We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluestem Brasserie

Bluestem Brasserie
1 Yerba Buena Lane, San Francisco, CA 94103-3183
415-547-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bluestem Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #378 of 5,014 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Market Street (between 3rd & 4th)
Transit: Bluestem Brasserie is located just above the South-East end of the Powell Street Bart Station.
Description: Offering all-day dining and outdoor rooftop terrace overlooking bustling Market Street, Bluestem Brasserie is an urban neighborhood restaurant, located just steps from the Four Seasons on Yerba Buena Lane. Designed by San Francisco's mod-master Olle Lundberg (Slanted Door, The Moss Room, Rudd Oakville Estate), the lively American brasserie is helmed by Executive Chef Francis Hogan (formerly of 50 Mason Social House, Two and Farallon in San Francisco) and features a familiar, protein-focused brasserie menu of fresh, simply composed dishes; nostalgic treats; distinct cocktails; a California-centric wine list with nods to France; and 12 wines on tap, sourced directly from some of Napa and Sonoma's finest producers and offered at a great value. Named after the indigenous North American grass favored by cattle ranchers, Bluestem showcases beautiful cuts of sustainably produced grass-fed beef from highly regarded purveyors.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The staff were all wonderful. Our conference group of 8 enjoyed a round table in an alcove, allowing all to visit while the restaurant was still very busy. Food was good. I was not fond of the super sweet onion soup; it's just different than I expected. Drinks were very good. I'd certainly recommend the restaurant if you are staying at the Marriott Marquis.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    94
    27
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Iberia, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our hotel bell hop recommended Bluestem. It's only a half block from our hotel. We were 3 people, all ordering something different and all enjoyed our selections. The drinks were also unique and good as was dessert. Would definitely go there again when in SF.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Pork Belly, Pork Belly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My co-worker and i stumbled on this place while walking to our hotel. Was able to be seated almost as soon as we walked in. Place can be a little crowded but it is worth it. After the hostess seated us, a drink order was taken, then bread was brought over (have to ask for it) drinks were brought and then order taken for the meal. I love pork and the menu said to ask about the cut of the pork. first time i had seen that. the cut that night was some kind of pork t-bone. and it was excellent. also came with a piece of pork belly. warning, the pork belly is rich and will melt in your mouth. it was cooked to perfection and had a great flavor. started off with the Ruzzo salad. excellent as well. All was good and the service was great. i higly recommend this place. Can be a bit loud though but i will go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Blue Plate Burger at Bluestem Brasserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good food in hip environs. Well executed menu that follows current trends. Great wait staff. Excellent choice in the Fnancial/Market Street district.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A Great Casual Meal of Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Bluestem Brasserie is a great place to enjoy a modern take on what we all love: comfort food. The Mac & Cheese, Grilled Cheese and Burger's were simply amazing. Contemporary decor and a location that seems to be convenient to everything in Union Square - its no wonder we ended up here 3 times over five days. The service staff is outstanding. Great selection of wines by the glass, and everyone seems to want to help you enjoy your meal.

It's not the type of place one would plan a special visit, but the operations are so solid that if you're not feeling adventurous or wanting to take a car to one of the other sides of the City, Bluestem will not let you down.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluestem Brasserie also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bluestem Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluestem Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.