We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time to SF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fusion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fusion to your Saves list
Hotel Fusion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Gate Hotel San Francisco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
1 review
“1st time to SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

place was perfect in the middle of everything. Room a tad bit small but it was ok. Make sure you park somewhere else though I had pay 35+ a day cause I didn't check before had. But it was worth it for me since I parked the car and just took the cities transit system which is awesome traveled on buses and cable cars for like $15 all day long.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear mrchavez7,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Hotel Fusion's close proximity to everything. We appreciate your feedback and your 5 star review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    351
    202
    76
    46
See reviews for
49
378
116
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Little issue checking in but an otherwise great stay. I liked the location and there are great dining options very close by like crush. We would stay again. One of the best values around if you don't need all the bells and whistles.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear LoverOfFoodChico,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Hotel Fusion's close proximity to everything. We appreciate your feedback and your positive review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Went there for a conference and this hotel offers everything I need: free Wifi, free breakfast and great location. This is not a fancy hotel and the price is very reasonable (only a third to the hotel where my conference was held). Definitely recommend to anyone who want to enjoy the best out of San Francisco.

Room Tip: Room not facing the street is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Pipilin,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Wifi, breakfast, price, and location of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Hotel Fusion was a great choice for me and my wife in our trip to SF.
We booked a king room and it was great (i guess it was room 500). The room was comfortable and spacious. Location is awesome, near Union Square and lots of stores, restaurants, etc. The cable car station is around the corner. We had doubts about where we should stay: near Union Square or near Fishermans Wharf. We believe we made a great choice staying near Union Square. Staff is great and very helpful. There was this attendant with a little italian flag (unfortunatelly we dont remember her name) who helped my wife with the luggage, which was great, since i was returning the car nearby. Breakfast is ok, if you consider it is free. You have the basics: some kinds of bread, coffee, orange juice, milk, donnuts, cereal, etc. It is available at the 5th floor. You go there, grab what you want and take to your room. Wifi was not very good at our room. Signal was very weak and it was hard to connect. There are several restaurants and other places to eat around. We tried: Puccini & pinetti (across the street, good restaurant, difficult to get a table at night), Les Joulins Jazz Bistro (on the other block, good food, good prices and the live music was great when we were there), Subway (across the street, like any other subway in the world), The Cheesecake Factory (at Macys at Union Square - really crowded, difficult to get a table)...and there are Wallgreens and other supermarket-like options too. Although the street of the hotel is always busy, we didnt have problems with noise. So, i would definitely stay there again, it was a great choice.

Room Tip: I stayed at room 500 and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear asbarreto,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed Hotel Fusion's location and had the chance to experience some San Franciscan food! Thank you for the positive review, we hope to welcome you and your wife back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed in the hotel for seven days as my first time in San Francisco and found it excellent hotel and staff specially Ms Carmen - Hotel manager and Ms Elinas are the best. Over all I do recommend for all professional and people visiting San Francisco. Well clean hotel and comfy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Mosconeim,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. Thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate your positive review and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Location is excellent as it is a minute or two walk from the shopping district (H&M, Forever21, etc.) It's also very near the tram stop going to Fisherman's Wharf which is very convinient. There are quite a few good restaurants and diners around the area too. It would be perfect if you're not planning to stay in the hotel for very long (say go out in the morning and come back in the evening). The rooms are very small though. We had a 2 double room and there wasn't enough space to do some stretching in the morning. We also had a window which showed a very lovely aircondition from next door. It has all the basic features of a hotel (chair, a small table) They also have a "breakfast buffet" which actually is a very small room (around 10 people would fit) where you get to get your own breakfast (toast and mostly cakes and brownies that tasted terrible). If you're thinking "Ah, I should wake up early 'cause that would save me a few bucks for breakfast.", I suggest you don't. Don't wake up early to get their breakfast. You would be disappointed and would probably say you should've just slept those few bucks off. Hotel Fusion was a so-so kind of hotel, definitely not something you'd want to go back to and recomment though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear liveitmarg,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback about the room size, window view, and breakfast. We hope we may welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

In an area with numerous hotels at exorbitent prices, the Hotel Fusion is a nice surprise. It has all the basic features of a hotel, without any extras, in a great location, at a price that makes it very attractive if you don't plan to spend much time in the room.

It's a renovated older building, much like the Hotel Prescott. There's no fancy lobby. The rooms are small (and feel small). The mattress on the bed is cheap and firm. The walls are thin, so you'll clearly hear the activity in the adjacent rooms (whether sex or alarm clocks). But it has every basic amenity you would expect from any hotel, including free wifi. It's located in the heart of the Financial District, very close to the Powell St. BART station. When I booked less than 7 days in advance, I found a AAA rate of $135/night (plus tax).

So if you're visiting San Francisco for business or pleasure and want to splurge on something else other than the hotel room, the Hotel Fusion works.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Hotel Fusion, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear neeho,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fusion. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed many of the convinces of the hotel such as location, price, and WiFi. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fusion

Address: 140 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Formerly Gate Hotel San Francisco)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fusion 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant fusion of old-world Asian and contemporary American styles, Hotel Fusion is an oasis in the heart of Union Square. Guest rooms are appointed with all brand new furnishings, rich wood accents and feature warm inviting colors. Located steps from major business centers and popular attractions, Hotel Fusion is the perfect choice for leisure and business travelers. Like San Francisco, Hotel Fusion is an ideal blend of culture, class and unparalleled personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fusion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fusion San Francisco
Hotel Fusion San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fusion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.