We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites That Hit The Sweet Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Suites at Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249 (Fisherman’s Wharf)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Suites That Hit The Sweet Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A delayed review due to unforseen circumstances here but I do need to share our very positive experience of the Suites. Despite a very stressful start to the stay when we arrived late to be told that there was no room at the inn - in spite of a reservation made about nine months earlier, everything was resolved efficiently and satisfactorily. In many respects, through adversity one can often see positives that would otherwise have been hidden. Fo us, although we would not wish to experience the stressful situation again, we have to congratulate the team at this hotel for the manner in which they dealt with the problem and resolved it. Without the problem we may not have seen how caring and thoughtful the staff indeed are.

The accommodation itself is superb: spacious, clean and comfortable with spectacular views from the roof terrace where we enjoyed a morning coffee in the sunshine looking out over Alcatraz and beyond. The location is excellent, close to Fisherman's Wharf, the Quays, Alcatraz and with a historic tram stop just outside the building from where we were able to travel into the shopping area, riding the slopes of San Francisco in historic luxury if not comfort!

Highly recommended! Stay here - but just make sure there is always a room left for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    118
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
200
195
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I and our two teenage children stayed in a one-bedroom suite in late June and overall were pleased with our stay.

Positives:
1) The 1-bedroom suite is spacious. I particularly liked that there was still room to move about the living room with the roll-out bed rolled out.
2) Rooftop balcony. Walk up to the fourth floor for a great view of the wharf and Alcatraz, and on clear days, the Golden Gate Bridge.
3) Location. Easy walking distance to Ghirardelli's Square and Fisherman's Wharf. Directly on the line for the Powell-Hyde cable car and bus lines to Chinatown and other locations in San Francisco.
4) The kitchen, with its full-size fridge and stove and microwave and dishwasher, helped us prepare breakfast every day and a couple of other meals. (There is a Trader Joe's and a Safeway on Bay St about four blocks from the hotel.)
5) On site parking. Charged at $20 per day First come, first served.
6) Wi-fi at no additional charge.;


Negatives:
1) No A/C and no natural breezeway. We stayed in a third floor suite, and even though highs outside were only in the mid-70s and it was breezy, the temperature in the suite climbed into the mid-80s. The windows only open a little bit and open to the outdoors on only one side of the suite. We eventually had to keep the front door of the suite open to allow any breeze.
2) Noise. Half or more of the suites either face North Pointe St with its vehicular traffic noise or Hyde St with its cable car noise (Cable cars operate from about 0600 to about 0100 every day.)
3) Dated. Don't expect recently remodeled suites. This building looks like it's from the 60s.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was looking for a suite with separate bedrooms to stay with our teenagers. The 2 bedroom suite is hard to get -- calling and talking to someone helped me to time my reservation and ultimately get it. The suite is big, with a kitchen (full-sized refrigerator), and a small bathroom. The location is great. I did not find the noise from the cable cars a problem at all. Roof-top deck with chairs and tables is a great touch. On the negative side -- this is an older building, and we could hear everything from the kids running above us. Also, they had a plumbing problem and shut off the water for 7 HOURS! Their solution if you needed to use the bathroom -- go down the block and use Starbucks. Glad I had showered that morning . . .

Room Tip: Call 2 months ahead to get the elusive 2-BR suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at dozens of SF hotels in my life... and IMHO this one had got to have the best location for Wharf-are fun!

This hotel puts you one block from Ghirardelli, two blocks from the Cannery centers; depending on your room, may give you screaming view of the Bay with Alcatraz at center; and sits you right next to the Hyde Cable Car line. You will have a balcony and furniture from which to take all this in, too.

The property is a bit sterile, and lacks charm (let's add some splashes of color and flowers, SAFW!). I get the sense that many of the rooms are corporate apartments or long-term leases. Thus there isn't that hustle-bustle of a "real" hotel.

However, it does have spacious, clean, comfortable updated rooms which can't be beat for families and/or long stays. Our kitchen was new, well-equiped and sparkling clean. You will be very comfortable. We felt quite at home even though our stay was short (this time!).

The service was nice, too.

Be warned: the rooms on the eastern end (#s 100, 200, and 300) truly hear the running cable and cable cars all day, starting at 6 a.m. Atmospheric!?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I can't say enough fabulous things about this place. My mom and I traveled with my 2 and 9 year old and it was just a perfect place to relax and enjoy after our busy days with the near full kitchen, living room and bedroom. We stayed in room 100 and there was a great balcony to enjoy the views and the terrace on top was fabulous. My only complaint was the room above us needed some WD-40 to relieve the squeaky floor :) The cable car stops outside the bedroom window and runs until 11 pm but after the first night, we either got used to the noise or were so exhausted, we did not notice it again. The alarm clocks have nature sounds so that helped too. We took our snacks and wine to the terrace on top and thoroughly enjoyed the sights of Alcatraz and the GG bridge. The parking garage is tiny but we managed to get our suburban in and out without any problem. It's a small complex and felt like my old college apartment.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate, this was an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great location in a great city! Stayed 5 nights, the suite is quite spacious, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was a tiny bit small but bigger than you get in some hotels. The kitchen was well equipped (although I still believe that this type of place should have a small bottle of oil and plastic wrap etc). The wifi was free but not reliable - lots of drop outs. Staff were great. Laundry on site - buy washing powder from reception$1:00; $1.50 for washer $1:50 for dryer. Trolley car right outside, F cable car close by - quick walk to Fisherman's wharf. Had no problem with noise. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OHIo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Simply the only place to stay in San Francisco. A small (34 suites) apartment hotel, with attached parking deck, the Suites at Fisherman's Wharf provides a welcome respite from the typical hotel room. The Powell/Hyde cable car stops at the hotel's door. Public bus line is a block away, providing convenient transportation. Cab service is fairly easy, also, with Gary Danko Restaurant across the street having dining patrons dropped off and picked up regularly. The apts. themselves are roomy and comfortable - providing room to spread out and feel like you are at home. The staff is efficient, welcoming and informative. Visit the famous Buena Vista Café two blocks down for Irish coffee and breakfast. Pick up wine and cheese and watch magnificent sunsets over San Francisco Bay from the rooftop terrace. You must book in advance, as this property is a time-share and fills up quickly. The value is extraordinary for San Francisco-even the parking fee is half of other neighborhood hotels. My home away from home at the Bay!

Room Tip: Request balcony rooms for stunning bay and city views. They fill up fast, though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.