We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hop on, hop off, see San Francisco in a day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bus Tours

Big Bus Tours
99 Jefferson Street, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Fisherman’s Wharf)
+1 415-433-1657
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$30*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful city of San Francisco on top of an open top, double-decker bus. Experience the diverse culture of the city by visiting the unique neighborhoods including Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, Haight/Ashbury District, Union Square, SoMa, Civic Center, Alamo Square.Journey through Golden Gate Park and cross the infamous Golden Gate Bridge! Hop on and hop off at any of our 20 stops located throughout the city. All tickets include free bike rental and walking tours of North Beach neighborhood and Chinatown. Visit us at our San Francisco Visitor Center at 99 Jefferson Street in Fisherman's Wharf.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hop on, hop off, see San Francisco in a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you only have one day in San Francisco, this is the way to see the sights. $40 per adult for 24 hours bus travel on a route that winds its way around the city centre and out to Golden Gate Bridge. See Pacific Heights, Golden Gate Park, Pier 39's sealions and much more, at your own pace, Just hop off the bus when you see something you like, then hop back on as the buses go every 15 minutes.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    385
    148
    94
    111
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calabash, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great way for first time trip around the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I had never been to San Francisco before so we had no idea as to what to see so we paid the 40.00 each for the Big Bus and we were very pleased. We rode the first tour almost completely around the city noticing the areas at which we'd like to get off and then got off at stop 17 to see China Town and have lunch. We then walked a few blocks to stop 5 and got on until stop 10 which was the Haight Ashbury area. Our guides were great and I'd recommended live guides instead of the audio guides since they provide extra info and can help you get around at the off stops. We had Christina on the first leg and Kira on the 2nd part coming back. Both were very knowledgeable about the city and its history. In hindsight, we knew we wanted to get off at 10 so we could have and then rode to 17 and since we were staying in fishermans wharf, that would have cut the trip time at the end considerable. The way we did it, we got on at Haight just about 4pm and it took 2 hours to get to the end because of rush hour traffic so plan according to rush hour. Also, if you plan to ride on the top, it's very windy and cold in August esp going over the Golden Gate so wear long pants and take a jacket as you'll need it. Many do not tip but we did and I would plan to leave a tip for the guides who split them with the drivers. Most of their income is derived from tips and if they do a good job, they deserve it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really good night tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I bought the 48 hour tickets, which I would reccomend if you have more than one day to do sightseeing and/or shopping in SF. The buses ran very frequently, and we simply hoped off on some stops the first day and did the others the following day. Note that some of the guides are pretty bad, so to be sure to get all the info take a bus with audio tour if you are unlucky with your guide. In the evening though it is only live guided tours. NOTE only in english. We took the last bus at 7.30 and got an amazing night view. Our guide was REALLY good - look for a guy with a cool hairdo and nice moustache. Danny I think is his name. He made our Big Bus experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Bus Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We bought the 48 hour package for $50 and it was well worth it. We travelled August 8,9 and it sure was cool in San Fran, especially on the open air top deck of the bus. You needed every hoody you possess to combat hypothermia. With the 48 hr deal, the extra tour of Sausalito is included, and is a good chance to warm up, since it doesn't get the fog like SF. The buses have either a guide who narrates, or ear phones to accommodate more languages. We preferred the english speaking guides who were both informative and humorous - excellent job you guides! We did the evening tour to see the lights, and it was dark enough to see some excellent views.
The only negative point was a wait of 40 minutes for a bus in Haight Ashbury rather than the promised 10 - 15 minutes.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great all round tickets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We really wanted to goto Alcatraz during our short stay in San Fransisco in August and my brother in law said that we should book the trip before we go and he was right! We could not find any trips even a few weeks before we left the UK to get us to Alcatraz whilst we were there. A bit more research and we found an agent of Big Bus Tours (Guide You.com) who had a few combined tickets left for hme day we needed, so we booked it. After picking up the tickets, we had everything we wanted to do with the tickets. We did the trip to Alcatraz on the first day and then used the 48 hours hop on/off tickets the following day. The weather was fine and we had a clear crossing of Golden Gate Bridge (No fog!)

Great people and plenty of busses to use.

We did not have enough time to use all the other parts of the tickets, so we will be back again one day to do more in this great City.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bus Tours also viewed

 

Been to Big Bus Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bus Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.