We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Codmother Fish & Chips

The Codmother Fish & Chips
2824 Jones St, Between Beach St and Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94133 (Fisherman’s Wharf)
(415) 606-9349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 4,545 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Spot !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is really a hidden gem that you must search out and find. By far the best < $ 10 fish & chips we've had. It was so good we ate there twice during our five day stay. Don't waste your time and money eating elsewhere in the fisherman's wharf area ( fish & chips wise ). Very friendly staff. Small eating area and as others have mentioned ( packaged tartar sauce ), but the best fish & chips we've almost ever had. Good luck to the gals running this place as they deserve all the kudos !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    119
    48
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty Darn Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Just a block away from the mayhem of Fisherman's wharf, Cod Mother is a great fish and chips option. The fish was fried perfectly, crispy but still juicy and the shrimp was great too! The only reason I didn't give this a perfect mark is that they serve packaged tartar sauce (that still tastes good) and the fish batter was missing that little bit of spice that I love in fish and chips. I still recommend this place though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Skip fishermans warf and eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The Codmother is exactly the kind of place I look for when traveling. A secret place that over delivers in food and quality and does it at a great price. The restaurant is a small trailer or box in a plot of land near fishermans wharf. It has a few tables and chairs that you have to be crafty to snag which is the only downside. The food comes hot and bountiful, I ordered the large fish and chips and was stuffed for hours. My wife ate the fish tacos and loved it especially the Baja sauce. We walked the wharf later and saw all the good stands and were so happy we ate at the Codmother.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good fish / average atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We sought out this place after reading reviews on here. Everything said about the food is true...high quality, yummy fish...a tad on the salty side. Garlic fries should be ordered only if you LOVE garlic because you'll taste them for hours after. The patio area for seating was kind of dirty and a little old guy was digging through the trash for cans as we ate...more power to him...but the timing didn't seem appropriate. All in all, a fun experience and glad we went.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OMG!!! The best fish & chips EVER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Okay, I have had fish and chips in tons of different places on the east and west coast of the US and this is the best I have EVER had.
The fish and chips are cooked to perfection that you don't even have to put anything on them. Actually any sauce will take away from the flavor.
Thank you Anthony from the tour bus for recommending it! This is the best restaurant I have tried at the wharf. You have to go there if you visit the pier area. Soooo worth it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Codmother Fish & Chips also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to The Codmother Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Codmother Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.