We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and got a decent nights sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fusion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fusion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fusion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Gate Hotel San Francisco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
north west
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good location, clean and got a decent nights sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was in a great location. The service was really good and staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are tiny - it did not bother us that much - was a bit of a pain when trying to get stuff out of our two big suitcases (We were on a two week tour of various places so had a lot of luggage). The bathrooms were adequate although painted the same colour as the cells in Alcatraz. All in all did the job. I would have been disappointed if it was the only place we were staying but we really just wanted a place to get our heads down whilst in San Fran as we spent most of our time out and about. Its a great city. The location was ideal, service good and it was clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear rebecz456,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with, our location and our friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    324
    191
    69
    40
See reviews for
41
350
111
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This boutique hotel's location is right in Union Square and close to lots of shopping! After asking numerous times to fix the A/C (which not all rooms have), it was never fixed. The rooms are small (common for SF), bathrooms very small but clean. Breakfast is pretty good.

Room Tip: Make sure you have air conditioning - otherwise it is hot and stuffy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear JulieW1423,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location, and we are very sorry about the issues with the AC. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My room has no aircon.
There's barely enough room to fit my stuff in so most of it is on the floor.
I had to leave a 100$ deposit in case I take any towels when I leave, seriously, that's the reason I was given.
The fridge has no alcohol or sugar-free soda but there is a wallgreens five minutes walk away.
My window has a lovely view of a brick wall and a small patch of sky.
The breakfast offering is good, but it's in a tiny room which was already crowded at 7am (opening time) and there is no where to eat it. The coffee was awful, but the food was okay. Sadly there is no bananas or apples, only processed foods.
The staff are slightly incompetent and disinterested.
The bed and pillows are good and the ceiling fan is near silent, even at full speed.
There are no tourist advisers or pamphlets in the tiny lobby.
The TV works well and seems to have the standard shows.
The shower is small and there is no bathtub, but the shower floor is covered in non-slip rubber. This is the first time I've felt safe from slipping in the shower.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear YourTallest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion. We are sorry to hear that there were parts of your stay with us that you didn't enjoy. We appreciate your feedback and will be working on fixing these issues in the future.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is very well located. Very close to Union Square and Market St. The room is good and clean, but the staff is not helpfull. The leave waiting for a long time during check-in and when I checked-out and a taxi they tried to impose a driver of the hotel. As I refused, they only call the taxi half an hour later. So, if you are in hurry, choose another hotel and if decide to stay there, take care with the staff!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Marcos_Barbosa,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and rooms, but are sorry to hear you didn't receive the service you deserved. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly use it to better our service in the future.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was a great hotel to stay at to come and see San Francisco for the first time.
The location is very good if you are wanting to be "in the thick of things," as you are right downtown. Driving to the hotel was a little intimidating, however it can be done. :)
Having read previous review I knew that the rooms were small, however there was enough room to get around and that was all that mattered. I had a great sleep on my twin bed, and the shower worked really well. There is even a mini-fridge to keep things cool. I enjoyed being able to go and grab breakfast and eat it in my room, as it allowed me to relax and watch TV while eating.
The front desk staff were very friendly, even breaking my $20 bill for when I needed to take transit.
This was an excellent hotel for any first timer to the city, the rooms were quiet so that you couldn't hear any outside noise, there was a ton (!!!!) of shopping around. Once we parked our car we walked everywhere for the next few days.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, General Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear mshep87,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion for your recent trip to San Francisco. Driving in the city can be daunting, so we are glad you made it safely to us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Nice enough hotel, clean but a bit small.breakfeast was a bit odd, small room where you collect your food and eat it in your room but we managed.good location for restaurants and bars, there is a nightclub next door which we could hear so I'd stay on a higher floor but overall enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Ger D,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our location. We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to San Francisco.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Hotel leaves a lot to be desired but is relatively cheap and has a good position, breakfast is in a 'cupboard' on the top floor, collect what you want and return to your room. Michael, the concierge, is a ray of light, very personable and helpful...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Altiyan,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion for your recent trip to San Francisco. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location & friendly staff and appreciate the feedback. We are in the process of renovating the hotel, and hope we can address the concerns that you brought up.

Regards,
Hotel Fusion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fusion

Address: 140 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Gate Hotel San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fusion 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant fusion of old-world Asian and contemporary American styles, Hotel Fusion is an oasis in the heart of Union Square. Guest rooms are appointed with all brand new furnishings, rich wood accents and feature warm inviting colors. Located steps from major business centers and popular attractions, Hotel Fusion is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. Like San Francisco, Hotel Fusion is an ideal blend of culture, class and unparalleled personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fusion San Francisco
Hotel Fusion San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fusion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.