We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Location in Fisherman's Wharf!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Suites at Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
Ranked #4 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“The Best Location in Fisherman's Wharf!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed at dozens of SF hotels in my life... and IMHO this one had got to have the best location for Wharf-are fun!

This hotel puts you one block from Ghirardelli, two blocks from the Cannery centers; depending on your room, may give you screaming view of the Bay with Alcatraz at center; and sits you right next to the Hyde Cable Car line. You will have a balcony and furniture from which to take all this in, too.

The property is a bit sterile, and lacks charm (let's add some splashes of color and flowers, SAFW!). I get the sense that many of the rooms are corporate apartments or long-term leases. Thus there isn't that hustle-bustle of a "real" hotel.

However, it does have spacious, clean, comfortable updated rooms which can't be beat for families and/or long stays. Our kitchen was new, well-equiped and sparkling clean. You will be very comfortable. We felt quite at home even though our stay was short (this time!).

The service was nice, too.

Be warned: the rooms on the eastern end (#s 100, 200, and 300) truly hear the running cable and cable cars all day, starting at 6 a.m. Atmospheric!?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    111
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
190
192
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I can't say enough fabulous things about this place. My mom and I traveled with my 2 and 9 year old and it was just a perfect place to relax and enjoy after our busy days with the near full kitchen, living room and bedroom. We stayed in room 100 and there was a great balcony to enjoy the views and the terrace on top was fabulous. My only complaint was the room above us needed some WD-40 to relieve the squeaky floor :) The cable car stops outside the bedroom window and runs until 11 pm but after the first night, we either got used to the noise or were so exhausted, we did not notice it again. The alarm clocks have nature sounds so that helped too. We took our snacks and wine to the terrace on top and thoroughly enjoyed the sights of Alcatraz and the GG bridge. The parking garage is tiny but we managed to get our suburban in and out without any problem. It's a small complex and felt like my old college apartment.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate, this was an excellent choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great location in a great city! Stayed 5 nights, the suite is quite spacious, the bed comfortable, the bathroom was a tiny bit small but bigger than you get in some hotels. The kitchen was well equipped (although I still believe that this type of place should have a small bottle of oil and plastic wrap etc). The wifi was free but not reliable - lots of drop outs. Staff were great. Laundry on site - buy washing powder from reception$1:00; $1.50 for washer $1:50 for dryer. Trolley car right outside, F cable car close by - quick walk to Fisherman's wharf. Had no problem with noise. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OHIo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Simply the only place to stay in San Francisco. A small (34 suites) apartment hotel, with attached parking deck, the Suites at Fisherman's Wharf provides a welcome respite from the typical hotel room. The Powell/Hyde cable car stops at the hotel's door. Public bus line is a block away, providing convenient transportation. Cab service is fairly easy, also, with Gary Danko Restaurant across the street having dining patrons dropped off and picked up regularly. The apts. themselves are roomy and comfortable - providing room to spread out and feel like you are at home. The staff is efficient, welcoming and informative. Visit the famous Buena Vista Café two blocks down for Irish coffee and breakfast. Pick up wine and cheese and watch magnificent sunsets over San Francisco Bay from the rooftop terrace. You must book in advance, as this property is a time-share and fills up quickly. The value is extraordinary for San Francisco-even the parking fee is half of other neighborhood hotels. My home away from home at the Bay!

Room Tip: Request balcony rooms for stunning bay and city views. They fill up fast, though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

From the minute we walk into the hotel, we are impressed with the cleaness of the place and how well kept everything is. The check-in staff, Rewena, is a delight, nothing is too troublesome for her, as I had a couple of requests for our stay.
Get to the room, WOW! can't believe how spacious the one-bedroom apartment is. The bedroom is away from the street, so it is nice and quiet. The living/dining room is huge with a large L-shaped lounge, and there's a large balcony, the view from here is amazing, we could see the bay and Alcatraz, also the intersection of the cable car and the electric bus, which has provided my 4yo son with loads of entertainment and delight. A separate kitchen that's fully equipped with stove, fridge, microwave, etc. There's also a storage room for the luggage, which is handy to keep everything put away.
The location of this hotel is fantastic, we are just on the 'edge' of the touristy Fisherman's Wharf area, which is a bit quieter, also we can walk the full length of the bay front, then come straight back to the hotel. There's a cable car stop right outside the hotel or we can walk tot he terminus, which is one block away, where we are 'guaranteed' a seat. Lombard Street is only two blocks aways.
Highly recommend this hotel for its fantastic location, spacious rooms and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Need to book early for rooms in this hotel, as they book out very fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is the place to stay if you are visiting San Francisco for a few days or longer. The staff are friendly and informative, the location is sensational with public transport (bus and tram) on the door step and the apartments are large and comfortable. Yes not much to fault here with the rooftop offering amazing views of the bay and Alcatraz and the apartments with lounge, dining and kitchen its a perfect place to camp and explore this amazing city.
Whilst it maybe a little dated depending on which apartment you get (we had 301 on the corner) its functional, roomy and the beds are comfy. The tram runs past from early morning till late at night but its not annoying in anyway. I found this place on trip advisor and it was hard to book, but be patient and persistent as its worth every cent.
There is a laundry on the lower level so you can do your laundry which I did before our cruise.
Public transport in SF is easy just get a MUNI pass and you can navigate the city like a local
I cannot recommend this place enough, I would stay here again without hesitation. It deserves number 5 on the list in fact in regards to value for money even higher.
If you like to be self sufficient and don't need the fancy room service and breakfast this is the place for you!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I arrived in San Francisco late on a Friday night as our flight out of Denver was delayed. When we arrived at the San Francisco airport we had to do the usual and even more tiring adventure of finding our luggage and then getting a taxi. Needless to say we were tired and a bit cranky. When we arrived at the property we were greeted by a wonderful and warm-hearted attendant (sorry but I forgot his name) who checked us in promptly and answered any and all questions that we had (in fact all the staff we met were fantastic!!). Our room was on the first floor. We took the elevator up to the level, passed the inviting center court yard with the bubbling water fountain, and found our room very easily. The first thing we noted about the property was that it was very quiet and exceptionally clean. We walked into our room and instantly felt as though we were at home. We loved it and everything about it - the décor, the well-equipped kitchen, and again, the cleanliness and the homey-feeling. We had heard about the rooftop deck so after unpacking we took the stairs to the third floor an onto the deck. What was waiting for us was almost beyond words - the lights of the bay ... an awesome view of Alcatraz ... after a lengthy trip to get here this was EXACTLY what we needed. Instantly our crankiness was gone. We knew right there and then we had chosen the perfect place to stay. I kind of hate to tell you about this place because I know that once you stay here you will want to come back again and again and thus, the secret will get out! There were many other "big-name" hotels in the area; however, I can guarantee you that nothing can compare to the tranquility, views and friendliness of this property. The others that we met said almost the exact same thing. If you like the bay area, being able to step out the Hyde Street entrance and hop on the trolley (we did this a couple of times but mostly walked everywhere), the freedom of making some (or all if you chose) of your own meals (we made our own breakfasts each day for the duration of our stay), and drinking wine on a rooftop deck and just watching everything below you, then this IS the place for you. However, if you are into concrete, the usual corporate and commercial fair, the big-time expense, the hustle and bustle, the noise, the small rooms, etc. then this is NOT the place for you. On our next visit we will definitely be staying in the Suites at Fisherman's Wharf. Can you tell - WE LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

Room Tip: To be honest it really didn't matter what room we had. We could hear the trolley once in a while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.