We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Codmother Fish & Chips

The Codmother Fish & Chips
2824 Jones St, Between Beach St and Jefferson St, San Francisco, CA 94133
(415) 606-9349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 4,918 restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: British, Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We found this place using trip advisor and I have to say I was not disappointed. This is a very good spot for lunch and very inexpensive as well. We will definitely visit CodMother again on our next trip to San Francisco!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    244
    71
    29
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Mother of Chips!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

So happy we walked by, my wife said go try, ate the best chips, everything else will now make me cry....

I def recommend this if you want some good fish and fries for a good price, also very friendly!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“British Style Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Greasy but delicious and perfectly cooked fish and chips. Staff is very welcoming and friendly. Outdoor seating with some table umbrellas.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS, hot and fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we sought this place out. It is really a food truck that has become a permanent fixture near Pier 41. The food is HOT and fresh. The workers are polite, pleasant and engaging. It is billed as "authentic" fish and chips. Is it? I don't know and really don't care. It's delicious and that's enough!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Codmothers - Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

While in San Francisco on business, my colleague suggested we find this place as he had read about it on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad we went. I just had the regular fish and chips and they were the best I've ever had. We also had the opportunity to meet the owner who came out into the open area seating and was talking to the various customers. She's a hoot! What an awesome person. We flew out the next morning and if this place had been open early in the a.m., I would have ordered take out for the plane ride home. I am looking forward to my next SF trip so I can eat there again. Did I mention, the price was very, very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Codmother Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to The Codmother Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Codmother Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.