We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't Know what to eat ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AQ

AQ
1085 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103 (SoMa)
415-341-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
AQ is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: SoMa
Hannover
1 review
“Just don't Know what to eat ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

So extensive so weird descriptions ... Wasn't there a Burger Place next door? :P ...
So extensive so weird descriptions ... Wasn't there a Burger Place next door? :P ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Impressive...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

...across the board. I sat at the bar until my date arrived, and the cocktail I ordered was divine. Bartenders were all incredibly friendly and fast (true about the service team in general here.) We ordered 3 starters and a main to share - the presentation of each item item is impressive and likely the key to this restaurant's success.

I really like the seasonal theme - "autumn" had all the right flavors. Sturgeon with spatzel and pumpkin, squid and bok choy. Lovely. The only compliant I could possibly have was portion size - my date as a large (and hungry) man could have used more substanence for the money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We had reservation at the chef counters it was really nice you really see the kitchen staff preparing your food whit a lot's off attention food was really good, service too maybe a it was missing a little description on the menu from the server but we manage to order all the good stuff cause we saw everything a the counter ! Nice wine list and good cocktail ! There is no ambiance really it's a little noisy probably cause the selling is super high and it was really hot inside overall it was good it's worth a try for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful place but the food is not good enough. Bad value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We went to have dinner here on our California road trip for our 9 year anniversary. We were warmly welcomed by a hostess who was very nice, but she wanted to push too hard for us to order three things each (2 apetizers and one main dish). Instead we took the 7 course tasting menu with wine pairings. We paid a whopping $130 per person, and we left the restaurant feeling very disappointed. The food was very well presented, But the combinations of ingredients in each dish were unnessecarily complicated, and either too bland or too salty. They had put more thought in the creative concept and the looong and exaggarated explanations of the dished than in the food itself. They seemed to be in a big rush, as they brought us the one course right after the other. We felt bloated at the end of our meal.. We're from Belgium, and when we spend this kind of money in a restaurant at home, we get a Michelin star dinner for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great SF Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I recently visited AQ for my wife's birthday dinner. It was a fabulous meal with great service. We loved our experience. I even dropped off some special wine at the restaurant a couple hours before the meal for them to decant and they were very helpful.

The meal itself was innovative, with fresh ingredients and a beautiful presentation. You can tell the chef took great care in each dish, making them perfect.

One of the best tables at the restaurant is the booth. Ask for that if you have 4 or more people. And definitely try their signature cocktails. Interesting and delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AQ also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to AQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.