We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apartments & location - we loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Suites at Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
Ranked #4 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent apartments & location - we loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent value for money apartment in the Fisherman's Wharf area of San Francisco which had all amenities, restaurants & bars within walking distance as well as a cable car stop just outside the door which services Union Square for lots of shopping! The apartment was extremely comfortable & clean, the service was outstanding and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    111
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
190
192
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I just returned from a 2 night stay at The Suites at Fisherman's Wharf. It was recommended to me by a friend and I was really happy to have been able to get a reservation there.

Let me start off by saying that this place is wonderful for families. PERFECT in that it has a full fridge and microwave. We made a quick trip down to Safeway market to pick up some milk and cereal, fruit and waters for our 3 day stay in the city.

We (Me, hubby and boys, ages 10 and 12) stayed in the 1 bedroom suite. The boys were quite comfortable in the pull out sofa and my hubby and I slept fine in the bedroom. Both rooms were clean and comfortable.

The location was awesome. We didn't have a rental car and we were able to go all over the city without a problem. One day, we walked the 2 blocks down to the Famous Cable car turnaround and took it all the way into downtown where we visited Yerba Buena Gardens. Hopped right back on and it dropped us at Lombard street on way back in late afternoon. From Lombard, its a short walk (downhill...whew) to the hotel.
Pier 39 is not a far walk either.

Here are the only minor CONS I feel the need to comment on:
1) There is no air-conditioning in this hotel (and many places in the city. I guess its too environmentally unfriendly?) Opening the windows for fresh air works great but then there is the noise of the city and other hotel guests around you.
2) Bathroom is tiny and there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Weird. You can open the tiny window in there but it takes a while for the steam to dissipate after showers.
3) There were no screens on the windows in the bedroom and the bathroom. You open the window (again, a definite must since there is no A/C) and you can literally stick your hand right out of the window. I found that very strange.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would definitely try to stay on the top floor at Hyde and North Point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a GREAT find, especially for families. The "hotel" is a converted apartment complex about two blocks from the Wharf. The suite we had was a 1 bedroom 1 bath with a full kitchen and a full size sofa bed in the living room. The suite was very clean and well kept. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and accomadating. We stocked up on breakfast stuff and ate every morning on the roof of the building looking out at the bay. We couldn't have asked for a better accommadations. It was fabulous. My two boys love SF and we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Cable car stop and bus lines 30 and 47 right outside the hotel. Short walk to fisherman's wharf. We had a corner room with a balcony. One bedroom with a sleeper sofa in the living room was perfect for a family of 4. Full kitchen and convenient store one block away made eating in a nice option. Staff were great. Went out of their way to make us feel at home.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Suites at Fisherman's Wharf had it all. Excellent location not only to the wharfs and a number of restaurants, but also with a cable car stop right outside your front door. The rooms were spacious, and clean. A wide screen TV in both the bedroom and living room. It looks like the previous reviewer had a problem with their room being cleaned. I'd say this was a "one-off" problem as ours was cleaned daily. Staff were always available and very friendly and the roof-top area was great for a relaxing drink and nibble after a big day out. We would have no hesitation in giving this place an "excellent" rating

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

You simply cannot beat the price and location. One block from Ghirardelli square, walking distance to the touristy piers, tons of bars and attractions right by the hotel. Numerous bus lines had stops right next door to the hotel, and the rooftop view was fantastic.
The suites are spacious, the kitchens were a great feature, and the beds were comfortable. Our suite was clean when we arrived, but housekeeping didn't once clean our room during our stay, including on a day that I explicitly asked someone from housekeeping to clean our room. The internet connection was pretty slow, too, but none of that really mattered, since for the most part we were out and about.
I would 100% come here again, if I get the chance! Rooms are often booked months in advance, and for good reason!

Room Tip: The street-side rooms get pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I thought this place was only two blocks from the wharf. Well yes it is if you want to be five block from the main fisherman's wharf and ten block from pier 39. I am just tired of the lies. This place is old looking and doesn't appear to be in a safe area. The rooms do look updated but I was frightened to walk back y my self.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_FW, General Manager at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Fisherman's Wharf extends from Van Ness at Fort Mason to Pier 39. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you felt you were lied to. Our website mentions that Pier 39 is a "short stroll" from the property, which depending upon the walking speed of our guests, can range anywhere from 10-20 minutes. Unfortunately, there are no hotels that are not at least 1 block away from the wharf so all of the hotels state that guests are able "walk to attractions like Pier 39, etc..."

Also, you mentioned that the property does not appear to be in a safe area. On that part I must disagree. Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco has been in the top 10 most traveled locations in the United States for many, many years now and is a valuable area for tourism and sight seeing. The city government as well as local law enforcement are aware of this and act accordingly. Sadly bad things can and do happen anywhere so we always recommend to be aware of yourself and your surroundings wherever you go, whether at home or travelling.

San Francisco is home to some of the best restaurants and shopping in the United States. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.