We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tapas and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canela Bistro Bar

Canela Bistro Bar
2272 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 2272
(415) 552.3000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Canela Bistro Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #406 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Noe St.
Transit: One block from Castro or Church Muni stations (K, L, M, J, T) Also two blocks from Noe and Duboce station for N. Multiple buses (22, 24, 23) run within a block distance of Canela.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic tapas and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Visiting San Francisco we tried to get into Frances' up the road with no luck and Canela was on a list of recommended places from our guest house so we went there as our back up plan and very happy we did.

Tapas menu covers all the basics and the larger serves are very generous and filling. The potato bravas had a great smokey flavour, garlic shrimp (prawns) were divine, the moorish lamb kebabs were cooked to perfection and the Spanish tortilla was a standout.

Very tasty soul food that left us very happy. Great wine list as well.

Our server was excellent, very friendly and attentive. Decor is also very cool and funky with great music in background which was loud enough to create a great vibe but not intrusive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Top notch service with fine culinary treats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is actually a cute place in Castro. We decided to check it out since my brother-in-law knew one of the owners. It's got a nice ambiance - cozy and romantic. The service was fantastic with very attentive wait staff. We got the white sangria - my sister had never had that before. I wish it had more fruit and wasn't as tasty as other white sangria I've had but it was a light, refreshing white wine.

The Spanish tortilla, flatbread with ham and peaches and seafood paella. If you want the paella, order right when you sit down since it takes a while for them to make it. The flatbread was an interesting mix of salty and sweet. While the paella had some type of seasoning that is different from traditional Spanish paella, it was very tasty and we couldn't get enough of it. I'm glad I got to experience this eatery as I'm sure I would have walked right past it on Market, otherwise, since it's on a quiet block with not a ton of traffic. Definitely plan on going back and trying other dishes - perhaps take my Spanish friend when he comes to visit to get his thoughts, especially since he makes awesome paella as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Spanish Tapas in Prime Castro Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's wonderful to find a restaurant started by people with an actual passion and interest in the food they serve, who want to create a comfortable space and do playful things with an established type of cuisine-- say, Spanish tapas. Canela does tapas quite well, and does so in a lovely space just off of a busy corner of Market Street (just east of Noe). The waitstaff couldn't be friendlier, the short wine list works with the food, and the food itself is great.

For me to enjoy mussels (which normally I just do not like), the dish must be pretty darn special. The empanada gallega (with tuna en escabeche) was awesome, the lamb pinchos morunos were to die for, the sopa de garbanzos warmed the body and soul (and reminded me of when I was a student in Madrid), and the birthday candle-decorated churros con chocolate were a perfect end to our unrushed, lovely meal. Well worth every penny!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This has become a regular hotspot for us. Well done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's easy to rate this restaurant as excellent...because -- just like tapas where you eat many plates -- there are many reasons why it's excellent.

We love that we can choose from so many items (we now have our favorites no doubt) but what Mat, the Chef, and Justin his sous, do so well is that they bring in many items depending on the season. We love seasonal and farm to table food and they are great at that.

We love the decor and by choice, we have sat in pretty much every area of the restaurant. Most restaurants you may truly only want to sit in just a certain area, but with Canela there is no bad seat in the house.

Lastly we love the service. Their staff are smart and friendly and treat everyone with care and a smile whether it seems its your first time or been in (like us now) pretty much every week.

Like I said this has become a regular spot for us and we are truly ecstatic when we are able to turn others onto Canela as well. Cheers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great tapas and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We decided to try a new restaurant that we had never heard of tonight and had an excellent meal. Canela offers tasty tapas - papas braves, Spanish Tortilla, Flatbreads, Gaspacho, warm homemade bread, and more. The wines were smooth and our server was just the right blend of friendly and knowledgeable. This is a good choice for Tapas in SF.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canela Bistro Bar also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Canela Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canela Bistro Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.