We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miiiiiiiiles away!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanview Motel

Save Saved
You added Oceanview Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oceanview Motel
4340 Judah St., San Francisco, CA 94122 (Sunset)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Miiiiiiiiles away!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

So we picked this hotel as the photos looked ok on bookings.com and we were trying to save money. Turns out we were AGES away from Union Square and it was pretty quiet with a few vagrants wandering the streets which was questionable at best for two girls travelling in an unfamiliar city. San Fran is not really known for it's breach life (it is pretty cold at times). There were gaps around the doors so it really didn't feel super safe. There is no reception really, we talked to a guy through a window when we booked in which was pretty dodgy. I wouldn't recommend it! No free Wifi. Felt unclean. Beds were not that comfortable.
On the upside it was VERY cheap and saved us a bit of money to shop and the tram was right outside which is handy but you will take 20 -30mins to get into the heart of San Fran. My advice in smaller places around America is the Holiday Inn Express. Free Wifi, good value, great locations everywhere, clean and reputable.

Room Tip: Honestly... go to the Holiday Inn Express
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    21
    18
    11
See reviews for
14
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I really appreciate this place, but you'll need a car. It is close to baker beach and Golden gate park. The room was wide, with daylight in the shower (nice). Very clean. The fridge was a but noisy. The staff is friendly event id there is a glass between you and them, making registration having a taste of sovietic russia. The location is safe, with a free car park. Their is a microwave oven and a supermarket very close.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Enjoyed our budget stay with the family here. Location was great, parking was a blessing. Cleanliness was good, shame though they don't have a lift, i had my family with loads of baggage

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This motel was not very nice at all, the state of the motel was bad, not clean and in need of painting and very expensive. I was given a good room with an ocean view, what an under statement, the window looked out between two buildings and you could only see a small ribbon of the pacific in the distance. would not use this place again.

Room Tip: Dont go thats my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The lead singer from Sublime (Bradley Nowell) died in this motel. Just thought i'd add that. Decent place, right near the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I came here for our 1 year wedding anniversary.
We weren't looking for luxury, just simply a nice, clean, safe place to
sleep and keep our stuff. Oceaview was perfect for that. It is located right
in front of a bus stop and Cal-train turn-around. Even though there were buses running,
we slept great through the night, didn't hear a thing. The Cal-train will take you
right to Powell, which is a great hub for purchasing Muni passes. So getting
anywhere in the city is very convenient. This is a very residential area, so there
are families, couples, dog-walkers and beach goers. Also, it's not water front,
no, but the beach is a 2 1/2 min. walk from the hotel. There is a coffee shop right
at the corner that has great coffee and they are open early and close late.
There are a lot of locals that hang out there and everyone is very nice,
employees and patrons alike. The hallways (staircases) were a little smelly,
however I don't know of many people who would come all the way to San Francisco
to hang out in the hallways of their hotel. The room was very big, clean and no
sign of bedbugs (we checked thoroughly) Not wasting energy is a big concern
so the lights in the bathroom are on timers which made showering at night difficult,
but if you don't mind waving your hand in front of the sensor, then you should be good.
Towels are not scratchy, they are just not brand new, I didn't care much for the soap
and shampoo, but it will get the job done. all in all, great place, nice price,
convenient location and a two minute walk to the beach to watch the sun rise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My wife and I had been staying at the Ocean View Motel starting in about 2000. We usually stayed there for weekends 2 or three times a year, and always had a great stay. A young couple were managing it up until about two years ago, and the place was very clean and well run. During that time upgrades, new windows, paint, refrigerators, were made and it was even better. We recommended this spot to many people as a great place to stay. Having met other lodgers there, their clientele is also supplemented by recommendations from USF for patients and families.
In the last two years or so that we stayed there, the management had been turned over to a group of younger men who do not seem to care about the guests or the property at all.
Numerous times we were given the keys to the rooms that we had reserved, and they had not been cleaned or made up (arrriving after 7 p.m.). Overall maintenance deteriorated to a medieval state, dirty sheets, towels, bathrooms, nasty ice machine and filthy carpets. We decided to go to another motel in the area which has the same prices and parking.
Recommendations for this property are no longer coming from anyone who used to stay here or I would assume, from USF. Prices, I am told, have dropped.
I would like to appeal to the folks who own or are running this property to rescue it.
I

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Motel

Address: 4340 Judah St., San Francisco, CA 94122
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Sunset
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, Priceline, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Oceanview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanview Motel San Francisco
Oceanview Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.