We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on the way north” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Suites at Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
Ranked #4 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stop on the way north”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My Husband and I drive to Oregon every 6 months from Texas, and we stopped here on our last trip in January 2013. This was a wonderful splurge as we call it for it was pricey but worth every penny? Gary was very nice and helpful and so was Tim in the bar. We would of liked a better view room but we were told it was almost booked completely, but the room it self was very cozy and nice, one of the better hotels we've stayed at located in a big city. We are huge breakfast fans and this breakfast here was wonderful, so Thank you very much Suites at Fishermans Wharf, that whole Wharf is just so neat theres nothing else like it in the world, Its got vegas street performers with a mix of harbor fishing and smell of fish. We will be back to San Francisco in the near future and we will let everyone know of our great time here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    111
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
190
192
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Helpful staff
Nice room
Great location
Very noisy especially at night when trying to sleep. We were on the corner of the building where the cable car goes past and there was lots of noise from the cable car and traffic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights - it was our first visit to San Francisco and the hotel, although quite old, was fine as a base for sightseeing. The trolly car ran in the street below and, as one visitor mentioned, was quite noisy but we were so tired after a days sightseeing it did not interfere with our sleep - from the roof you can see the Golden Gate bridge and Alcatraz - both of which we visited. The suites are quite large with a kitchen - ideal if you have a family but we only brewed tea or coffee. The hotel is quite airy - the lift ancient but lovely - the staff were very helpful and all in all I would recommend this hotel. Stayed with husband, sister and her husband.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Suites at Fisherman's Wharf is an excellent choice for a family! The suites are spacious and confortable. The trolly car that ran below the front room window adds to the ambiance that is San Francisco. From the patio on the roof we have a wonderful view of famous landmarks - Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge to name just a couple. As others have commented, the parking situation is a little tricky.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Absolutely perfect location, awesome rooftop patio that overlooks Alcatraz, and very large and clean rooms!!! About one block down towards the bay is The Buena Vista, where you MUST get a world famous Irish coffee, and then 10 steps further is Fishermans Wharf where the party begins!!!

Room Tip: If you're lucky you will get a balcony that overlooks North Point Street and Hyde, right where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed from 1/26 to 2/2 and couldn't have been happier...the rooftop with the incredible views is to die for.....found everyone, including Rowena, most helpful....can't wait to return to the Suites and this beautiful city.

Room Tip: I don't see how you could go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband, 1 year old, and I travel often due to the nature of my husband's career. After reviewing what others had said, I thought this place would be perfect for us. It was in a nice location but extremely noisy. The room would shake when the trolly bus would go by. The room had a nice kitchenette fully stocked with everything you would need to prepare your own meals. It was clean, for the most part, but did have an old musty smell. The bathroom was tiny but did have a tub so I could bathe the baby. It is an old building that seemed more like an apartment complex than hotel, but it was quite nice to have the two bedrooms and kitchen.
There isn't a restaurant on the premises but that never bothers us as we like to dine out. It was a comfortable hotel, HOWEVER, the staff is why I am giving this hotel a TERRIBLE rating. The staff is everything for me when traveling. When we first arrived, the gentleman at the desk was EXTREMELY professional and nice. He smiled and made us feel very welcome and even recommended a nice pizza place we could order in from. We had asked if we needed to extend our stay another night for any reason, would it be ok. He said, "Of course!" It wasn't until the next day that we were informed by Rowena, the RUDE lady at the front desk, that we could not because they were over booked. She never apologized or tried to help us in any way to maybe even find another hotel close by for us. She had the worst customer service I have ever encountered. She was very unprofessional and I would never have anyone represent my hotel with that type of attitude. I ended up speaking with the assistant general manager, Chris, and he managed to have a room available for us magically appear after being told they had none available for us for the last hour. We would have to move rooms and it was only a one bedroom. I was so angry and disappointed by the lack of professionalism and terrible customer service, that I couldn't accept. We left immediately and I will never come back or recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.