We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Save Saved
You added Suites at Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suites at Fisherman's Wharf
2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249 (Russian Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Located in the heart of Fisherman's Wharf!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Suites at Fisherman's Wharf is an excellent choice for a family! The suites are spacious and confortable. The trolly car that ran below the front room window adds to the ambiance that is San Francisco. From the patio on the roof we have a wonderful view of famous landmarks - Alcatraz and the Golden Gate Bridge to name just a couple. As others have commented, the parking situation is a little tricky.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    108
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
184
187
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Absolutely perfect location, awesome rooftop patio that overlooks Alcatraz, and very large and clean rooms!!! About one block down towards the bay is The Buena Vista, where you MUST get a world famous Irish coffee, and then 10 steps further is Fishermans Wharf where the party begins!!!

Room Tip: If you're lucky you will get a balcony that overlooks North Point Street and Hyde, right where t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed from 1/26 to 2/2 and couldn't have been happier...the rooftop with the incredible views is to die for.....found everyone, including Rowena, most helpful....can't wait to return to the Suites and this beautiful city.

Room Tip: I don't see how you could go wrong with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband, 1 year old, and I travel often due to the nature of my husband's career. After reviewing what others had said, I thought this place would be perfect for us. It was in a nice location but extremely noisy. The room would shake when the trolly bus would go by. The room had a nice kitchenette fully stocked with everything you would need to prepare your own meals. It was clean, for the most part, but did have an old musty smell. The bathroom was tiny but did have a tub so I could bathe the baby. It is an old building that seemed more like an apartment complex than hotel, but it was quite nice to have the two bedrooms and kitchen.
There isn't a restaurant on the premises but that never bothers us as we like to dine out. It was a comfortable hotel, HOWEVER, the staff is why I am giving this hotel a TERRIBLE rating. The staff is everything for me when traveling. When we first arrived, the gentleman at the desk was EXTREMELY professional and nice. He smiled and made us feel very welcome and even recommended a nice pizza place we could order in from. We had asked if we needed to extend our stay another night for any reason, would it be ok. He said, "Of course!" It wasn't until the next day that we were informed by Rowena, the RUDE lady at the front desk, that we could not because they were over booked. She never apologized or tried to help us in any way to maybe even find another hotel close by for us. She had the worst customer service I have ever encountered. She was very unprofessional and I would never have anyone represent my hotel with that type of attitude. I ended up speaking with the assistant general manager, Chris, and he managed to have a room available for us magically appear after being told they had none available for us for the last hour. We would have to move rooms and it was only a one bedroom. I was so angry and disappointed by the lack of professionalism and terrible customer service, that I couldn't accept. We left immediately and I will never come back or recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed @ Suites of Fisherman's Wharf over the Christmas week which turns out to be a good time to visit San Francisco. The weather is usually better in the late fall than late summer. The Suites are ideally located -- and the view is fantastic from the Roof top terrace, also from the rooms facing the Bay. The suites are quite spacious and comfortable.and the staff provided excellent service! They were very friendly and attentive, always giving service with a smile The location is fabulous with cable cars literally on the door step giving you a thrilling ride to the center of SF. Also there is a bus stop right in front..And you are within walking distance to a number of places, i.e., Ghirardelli Square, The Cannery, The Bay and Fisherman's Wharf.. When in San Francisco I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I appreciate a few days in San Francisco on the way back to northern Michigan from Hawaii. We love the clean, spacious suites and it is so easy to walk to the wharf, restaurants, shopping, & the cable car passes our door. The staff, particularly Edgar and Oscar on our most recent trip, always have helpful ideas. We enjoy going to the roof and enjoying the fresh air, scenery and harbor activity. If you have a sweet tooth Ghiardelli's is a block away.
I think Bob Hope said it first, "thanks for the memories" and we look forward to our next visit. Alice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Spent a week in San Francisco and stayed at the Suites at Fisherman's Wharf. Can't say enough good things about the place. We traded a time share week from Puerto Rico so we could visit my son who lives in the SF area. The location was perfect for us. We had a 1 bedroom unit with a sleeper couch which my other adult son used. The bed was comfortable and no complaints from my son who slept on the couch. The unit was a nice size, more of a one bedroom apartment then a hotel room. The kitchen was adequate and could be used for breakfast ,lunch and dinner meals but we ate dinner out most days. The location was centrally located in the tourist area with cable and trolly cars nearby. The best part was the rooftop deck with total views of the entire SF bay. The hotel was neat and clean with a friendly staff. Fresh towels and maid service every day. There was a washer and dryer available along with garage parking($20 daily charge) if you rent a car. The hotel is so close to everything we only rented a car for 2 days to visit the wine country up north and a trip south to Halfmoon Bay. I would definitely stay there again on my next visit to SF

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 2655 Hyde Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-1249
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 24 spacious suites, The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf is the perfect choice for discriminating travelers who want to leave their heart in the heart of San Francisco. The spacious suites offer you comfortable one or two-bedroom floor plans, each tastefully appointed with the furnishings you’d expect from a sophisticated San Francisco hotel. The intimate ambiance of the property is evident in features like the fountain in the lobby, and the private balconies and patios available in selected suites. Located next to the Hyde Street Cable Car stop, you’re just a short stroll from the sensory pleasures of Fisheerman’s Wharf, or the turn of the century ambiance of The Cannery, Pier 39, or the undersea secrets of the Aquarium of the Bay. This lyrical city by the bay will take you wherever your imagination allows, and The Suites at Fisherman’s Wharf San Francisco resort is the perfect place to begin your journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Suites at Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suites At Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Hotel At Fishermans Wharf
At Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Suites Fishermans Wharf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.