We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potpourri of Flavors will Dance on your Tongue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Bird Provisions

State Bird Provisions
1529 Fillmore St., San Francisco, CA 94115
415-795-1272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 4,922 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Californian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Potpourri of Flavors will Dance on your Tongue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Oh My... The eclectic dishes, combos of ingredients reminded me of what I see on some of various cooking shows on TV. The restaurant is very comfortable...no need to dress up. Casual is completely fine. Service wonderful and staff very welcoming. We were a party of four. We ordered a few things off the menu and several small plates being offered as staff walked them by. My favorite dish was a tuna/avocado on seaweed crackers. The quinoa dish was crazy good. Actually the state bird (quail) was one of my least favorites. Enjoyed fried green tomatoes. Loved the fruit/coconut tapioca dessert. Nice wine selection. The food was so inventful...a party on the tongue. The only downside is the restaurant is quite loud...making conversation a bit difficult. I guess the noise helps create "excitement", but speaking loudly to be heard is sometimes tough. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    107
    18
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“high quality: food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

So, you need to reserve way ahead or they save 1/3 of their tables for walk ins..so get there by 4:30 to be successful walk-in..well worth the wait either way..
who needs a menu? trays of wonderful diverse and delicious food come around--most were fabulous and unusual...with only a couple of disappointments...oh, and you can order from a menu too..
the service was truly terrific...warm and very competent...
a wonderful and unique experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After having read the reviews on TA, we decided to visit this restaurant on our visit to SF. We did not have a reservation so decided to go there at 17:30 to try and get a table early. Unfortunately we were not alone and the que was very long. In the end we got a reservation for later in the evening in the standing bar, which we thought was ok as we were very keen to try this restaurant. The food did not disappoint, really great and innovative. Great service by the staff as well! Will definitively visit this place again, but next time we will really try and make reservation in advance....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had read the reviews but didn't really understand the concept until we got there. There are a few items on a menu that you can order but the rest of the meal is selected from trays and carts delivered by the wait staff as the kitchen prepares them. Our server explained to us that while there are some standards, the list changes daily and by season. It's really a lot of fun and you must pace yourself. Let a couple pass by - they'll be back again so you can get a feel of what you want. There were three of us and we tried almost everything that they served. If you are adventurous and not set on the same old steak/chicken/fish menu, you will love this restaurant. You must make a reservation as there are only a few tables. They have a counter but people line up early in the afternoon just to get on that list!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Interesting Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

State Bird met all expectations based on the reviews. Great concept and very creative food. However incredibly noisy and just a tad too crazy for me. I would definitely go back, but have to get in right mind-set first. A tip on securing a reservation, the website opens up around 4am, PDT and accepts reservations 60 days out. Getting up at 5am 60 days ago was worth it! Loved the ice cream sandwich dessert.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Bird Provisions also viewed

 

Been to State Bird Provisions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Bird Provisions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.