We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Powell Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Powell Place
730 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (SoMa)   |  
Hotel amenities
cincy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great spoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

good location on Nob Hill. Try to rememer to take the cable car to California and walk down (the walk up could be a bear)
Nice staff especially Lucia (?)- evening person
Excellent maid service
for some reason even in November our suite got very warm but the fans helped quite a bit

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

this is 2nd time we stayed at this location & we are very happy with this property. located on the Powell mason/Hyde cable car line. also one block away from california cable car line. the maid service was excellent. WIFI internet service for $20. for the week. centrally located to get anywhere. small # of units so you have to get on a wait list to confirm exchange reservations but well worth the wait. one of the nicer exchange properties on RCI.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The time share property was wonderful. The maid service was great. Location wonderful too. Walk to trolley so great. Tom who works there is a nice guy gave us some good info. The rest of the staff needs some training in public relations. Not very friendly or helpful. You have tourists that are visiting and need to know what to see and the costs. It is always good to interact with you visitors and say hello and goodbye. How was you day. My family ran a bed and breakfast in Germany and we were warm and welcoming and interacted with our guests.

Room Tip: I think any room would be nice. Great view. It was like a little apartment. One bdrm with kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We called ahead for advice on which BART stop we should take to get to Powell Place (Montgomery stop), the Front Desk also advised NOT to walk from the stop to the hotel/timeshare even though it was less than 1/2 mile away. Instead she suggested a taxi (which was under $10); it was worth every penny. Powell Street is STEEP, we strongly suggest you adhere to this tip if you are taking the BART from SFO. Front desk personnel changed often and the personalities ranged from aloof/snobby to very friendly and helpful. The Hotel's front entrance is locked and you must be buzzed in; I thought this was a very good security measure although the area seemed very safe. We took several tours from two different tour companies and we were picked up very close to the hotel; very convenient.

Although the unit we had was described as a studio (4th floor/walkup only) we were pleasantly surprised of the layout of the unit. The kitchen was down a short hallway from the bedroom you'd pass the bathroom on the way. The kitchen had no ventilation and was very stuffy, so we only cooked there and ate our meals at the table in the bedroom; it worked out just fine. A lot of guests must do this because there is a tray in the kitchen for this use. There was adequate kitchen utensils and cookware. There was also a full-size refrigerator, gas stove/oven, toaster, toaster oven and microwave. We especially enjoyed the canister of coffee supplied in the kitchen; housekeeping topped it off whenever needed. Housekeeping also left a couple pieces of chocolate each day (Ghiradelli of course) and a newspaper was delivered daily, early in the morning to the room, no charge.

The bath seemed to be recently updated w/a full tub, magnifying mirror, hairdryer and plenty of lighting. Hair/body soap was provided; mounted in the shower. Housekeeping came by every day they washed any dishes that were left in the sink, replaced any towels left in the tub and made up the bed. I recall to have the sheets replaced was pretty costly; around $35.00. There is also a $5/day energy charge. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and likeable.

The bed was plenty big for two adults and very comfortable. We used the ceiling fan in the bedroom whenever we were there to keep the unit comfortable and the bedroom windows could also be opened to bring some coolness in.

We found it difficult to catch the Powell Cable Cars because it starts only one or two stops from our location; so no one seems to get off (yet); instead we walked up 1/2 block to the California and took the California cable line over to Embarcadero and caught the MUNI bus to the wharf.

We would return to Powell Place again.

Room Tip: There are no additional amenities. When booking room ask if there is an elevator to that room, othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The hotel gets a low score from me for severe lack of concern for patron's security. More on that at the end of the review.

The room itself was quite nice and comfortable, but if you're on one side of the building be prepared to hike up stairs. After long walks throughout the city and climbing up Powell's steep street from Union Square the last thing you want to do is haul your bum up to the fourth floor. It also made arrival and departure challenging with all our luggage. Certainly not undoable, just annoying on vacation.

Property management put together a nice binder in the room with instruction manuals for the room's equipment as well as local hot spots. The check-in agent recommended Uncle Vito's 2 lights down when we first got in. This little hole in the wall mom and pop shop was the perfect welcome to San Francisco.

The little restaurants surrounding the hotel kept us quite happy. Even three great breakfast places nearby.

The cable cars, while super fun, are hard to board near the hotel. The main loading station is at the base of Powell in Union Square. Its usually too full in the morning and early afternoon to catch it away from Union Square. A block away you can catch the bus that takes you straight down to Fishermans Wharf. We found the cable car/muni pass definitely worth while. I would not suggest getting a car in this city. Parking is expensive and hard to come by.

The only reason I would not return to this property is security, and that's a HUGE issue! Each room only has one key. They haven't updated to a key card that is the staple in most hotels. A regular key is fine enough. They attach a heavy weight to it because they want you to leave it at the front desk each and every time you step out so the key doesn't get lost and you get locked out. Fair enough. But what I REALLY had a problem with is NOBODY, not even once asked for our identification when we returned from our outings. Twice the people to hand us back our key were people we hadn't even seen yet. Anyone off the street could walk in and said they were in our room and they would have handed over our key with no questions. I'm sorry but this is such a glaring flaw in their security that I can't get past it. As a former hotel manager myself I will tell you that room security should be every properties number one concern above all else.

If they take the necessary steps to fix this issue I would stay here again. The resorts other little, minor quirks like the stairs gave it an overall homey touch to it.
Fix the security, and I'd up the raring to a 4, very good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

we were in SFO in August of 2011 and stayed at Powell Place. What a great location! We were in a bachelor suite with a partial kitchen which is all we needed for breakfast and a couple of lunches. The rest of the time we were out and about anyway-who wants to cook in SF. There are some nice restaurants around the area and of course the city is full of them! We bought a weekly pass for streetcars and buses and certainly got our money`s worth. Steps to all street cars! It is older and small but friendly staff and very quiet. Next time we would prefer one of the larger suites so we wouldn`t have to use the bed as a couch but no other complaints. We celebrated our anniversary with dinner and drinks under the stars. Dinner at a michelin restaurant in one hotel, taxi to the Top of the Mark and a martini and live music to finish the evening -all for $80. pp-worth every penny and we walked around the corner to our home for the week! Wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This older time share hotel has a fabulous location and a lovely charm to it. It is located right on the tram line which is very fortunate as the road in front is on approximate 45 degree angle which otherwise provides a cardiac workout. We took the tram to the road above and then walked downhill to the hotel each day.

The hotel is located in the posh area of San Francisco, and is convenient to most potential tourist sites. Truly, we could not have found a more convenient hotel in which to stay.

The rooms are tidy and comfortable, with a daily cleaned washroom and shower, as well as a nice kitchenette for the guest's convenience.

The only downfalls were that the rooms were quite hot during the night, and the TV remote has a mind of its own and is quite tricky to use ( even the desk staff have differing opinions as to how it should work).

Room Tip: There is an elevator on site to help get to the 3rd floor. It is really appreciated after walking u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Powell Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powell Place

Address: 730 Powell Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powell Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Powell Place to your Saves list