We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A museum with beds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1257 Guerrero, San Francisco, CA 94124 (Mission District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 76 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A museum with beds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent 4 days in what amounts to a museum owned by a wonderful lady by the name of Sheila Ash. A San Francisco resident of many decades. She has mixed and matched artifacts all over the place. And photos - many of her, and some very famous folks (a photo signed by Jackie Kennedy). Is she from San Francisco? You bet and it shows. It's Very close to the street without excessive noise.

We found Noe's nest at someone's recommendation. It's not a hotel, most of the rooms are not huge BUT. It is clean, comfortable, and in a great location. BandB's in this area (Noe Valley, S.F.) had to undergo substantial renovations so that each room has a bathroom. The buildings are "thin" and making it work is not easy. At the end of the day some rooms are larger than others, and yes some bathrooms are a little sparse. Breakfast made fresh every day and if you want something in particular just ask her for it (maybe the day before). Good coffee, quiche, bagels, lox, pastries and other stuff served on English porcelain from another era (probably picked up in an estate sale)..

The price is "reasonable". It is in a wonderful area, one block from an Italian cafe (Cafe Fiore) inexpensive and excellent. Fresh pasta, salads, excellent panna cotta from right up on top of the weight watcher's list. Plus a great wine list. A block farther away is a Turkish restaurant (Tuba) run by the owner serving dishes made from recipes furnished by his mother and grandmother.

This place is in the middle of a happening area. It's also safe and plenty of parking.

Try it out. You won't be sorry. I offer one suggestion. If you're concerned about the room size or want a bath tub (versus a shower - maybe a small one) call her. She'll give you all the details you need. Our room had a king size bed that ate up most of the room. The TV might even be in a strange place (on top of something.So? Feel free to mention my name.

Bill Ginsburg

Room Tip: Call her - Sheila 415 821 0751
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillGinsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyT12254, Manager at Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Great to hear from you, Bill! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us back in April. Your recommendation means the world to me, and I hope to see you again next time you're in San Francisco!

Until then,
Sheila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

just concluded a 4 day stay. a great location in a very walkable area. Noe Valley, the Mission, 24th street are all nearby. disappointed with the size of our room, the masquerade, which was too small for regular size people. The breakfast was the same each morning and looked more and more bedraggled as the week went on. dogs underfoot especially in outdoor area made walking difficult. having visited more than a few outstanding B &B, this definitely does not rank high. While location is excellent, I would not recommend or return.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donnakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CindyT12254, Manager at Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your honest feedback. While I'm glad to hear you appreciate our convenient location, I'm sorry you weren't impressed with the rest of your stay. We take pride in creating a unique experience for each of our guests, and I'm disappointed we missed the mark with you.

That said, we know there's always room to improve. I have no doubt your comments on our breakfast will help us do just that!

All the best,
Shelia, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el granada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent New Year's eve in the view room and we could see the fireworks from our bed, how nice. Parking is easy on the street and the location is indeed excellent along with the great breakfast it was worth the $258 including tax. The issue was no hot water in the shower the next morning and its been awhile since I had a cold shower, not a good way to start the New Year. I liked the seating areas and our room was very clean with a window that opens yes. Also the soap and shampoo could be significantly upgraded for this cost, its far from a five star.

Room Tip: Get the view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauditore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this B & B because it was close to our daughter's home but we would, after this experience, stay there in any event. Sheila Ash, the owner and resident lady of the house, is an amazing and interesting person. When we pulled up to the door, my husband and I looked at each other and thought that we might have made a giant mistake in trying to find a place close to our daughter BUT,,,,,,,,,,it was a huge success after all is said and done. We had a lovely, large room, on the second floor and the bed was quite comfy. Storage space was also quite adaquate. The bathroom is a hoot all in itself. Sheila and her staff were extremely helpful and warm as was the wonderful, ":assemble your own" breakfast buffet each of the mornings that we were there. Sheila can make reservations for you at some of the area restaurants and seems to be able to get into some of the most popular of them with just a phone call. The house is something else; lots of stuff around and alot is personal but fun to look at and learn about Sheila and her family too. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Middle room on the second floor with King bed and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great Victorian B&B located in a neighborhood that is close to the culturally rich Mission District, great variety of restaurants, and easy access to other parts of the City. Comfy room and bed, richly decorated and reasonably priced. Had a great breakfast spread as well as a host willing to cook up whatever you wanted. We had a rental car and found free on-street parking close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BTChimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent the 3 last days in San Francisco at this place. Close to Castro area. We had a great experience. Sheila and Cindy were very nice and friendly and rooms were fantastic! We could experience the Garden Cabana and the View room. Both were charming. The view in the second one was great.
I recommend this place and I can say I miss it! Sheila and Cindy, thank you so much!
And I can't forget to say that breakfast was excellent!

Room Tip: The view room is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caio_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

You will not forget your stay at Noe's Nest! Very interesting guests, and the staff
( everyone a unique individual) add to the whole experience! The House is like a museum, the breakfasts are plentiful and you are in a unique part of SF; lots of dining options and unique stores. Gives you a totally different vibe when staying in this great city!

Room Tip: Very comfy beds in all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,864 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel
Argonaut Hotel
#7 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,516 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 234 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#101 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,937 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#5 of 76 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1257 Guerrero, San Francisco, CA 94124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Mission District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noe’s Nest is a charming bed & breakfast, nestled between San Francisco’s Noe Valley and Mission District in the heart of the city. This quirky and eclectic b&b provides a charming alternative to larger chain hotels, with unique accommodations and great amenities in a friendly, laid-back atmosphere. Our great location puts you just moments away from the fun mix of shops, restaurants, coffee cafes, bars and novelty stores on Valencia Street Corridor and the famous Mission Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Noe's Nest Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noe`s Nest b&b
Noe`s Nest Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing