We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Inn San Francisco

Save Saved
You added America's Best Inn San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
America's Best Inn San Francisco
2850 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
MONTELLO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst Experience Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Evidently they clean with full strength bleach and ammonia and never rinse them and that creates a toxic smell....but they must be trying to get rid of bugs and mold that still remained however. Attempted to sleep with window open (dangerous to do so!) and still could not..the smell was horrendous and strong. When the toilet overflowed and we called the front desk, we were told there was nothing they could do about it. Further phone calls were not answered and in going to the office, it was locked. Upon arriving at the hotel, we only put luggage in and left for events in the area. Noticed the smell but surely thought it would dissipate.Actually thought the room would be okay considering the high price - sure learned regarding that! If your car is blocked in because of their parking arrangement, and there is no one in the office 24/7, you would have to knock on every door to find the car needing to be moved! They care not at all about the customer. After getting out of this hellhole, we booked at Wyndham with concierge service for less money. Do Not Stay Here.

Room Tip: Do Not Choose Any Room Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    17
    13
    48
See reviews for
19
40
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Absolutely terrible. Do not stay here. They charged more than the allowable posted rate per CA Civil Code Section 1863 (info on room door). When presented with this, two employees refused to refund difference. Now following up with state. Anyone that has stayed here should look at their charges as I am sure this is a common practice. Room was far below an acceptable level. There were numerous issues with the room including things like an unsecure door that would barely latch (the safety latch was also previously broken off and appeared it was kicked in/broken into), key cards would not work consistently, the towel bar was held up by a mass of silicone, mold and staining was present in the bathroom and bathtub, the ice machine wasn’t working, light bulbs were missing from our room, etc. We were on a family vacation not expecting a high quality hotel, but this was absolutely awful. Again, do not consider staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Manchester
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

What can i say, we travelled around America for a month and this was by far the worst and most expensive grot hole we stayed in!! the only good thing about it was the location!! we checked in the lady on reception may as well have not been there she was so abrupt and rude like we were bothering her, got to our room it was tiny bearly enough room for the bed! old and dated bathroom was small and smelly!! Bedbug, bedbugs, bedbugs eeehhhhgggg makes me scratch thinking about it!! Breckfast was offered with this room, why bother it was a coissants very dry one at that!! the only good thing was it was walking distants to the Whalf that is is!!

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

good motel, near fishermans wharf (5 mins with bus) with good price, clean rooms, regular bathrooms and so on. we didn't find the breakfast there. but all over all we were satisfied, because we didn't expect too much from this price.

it's a good an pricy motel to visit SF and eat out and so on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Friendly but strictly third-world.
Bed bugs were quite prolific in this place.
She recommended Ashoka for Indian food, which was excellent (unfortunately the owner's teenage son was in charge of the audio-portion).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

BEDBUGS, took pictures and had them confirmed by pest control. Sensor lights, making it impossible to get up during night without waking up anyone in the room and would also turn off mid-shower. "Breakfast" was coffee and a croissant (NO tea, hot chocolate, muffins, etc.) Horrible Wifi during day and literally no connection 2/3 evenings. Noisy construction all day and night. Barking dog in room next door. No washcloths unless ordered. *found three BEDBUGS, notified front office after catching one under cup but they had no interest, manager had us wait for him to come on site to talk to us but flaked after we waited 30+ min and via telephone offered us $20 compensation total on $600+ bill. Worst hotel experience ever. PS bedbugs get on clothes and in suitcases and eggs can survive 300+ days and require fumigation when spread to home and mattress replacement, absolute nightmare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Mountain Club, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

Decent rooms and very close to shore and wharf especially by bus, U dont have to pay for parking, just took family on bus next to hotel. Dont stay here if u r expecting to hang out in ur room and examine the aesthetics and have a free breakfast that will fill u up. Paid $89 and stayed 2 nites.Service was ok. Parking onsite is free, but takes creativity.We just needed clean, close cheap sleeping accomodations with bath facilities. Would stay againfor this price for familyof five.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to America's Best Inn San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn San Francisco

Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn San Francisco Hotel
America`s Best Inn San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Best Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Best Inn
Address: 2850 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Inn Fisherman's Wharf The Best Inn at Van Ness is conveniently located five blocks away from the Cannery and Ghirardelli Square from where you can stroll and take in the sites that line the row from Fisherman's Wharf to Pier 39. You will enjoy San Francisco more from our reasonably priced, attractive accommodations in one the most convenient location in town! We pride ourselves with providing first class service and attention to our guests needs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your America's Best Inn San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Inn San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.