We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could eat here everyday! Yummm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delarosa

Delarosa
2175 Chestnut Street, San Francisco, CA (Marina District)
415.673.7100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 4,525 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marina District
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Could eat here everyday! Yummm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place is fun, bright, open and has delicious-inventive-fresh Roman inspired food. Love the Eggplant caponatina w/ burrata, Carpaccio of sliced gold and red beets and truffle oil, shaved ricotta salata (perfect blend of sweet beets w/ greens and truffle oil), the meatballs and the pizza! Also the cocktails are great and it's fun for a wknd night. Great value for $

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    34
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just out for pizza...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for a decent pizza after another long day of tours amd walking. Looked on TA of course and chose Delarosa. Heard it was noisy, I didn't think it was too bad. Heard it was great food...it was. We started with a couple of their signature cocktails, tequila sour and whiskey #3. They were top notch. We had the recommended "Fennel Sausage" pizza. The smoky taste from the cheese and fresh tasting fennel sausage was out of this world. We left with total satisfaction.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Trendy, busy and noisy but food good !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This restaurant is on Chestnut in the Marina district and every evening that we passed it was very busy and had folks sitting under the outdoor heaters on the sidewalk.

We were lucky to get our own table inside rather then having to share to one of the long communal tables/benches. It was extremely hard to talk due to the terrific noise from other customers and the sound system. This does make communication to your server difficult and do check your bill as now 5,400 miles away I see I was overcharged for my beers!

Two pizzas plus a large salad was enough for the four of us but none of the Orange Kush beers came with an orange slice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh Delicious food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in San Franscisco for a few days, and had no idea where to eat on our last evening there. We wandered down Chestnut Street and this place caught our eye. It sounded busy, which is always a good sign.
This place is totally unexpected! All food is very fresh, and has different menu items but not "exotic" different. yes, it was busy, but it's a small place so it's not like we were yelling at eachother across the table. Very intimate and friendly atmosphere.
We went with another couple and shared a few dishes, on recommendation from our server. Our server was fantastic, very knowledgable and her recommendations were delicious! We were hoping not to spend a huge amount of money, this was no problem. The four of us had wine, beer, and left feeling full for about $50/couple.

This is the perfect destination for an evening out with friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and coffee - very trendy atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ok so this place was probably a little bit too trendy for me - but the kids were hungry and so we just walked on in.

I'm very glad that we did as the food was superb. Two of the kids had the Margherita pizza and it was fantastic (I tried a piece), one of the older kids had the Goats Cheese and Roasted Pepper Panini - fantastic I also had a piece of this!!

I had the Spinach Ravioli with Tomato Basil - it was sublime - I wish it was a little larger but still I almost had to stop myself licking the plate....

Hubby had the Spiedini (skewers) and he said they were delicious.

We both had coffee (espresso) and it was probably the best coffee I'd had in San Francisco.

Very happy and very reasonably priced.

All up for 5 of us with drinks cost $90

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delarosa also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Delarosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delarosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.