We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Suites at Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
Ranked #4 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Cable car stop and bus lines 30 and 47 right outside the hotel. Short walk to fisherman's wharf. We had a corner room with a balcony. One bedroom with a sleeper sofa in the living room was perfect for a family of 4. Full kitchen and convenient store one block away made eating in a nice option. Staff were great. Went out of their way to make us feel at home.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    109
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
186
189
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Suites at Fisherman's Wharf had it all. Excellent location not only to the wharfs and a number of restaurants, but also with a cable car stop right outside your front door. The rooms were spacious, and clean. A wide screen TV in both the bedroom and living room. It looks like the previous reviewer had a problem with their room being cleaned. I'd say this was a "one-off" problem as ours was cleaned daily. Staff were always available and very friendly and the roof-top area was great for a relaxing drink and nibble after a big day out. We would have no hesitation in giving this place an "excellent" rating

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

You simply cannot beat the price and location. One block from Ghirardelli square, walking distance to the touristy piers, tons of bars and attractions right by the hotel. Numerous bus lines had stops right next door to the hotel, and the rooftop view was fantastic.
The suites are spacious, the kitchens were a great feature, and the beds were comfortable. Our suite was clean when we arrived, but housekeeping didn't once clean our room during our stay, including on a day that I explicitly asked someone from housekeeping to clean our room. The internet connection was pretty slow, too, but none of that really mattered, since for the most part we were out and about.
I would 100% come here again, if I get the chance! Rooms are often booked months in advance, and for good reason!

Room Tip: The street-side rooms get pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I thought this place was only two blocks from the wharf. Well yes it is if you want to be five block from the main fisherman's wharf and ten block from pier 39. I am just tired of the lies. This place is old looking and doesn't appear to be in a safe area. The rooms do look updated but I was frightened to walk back y my self.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_FW, General Manager at Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Fisherman's Wharf extends from Van Ness at Fort Mason to Pier 39. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you felt you were lied to. Our website mentions that Pier 39 is a "short stroll" from the property, which depending upon the walking speed of our guests, can range anywhere from 10-20 minutes. Unfortunately, there are no hotels that are not at least 1 block away from the wharf so all of the hotels state that guests are able "walk to attractions like Pier 39, etc..."

Also, you mentioned that the property does not appear to be in a safe area. On that part I must disagree. Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco has been in the top 10 most traveled locations in the United States for many, many years now and is a valuable area for tourism and sight seeing. The city government as well as local law enforcement are aware of this and act accordingly. Sadly bad things can and do happen anywhere so we always recommend to be aware of yourself and your surroundings wherever you go, whether at home or travelling.

San Francisco is home to some of the best restaurants and shopping in the United States. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in this beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is great if you can get in. There are only 25 rooms. All suites. We had a great view but if you get a back room you can always go to the top deck and hang out there. I did not see any other hotels that have a roof top. Half the rooms face the back. It is very close to the warf, Ghirardelli's for ice cream, the busses, trollie and many restaurants. We liked Buena Vista one block down hill. They are famous for the Irish Coffee. I don't drink coffee but these are great. They have tables for 8. If there are 2 empty seats you ask if you can see with them. We walked to the warf many times and up the hill to Mama's. Don't go to Mama's on the weekend. I would try Buena Vista for breakfast if I had to do it over again on Sunday. Shuttle will take you too and from the airport for $11 if you call yourself or $16 if you have the hotel do it for you. That took less and half and hour. I'm sure if you take the BART it would be much longer and not as easy. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful. I heard people complain about noise but I guess if you let it bother you, it will.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed 4 nights after a 2 week ski trip in Tahoe and found the bed SUPREMELY comfortable considering all our aches and pains.
Everything in our one bedroom suite was high quality.
Kitchen and bathroom on the small side but didn't matter.
Bedroom and lounge room great.
The location is perfect for sightseeing and the staff were very helpful with directions.
The view from the roof is amazing using quaint old elevator!
I booked this hotel purely from the reviews on Tripadivsor and was not disappointed.
Would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: We did not have a room facing the street so did not get any street noise thankfully
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Suites at Fisherman's Wharf. The staff are friendly and helpful. We had a one bedroom suite which was just about perfect. The bedroom had adequate storage space, a very comfortable king size bed and flat screen TV. The living room was nice & spacious and comfortably furnished. The kitchenette had a microwave, kettle, toaster etc.The apartment was very clean, as were the communal areas. We had a first floor apartment which had a veranda. On the fourth floor there is a roof terrace which has fantastic views of the Bay area. The street car and the trolley bus (number 30), stop right outside the apartments and both go in to town. The water pressure wasn't great, which meant showering took longer than normal. Also, the wifi wasn't good in the apartment but worked fine in the central court yard. When we plan our next trip to San Francisco, we will definitely book to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.