We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Inn San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added America's Best Inn San Francisco to your Saves list
America's Best Inn San Francisco
2850 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Certainly one of the cheaper hotels in San Francisco. It is an old style hotel and not luxurious, but it was clean and comfortable. The hotel is located very close to a tram bus stop, from which it is possible to cheaply access all major parts of the city. There is a beautiful street behind the hotel with plenty of bars and cafes - I could go for a short walk at 9.30pm and have a nice glass of red wine at a bar with outdoor seating, before retiring to bed. The hotel itself is also on a busy main street, which was good for me, as it felt safe. It was well worth the small amount of dollars spent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    24
    19
    58
See reviews for
24
51
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The room was not like it was described. The whole building was full of dirt, dust and noise. The Building is in the current stage of remodeling (construction mess). So that would explain my negative review. NO POOL, PARKING, or Fitness Room!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a 2 star hotel in a great location. If you want to pay two or three times the price you can find a much nicer place. However if you just want to stay in a clean room with slightly noisy air conditioning, in a safe location close to Fishermans Wharf at a cheap price then this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Dont bother even thinking about staying here!!!! terrible and dirty. Office staff need box of happy pills. less than helpful.
cig butts everywhere. not cleaned up.
Repairs to property -------- none.
smells bad in room.
bad experience, would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

America's Best Inn is located on the corner of Van Ness and Chesnut which is only about 5 blocks, or a 5 minute walk from Guirardelli Square. In the room you will find a microwave and refrigerator if you want to buy your own snacks. There is no restaurant or breakfast, but due to its great location I was able to stay here and walk to Fisherman's Wharf. Even pier 33 (alcatraz cruises) wasn't a stretch to walk to. The best value about this motel is free parking! I stayed 3 nights and with San Fran's great public transportation and my proximity to the wharf, I didn't move my car the whole time. You're just a short trolly ride on the Powell-Hyde over the hill from Union Square. Van Ness is a little noisy at night because it is a motel, but it was not anything that I lost sleep over, the street isn't too busy in front of the motel. Overall it was a great value and free parking really made it for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTELLO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Evidently they clean with full strength bleach and ammonia and never rinse them and that creates a toxic smell....but they must be trying to get rid of bugs and mold that still remained however. Attempted to sleep with window open (dangerous to do so!) and still could not..the smell was horrendous and strong. When the toilet overflowed and we called the front desk, we were told there was nothing they could do about it. Further phone calls were not answered and in going to the office, it was locked. Upon arriving at the hotel, we only put luggage in and left for events in the area. Noticed the smell but surely thought it would dissipate.Actually thought the room would be okay considering the high price - sure learned regarding that! If your car is blocked in because of their parking arrangement, and there is no one in the office 24/7, you would have to knock on every door to find the car needing to be moved! They care not at all about the customer. After getting out of this hellhole, we booked at Wyndham with concierge service for less money. Do Not Stay Here.

Room Tip: Do Not Choose Any Room Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Absolutely terrible. Do not stay here. They charged more than the allowable posted rate per CA Civil Code Section 1863 (info on room door). When presented with this, two employees refused to refund difference. Now following up with state. Anyone that has stayed here should look at their charges as I am sure this is a common practice. Room was far below an acceptable level. There were numerous issues with the room including things like an unsecure door that would barely latch (the safety latch was also previously broken off and appeared it was kicked in/broken into), key cards would not work consistently, the towel bar was held up by a mass of silicone, mold and staining was present in the bathroom and bathtub, the ice machine wasn’t working, light bulbs were missing from our room, etc. We were on a family vacation not expecting a high quality hotel, but this was absolutely awful. Again, do not consider staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Best Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn San Francisco

Address: 2850 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Inn Fisherman's Wharf The Best Inn at Van Ness is conveniently located five blocks away from the Cannery and Ghirardelli Square from where you can stroll and take in the sites that line the row from Fisherman's Wharf to Pier 39. You will enjoy San Francisco more from our reasonably priced, attractive accommodations in one the most convenient location in town! We pride ourselves with providing first class service and attention to our guests needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your America's Best Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Best Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Inn San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.