We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lalola Bar De Tapas - CLOSED

Lalola Bar De Tapas
1358 Mason Street (at Pacific), San Francisco, CA 94133
(415) 981-5652
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
Restaurant details
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Such a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I love Lalola! The food is quite excellent. I recommend the tortilla (it ain't Mexican so don't expect a flat, flour disc). Also the paella. That was the first time I ever had it, and I really enjoyed myself. The sangria is fabulous, and they have a pretty decent beer selection. The ambiance is very cozy, and the owner is such a sweet guy. Definitely check it out when you're in the area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“It's closed as from tonight 14th Oct 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Found this place last night, wonderful food, fun and relaxed. But it's closing it's doors this weekend! What a loss to the area! Good luck on your new venture.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi, Usa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic tapas and white sangria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I just got back from Spain and so when a friend suggested this place, I was eager to find out if it is authentic. Pleasantly surprised! The two of us tried one of each tapa plus an extra plate of fried calamari and we could not finish everything. Every tapa was tasty. The fried calamari wasn't like those I had in Madrid as it was battered. They have a big container of red sangria ready to serve but I choose the wine sangria as it is supposed to be made from champagne instead of red wine. Theirs was decent. It was just right for me. Others might say it is too mild. The anchovies tapa is quite tasty and definitely try the pimento with stuffed tuna.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Memorable appetizers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stopped in for Sangria and appetizers, after a full day of activities. LaLola's is a cozy place to unwind and relax. Enjoyed the Paella de Pescado, Paella Lalola, and Calamares Rebozados. My favorite selection, Chuletas de Cordero, was delicious!!! Couldn't resist ordering the Tarta de Santiago and Pudin de Curasán al Chocolate to share~ what treats:) Our servers were very attentive and helpful. Great place to gather as a couple or with a group of 8 such as we had!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lalola is Fun and Food is Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Had dinner here twice with friends, and on both occasions the food was very good.
We shared small plates of quite interesting food. I don't remember individual items but all were delicious. You really can't go wrong. Wines are reasonably priced and good.

Service is excellent and very friendly, too. Nice group of people seem to go LaloLa, so the place is conducive to a generally up-beat and cordial environment.

If you want a pleasant dining experience with shared foods, try Lalola and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalola Bar De Tapas also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalola Bar De Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;