We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Suites at Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
Ranked #4 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were only here two nights so the location was perfect. We were close to so many places but not in the middle of the tourist heavy wharf. We rented bikes from "Blazing Saddles" right down the street and had a great guided bike ride across the GG bridge to Sausalito. It didn't hurt that the weather was spectacular, even in the morning. Great breakfast at Josie's and dinner at Scoma's, both very convenient to the hotel. Took the cable car to Trattoria Contadina at Mason and Union in North Beach, a fav of ours whenever we're in the city. The room was extremely clean, quiet and great for the 3 of us. Didn't use kitchen facility because our stay was so short, but it looked well stocked. Booked this on Expedia which showed availability when the hotel website did not!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    111
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
191
192
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here as Shell Vacation Club owners & enjoyed a room with a view of Alcatraz & Bay Bridge! Cable Car runs right by hotel! Having stayed in SF often we were accustomed to the city noises & actually enjoyed it. The units were nicely decorated and clean. The staff were helpful & friendly.

There is a parking area beneath hotel with limited space for parking but it worked out well for us.
We would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Get a room facing North Point
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

After a long flight from NZ we arrived to find that there had been a double-booking and our rooms wouldn't be available until the following day. At first I felt a little stressed about this but the staff were wonderful, most apologetic and made speedy arrangements to accommodate us at another hotel a couple of blocks away. So no harm done. We spent the first night it the alternate accommodation and then returned to Suites at Fishermans Wharf for the next 3 nights and were most happy with our choice. The one bedroom suites that we had are big and spacious with a good and comfy bed-settee in the lounge. The only thing I found a problem was that the rooms were a little too warm given that we were there on hot days, the fan in the bedroom was not quite adequate. And I have to say again that the staff here are excellent, particularly Edgar who was a huge help to us with dine in meals, taxi's etc. Thanks Edgar, if every hotel had one of you how much easier life would be

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is one of the best places I have staying in the city. The location is ideal for anyone wanting to walk where ever they go. It's a block away from the warf and the cable car stops at the corner outside the hotel. The decor inside was very clean with modern furniture and a full kitchen to cook in. Comfortable beds to sleep in and nice staff. The only reason I gave this place 4 instead of 5 is because you could here everything above you and around you. So there is no sleeping in past 7 if you wanted to. We could here the entire conversations our upstairs neighbors had every morning and every night until they went to bed. Also they did not have a pool or spa. They have a great roof top with an amazing view and would be a perfect location for a hot tub. All in all I would say its worth it and definitely have a great time in the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

After our long flight from Europe with three kids under 5 it was a warm welcome at the Suites at Fisherman's Wharf. Front-desk was quick and efficient and most importantly they honored my request for a quiet room. My wishes are always specific with three little ones. A quiet room with preferably as little as traffic noise possible, a little place to play outside, a separate bedroom and little kitchen. And the Suites have it all!

We got our perfect room on the first floor, completely at the back of the building. A little patio fenced in where the kids could play. Apart from an occasional cable car in the far distance, no traffic noise at all.The kitchen is fully equipped and has everything you need for meal preparation. The main room is more then large enough the fit in a couple of kids. The pull out sofa becomes a very decent bed, large enough for two. The main room has a dining table for four which is wonderful for all the meals you share as a family. The bedroom is significantly smaller but again very well equipped with a double bed. The only thing needing a bit of an update is the bathroom. It is old! Very well cleaned, well painted and maintained but it can't hide it's age.

Let's give a short summary of the neighborhood why this spot is perfect for families. Public transport is very close by. Cable car and bus have stops in front of the hotel. The end of the tramline in Fisherman's Wharf is only a couple of blocks away. The outdoor Maritime Museum and little beach only three blocks down. Supermarket about a mile away.

Make sure to book this hotel way in advance because due to its size and reasonably price it fills up pretty soon! I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Francisco especially when traveling with children!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view request one on the street sides. If you want a quiet room, ask one on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hotel is located just a few blocks from Fisherman's Wharf, and is on the Powell and Hyde Cable car line. There is roof top patio with an awesome 270 degree view of the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, the Bay, and the Oakland Bay Bridge. As for the room, traveling with 5 childhood girlfriends and having just one bathroom.....well, it was a bit of a challenge every morning. We did have more than enough beds with the two bedroom unit. Kitchen was small but with a regular size refrigerator. Our stay was for 3 nights in May, temperature was in the 80's.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Like others have noted the outside or exterior is not elegant, but once inside it is a cozy hotel and it is like having an apartment for a few days. My wife and I like to have breakfast in and sometimes lunch and then eat supper out. It is only a couple of blocks to the waterfront, but those two blocks allow you to avoid the packed and touristy waterfront. Staff was great and the view from the rooftop was wonderful. There is no swimming pool and no exercise area but SF is made for walking and you can get plenty of exercise.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 and it had a small area outside where you could sit. Other rooms probably had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.