We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Family Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Presidio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at the Presidio to your Saves list
Inn at the Presidio
42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Hidden Valley Lake, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Family Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My family rented two suites last weekend. What an incredible experience...we loved the hiking trails, historical monuments, and beautiful surroundings. It is such a luxury to spend the day in crowds of San Francisco and then escape to the relative calm of this former Army installation. Our rooms were spacious and the staff wonderful. They were polite, helpful, and informative. This is the best hotel at which I have ever had the priviledge of staying. We will try to arrange future vacations there if the word doesn't get out to the general public and cause the rates to become out of reach for retired military officers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
112
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at The Inn at the Presidio on the first night of our trip to California. We loved the simple elegance of our room and the huge walk-in shower. The fire on the back patio seemed to be blazing at all times of the day. We enjoyed The Ecology Trail, with views of the city and the bay, in the evening and in the morning. Wine and cheese reception and breakfast were both exceptional. The Presidio was a quick drive from the Golden Gate Park and it is close to Crissy Beach and to the parking area for those who want to walk the Golden Gate Bridge. Could have stayed an extra day just to read the excellent selection of books about San Francisco in our room. Very quiet at night. We will definitely stay here during our next San Francisco trip.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of the parking lot, but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I was an officer at the Presidio 49 years ago and I assure you the Bachelor Officers Quarters (BOQ ) were never this nice. From our arrival to our departure, the staff went out of their way to be of assistance . . . especially Brett.

The rooms were immaculate and airy. The wine and cheese the night of our arrival, enjoying both around the fire pit, and the delicious complimentary breakfast the next morning were the "icing on the cake".

I am looking forward to reserving accommodations at the Inn for our next visit to San Francisco.

Richard S.

Room Tip: Call Brett and ask for his advice. He won't disappoint you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I don't normally do this but the Inn at the Presidio was so charming that I just felt I had to. The Inn has beautiful rooms with an amazing location surrounded by natural beauty. I live locally in the city but never would have thought to stay in the Presidio. Now this is where I will have to have any family and friends that visit me stay! Brett and Rhenan, hope that is spelled right, were phenomenal! Brett took the time before I arrived to assist me in all ways possible making the best reservations for restaurants I never knew of in the city and really took the time to make sure I was all set, even before I checked in. I travel a lot for business and have never seen a hotel take the time to offer such a wonderful service like that. Take advantage of the email that they send you before you arrive!!!! It has great videos and useful information! Rhenan was able to arrange transportation for my partner from the airport since I was running late from a meeting! She remembered us every time we walked by the desk and made us feel as if she really did care how our stay went. If you stay at the Inn which I highly recommend since they have a free wine and cheese reception and breakfast in the morning- talk about an amazing little perk- that you talk to either one of them they really know what they are talking about! Thank you Brett and Rhenan for making our staycation and the Inn something magical!

Room Tip: Stay in a Classical 2 room loved the second floor because of rocking chairs and had nice view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here because my daughter got married in the Palace of Fine Arts (5 minute drive) and had the reception at the Log Cabin (10 minute drive). The suite is very spacious and there is nothing else like it for $300 (plus $42 park fee) in the City. We requested the first floor because it is not practical for most of our party to climb a lot of stairs and for us it turned out to be better but I hear the views from the upper floors are really nice.

As it turned out due to a minor snafu I had to rush back to the hotel in the middle of the reception to retrieve a critical item and the fact that I didn't have to drive in the City or do the valet parking not to mention riding the elevator to the 20th floor (or whatever) made it no big deal so it worked out to be an ideal location for us.

On the morning after the wedding I walked about 2 miles around the Presidio including a stop at Inspiration Point (about a half mile hike above the hotel).

I recommend eating at Liverpool Lil's on Lyon Street (about 3/4 miles from the Inn-easily walkable).

I did not use the shuttle and wasn't able to attend the Wine and Cheese thing in the evenings. The Breakfast was pretty good and the coffee is excellent. I wake up early; you can eat breakfast outside at the fire pit (plenty of light).

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms are quiet if you don't want to climb stairs (no elevator). We didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the hotel in the middle of the Presidio. It's a walk up and offers 3 floors. If you can't walk up 3 floors at least get the second floor for quite sake. The location is interesting but not within walking distance of the City buzz. If you want quiet and hikes its the place for you. No restaurant but the hotel serves a nice continental breakfast. You will have to drive or get a taxi to do anything off the Presidio because parking in SF is horrendous. There is no TV in the bedroom. Staff is friendly. While it is cute that the extra toilet paper and hair dryer is put in burlap bags marked TP and DR (for the Presidio ambience) if you need to get that extra toilet paper roll - it's not easy especially if the burlap bag ties are knotted! Make sure that you check both keys, towel/soap/coffee supplies when you first check in as its a long walk down to the lobby, especially if you just walked up the stairs. We would not stay there again only because we like being in the middle of the City to walk to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. By the way, its not easy to find day or night...we got lost every time we tried to return to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor if you don't want to walk up 3 flights and make sure you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Such a great location for visiting the Presidio. When we arrived there was someone else checking in, so we looked around. The manager Terry asked if we wanted some water to drink while we were waiting. Check in was nice sitting at a desk. The inn is in a remodeled officers quarters on the Presidio. Beautiful building. Our room was huge. Our room had a king bed, couch, desk and large bathroom. The shower was large enough for at least a family of four. The room had books all over the room about the Presidio, San Francisco, Walt Disney and more. We enjoyed looking at all of the books. In the evening there was wine and cheese. Since we do not drink wine, we enjoyed the cheese and chocolate chip cookies. We sat and looked at more books in the lobby. The breakfast was nice with muffins, cereals, breads, cheese and more. Plenty of places to sit. There is a hiking trail that leaves from the back of the Inn. We walked to the Walt Disney Family Museum. Very relaxing. Great room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Presidio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Presidio

Address: 42 Moraga Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most unique San Francisco hotel experience comes from the Inn at the Presidio. Tucked into the luscious Presidio—a National Historic Landmark—this hotel near Golden Gate Bridge was once an elegant home for bachelor U.S. Army officers. The Inn at the Presidio, in the northwest corner of the city, has 22 rooms, 17 of which are suites including a gas fireplace and sofa sleeper. Complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese receptions are part of your stay. Our San Francisco lodging also features an outdoor patio with a gas fire fit, porches with rocking chairs, and grand public lobby areas. Enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the whole Presidio hotel, as well as a daily morning newspaper. In its Georgian Revival-style building, the inn also has meeting spaces for functions of up to 20 people which can be reserved for private, memorable events and meetings. Enjoy easy access to the Pacific Ocean, Crissy Field, Fisherman’s Wharf, the Golden Gate Bridge, Golden Gate Park, and other quintessential sights. For unmatched San Francisco accommodations, book your Inn at the Presidio reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Inn at the Presidio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Presidio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.