck event within a 5 minute walk. It is called Off The Grid and is a "happening" locals hangout on Sundays at the edge of a nice park. Within about a 20 minute walk are some other casual restaurants/bars like Liverpool Lil's. The Marina District is not too far away.

Reception is odd.... just a desk inside a room off the front door.

The Presidio would be very cool to explore and the trails are everywhere!

Room Tip: We liked our 3rd floor corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
112
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I traveled to the west coast for our honeymoon and our last stop was San Francisco. I had done my research and knew we wanted a quieter place in San Francisco to end our trip. The Inn at the Presidio seemed like the PERFECT fit. All-in-all, it was! We came down from Napa, so the drive was fine and the Inn was easy to find! The room was very comfortable. We were hoping for a Bay View and I had been checking it for weeks, but the day I went to book, it was taken, so we ended up with a Forest View room. Even that was fine! The breakfast each morning was fabulous and the wine and cheese reception in the evenings was a nice touch. I even appreciated that we could take the bus from the Presidio down into downtown San Francisco for free and not have to worry about driving or parking or paying to park down there. My only complaint was that there was a lot of construction/forestry going on while we were there, so no morning was every quiet and relaxing. We were always jolted awake by the machinery. I also wasn't impressed that we weren't even congratulated on our honeymoon and maybe that's a bit picky of me, but every other spot we stayed, even Hampton Inn, congratulated us and gave us a complementary bottle of wine, a free upgrade, chocolates, or something. Just the fact that it wasn't acknowledged made me sad since that's the only honeymoon we'll every go on.
Regardless of my complaints, we really enjoyed ourselves in San Fran and I would highly recommend the Inn at the Presidio!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This quaint hotel was absolutely adorable and it is in an amazing location. The Inn at the Presidio is beautifully decorated, the staff is extremely kind and the rooms are breathtaking. I definitely recommend staying at the Inn while visiting San Francisco!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Valley Lake, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My family rented two suites last weekend. What an incredible experience...we loved the hiking trails, historical monuments, and beautiful surroundings. It is such a luxury to spend the day in crowds of San Francisco and then escape to the relative calm of this former Army installation. Our rooms were spacious and the staff wonderful. They were polite, helpful, and informative. This is the best hotel at which I have ever had the priviledge of staying. We will try to arrange future vacations there if the word doesn't get out to the general public and cause the rates to become out of reach for retired military officers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at The Inn at the Presidio on the first night of our trip to California. We loved the simple elegance of our room and the huge walk-in shower. The fire on the back patio seemed to be blazing at all times of the day. We enjoyed The Ecology Trail, with views of the city and the bay, in the evening and in the morning. Wine and cheese reception and breakfast were both exceptional. The Presidio was a quick drive from the Golden Gate Park and it is close to Crissy Beach and to the parking area for those who want to walk the Golden Gate Bridge. Could have stayed an extra day just to read the excellent selection of books about San Francisco in our room. Very quiet at night. We will definitely stay here during our next San Francisco trip.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the parking lot, but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was an officer at the Presidio 49 years ago and I assure you the Bachelor Officers Quarters (BOQ ) were never this nice. From our arrival to our departure, the staff went out of their way to be of assistance . . . especially Brett.

The rooms were immaculate and airy. The wine and cheese the night of our arrival, enjoying both around the fire pit, and the delicious complimentary breakfast the next morning were the "icing on the cake".

I am looking forward to reserving accommodations at the Inn for our next visit to San Francisco.

Richard S.

Room Tip: Call Brett and ask for his advice. He won't disappoint you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I don't normally do this but the Inn at the Presidio was so charming that I just felt I had to. The Inn has beautiful rooms with an amazing location surrounded by natural beauty. I live locally in the city but never would have thought to stay in the Presidio. Now this is where I will have to have any family and friends that visit me stay! Brett and Rhenan, hope that is spelled right, were phenomenal! Brett took the time before I arrived to assist me in all ways possible making the best reservations for restaurants I never knew of in the city and really took the time to make sure I was all set, even before I checked in. I travel a lot for business and have never seen a hotel take the time to offer such a wonderful service like that. Take advantage of the email that they send you before you arrive!!!! It has great videos and useful information! Rhenan was able to arrange transportation for my partner from the airport since I was running late from a meeting! She remembered us every time we walked by the desk and made us feel as if she really did care how our stay went. If you stay at the Inn which I highly recommend since they have a free wine and cheese reception and breakfast in the morning- talk about an amazing little perk- that you talk to either one of them they really know what they are talking about! Thank you Brett and Rhenan for making our staycation and the Inn something magical!

Room Tip: Stay in a Classical 2 room loved the second floor because of rocking chairs and had nice view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Presidio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.