We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inexpensive Delight!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tin - Vietnamese Cuisine

Tin - Vietnamese Cuisine
937 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
415.882.7188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #590 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Durham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“An inexpensive Delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Small busy spot a few blocks from the boring food of the Conference Ctr. I ordered the iconic Bun Thit Nuong. Delicious grilled pork, perfect amount of fish sauce and only $ 8. Shrimp and pork rolls needed more help from the peanut sauce. We made reservations on a Saturday lunch and it got busy right after noon. Busy spot, service staff efficient and fast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Okay dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'm not a big fan of Vietnamese cuisine so I'm not going to comment on the food.

I visited Tin on a weekday evening. The place was packed so we had to wait for about 20 minutes to be seated. There was one waiter covering all the tables (I'm not sure if this is a regular occurrence or not) so the service was really slow.

Prices were decent, but then again, the place was more of a "hole in the wall" than a proper restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great service, delicious food and wonderful prices. I had rolls, greens and a Pho Ga when I felt like I was getting sick before work and walked out healthier and only down $22. LOVE this place!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

FINALLY I was able to try Vietnamese food, specifically Pho. Great food. Great staff. Kind of a "hole in the wall" vibe. Excellent prices, especially for San Francisco!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Good solid place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

One of the best things about travelling as a Yelper in the USA is that you have a bank of ready made friends in each city! Dorothy C had kindly taken me to the Asian Art Museum on my trip to SF last year and she offered to expand my art horizons at SFMOMA this year

We therefore looked for a lunch option in close proximity and Dorothy's friend, Ed U suggested Tin on Howard St.

Despite us both starting at Powell St BART station, I think I took the slightly less 'colourful' route to the restaurant! Teddy and I recognised Dorothy coming in the opposite direction to us and she told us about some interesting characters and shops she had encountered along the way!

The restaurant was busy with lunch service but we were seated quickly and the food came out impressively fast. Nice friendly ambiance providing the perfect atmosphere for us to catch up

Dorothy went with a sandwich and I tried the Hu Tieu noodles in broth - xa-xiu pork, chicken & shrimp, ground pork in garlic-chicken broth. It was lovely and perfect portion size for lunch. Deep flavour in the broth with enough variety of stuff to munch with each mouthful to keep it interesting

My limeade could have done with a bit more sugar syrup but was obviously freshly squeezed

The bonus was the very reasonable cost - $10 per person

Dorothy and I were fans!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tin - Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Tin - Vietnamese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin - Vietnamese Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.